Loafin’

20080923_0042

Day Crew Captain and bread-giver

We have THE BEST friends in the world.  Last night, I was completely shocked when the Knight called after a meeting and asked if I’d eaten yet.  I hadn’t, so he came home and made spaghetti and meat sauce to go with the best Italian bread I’ve ever eaten. 

While I don’t have a photo – it LOOKED like every other bakery-fresh Italian loaf – I wish we had smell-o-vision.  Oh my.   I called our bread-giver, who lovingly toted a flock of loaves home from NYC so we could all gain ten pounds  enjoy his favorite bread, to thank him personally this morning, and we had a little debate.  I think the unusually nutty sesame seeds made the bread so special, but he says it’s the water.   Either way, we’re on the list for more next time he goes up. 

Can’t wait.   And yes, fellow point-counters, I *SO* dipped into my weekly bucket last night.  I’ll be on the elliptical trainer again tonight.  Small sacrifice, but we have a half of a loaf left!

What’s your food weakness?  I wouldn’t ordinarily say “bread” for me…  I’m more of a cheesy pasta girl for a splurge.  Which reminds me…  the Knight bought some parmesan from the cheese counter and we had fresh-grated parm on top of the spaghetti.   Yum.  Maybe I’d better plan on a few extra minutes with the elliptical tonight?

This entry was posted in Friends.

12 comments on “Loafin’

  1. Sue says:

    I love bread and pastries. I could easily give up meat and live on fruits and veggies as long as I could have my breads.

    What a nice surprise so early in the week.

  2. gMarie says:

    I’m planning to fit regular workouts in real soon 🙂 Splugy stuff – salty all day long! g

  3. kn1tty cat says:

    What a guy! Fetchin’ loaves all the way from New York City is above and beyond the call of duty!!

  4. I think fresh baked bread might be a weakness for me, but otherwise I can live with a lot less bread. Can’t live without fruit or cheese, though.Btw…whatta friend! LOL…I’ve actually brought loaves of sourdough from CA to PA for our friends there…it is an act of love. 🙂

  5. Marjie says:

    I love cheese and fruit, but there’s nothing like a great loaf of bread. Just go out in the yard and chase the girls around to work off that bread!

  6. Nichole says:

    mmm….. fresh bread…… a weakness of mine! I’d eat the whole loaf! 😉

  7. I miss white bread and pasta, but it was truly causing a large amount of my physical pain, the rice pasta is not quite the same but is better then the wheat, and Tom makes a wheat foccacia–he uses the recipe in Small Batch Baking, but subs wheat for most of the flour, and it is really really good!

  8. Bubblesknits says:

    Mmmmm…there’s nothing like good bread. Good cheese ravioli is also a winner. Great…now I want bread and cheese…lol

  9. AlisonH says:

    New one as of today. “Danish Surprise” from the Copenhagen bakery: like a giant filled cookie, only the cookie is like those Italian amaretto cookies and the filling a semi liquid marzipan only not quite. Oh.My.Goodness.

    And that bread sounds heavenly too!

  10. Mary says:

    Growing up in various towns and villages in the UK meant we had a fresh crusty loaf of bread from the local bakery EVERY single day. Still miss it.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    Cheese, bread, honey on bread, cheese and bread, peanut butter and jelly, peanut butter and honey, pie…

    it goes on.

  12. StarSpry says:

    YUM! Sounds delicious! I love pastries and sweets 🙂

Leave a Reply

