Queen of the DIVAs

Ever heard that expression, “Careful what you ask for, you might get it”?

February 2011 001

I'm too DIVA to pose on command anymore!

We’re living it.  In case you haven’t seen Sissy’s post, she won the Shameless Doggie Diva category!   Thanks to everyone who voted (please consider voting for Fudge today, won’t you?), and please remember Gretchen’s up on Friday for Insane Cracker Dogs and Sissy’s up again in Best In Show on Saturday!

Honestly, catering to Sis – er, DIVA, formerly known as Sissy? – is taking up most of my time these days, but I’m enjoying World Without End when I’m allowed to read.   I have several other books waiting for me too, but I’m also very interested in Live More, Want Less, which I just learned about via Nichole’s review.  Luckily for me and for you, she’s giving a copy away!   I know I’m not the only one who has done some decluttering but needs to do more, right?

I can’t believe Monday is Valentine’s Day.  While it’s not a big deal for us, it is for some.   Who loves the love holiday?  Any big plans or traditions?

12 comments on “Queen of the DIVAs

  1. Nichole says:

    Thanks for the shout out! 🙂 Don’t forget to go get Sis that tiara now….
    As for the V-day… we started a tradition of double dating with another couple and it was fantastic… casual, yet still going out to eat for the “big love day.” Sadly, said couple is no longer together… we’ll probably go out to eat somewhere, then exchange gifts… not a huge deal, but we do celebrate.

  2. gMarie says:

    I’m so excited for your girl and will be watching and clicking away the rest of the week! She’s adorable! Love the new name – Diva formerly known as….

    V-day — not so much around our house. It’s good, but it’s really just another day. JB thinks it’s more important to show on a regular basis rather than just one day. Honestly – I’d rather have that too. Right?

    Book looks interesting. I’m working toward a similar goal this year. Fixing what I have, using what I have, and making time for friends and doing things – rather than stuff – it’s important, no? g

  3. Sue says:

    Valentine’s Day around here is a very big deal. It’s Fudge’s birthday. He’ll be six years old this year, though he acts like a puppy most of the time. We’ll have some sort of party for him and that night we’ll all settle down to watch the Westminster show. This year the Portuguese Water Dog, Lady Bug, stands a good chance of winning. She’s won 20 best in shows so far and is hot right now.

    Of course, we’ll probably be celebrating Miss Sissy’s big win, too.

  4. Jessica says:

    Yay Sissy!!!
    Can’t wait to hear what you think about World Without End, we just discussed it at book club on monday.
    You already know that i am big on celebrating Valentine’s day..we go out to dinner with friends, to a very nice restuarant, a different place each year.
    SOOO fun!! Lots of good food and good champagne!

  5. Congrats to the The Diva! Not big on V Day, but doing a weekend get-a-way, just because WE CAN! Book report will be most welcome.

  6. StarSpry says:

    Congratulations Sissy, er, Diva!!

    Valentine’s Day isn’t too big a deal for us, either. We’ll just exchange cards, and maybe go out for dinner. I do love all the decorations and such. Next year I’d like to try making some cards.

  7. Bubblesknits says:

    I know! I can’t believe it’s already Valentine’s Day! The hubster and I don’t really celebrate, so it’s not a big deal there, but I still haven’t gotten the kids any valentines! Ack! I might take them after school.

  8. Barbara says:

    Congrats to Sissy!
    Still reading Party of the Century! But have two others lined up.
    Have you seen Taking Chance on DVD? Saw it last night. It was so moving. I had tears in my eyes the entire time. EVERYONE should see this documentary. Kevin Bacon stars in it.

  9. Kathy says:

    Congrats to Sissy!

    Speaking of bassets…there is an ad in the newest issue of Vanity Fair (Hollywood issue) with a couple bassets hanging around a bunch of pretty, all-American type people. I think it’s for Tommy Hilfiger if I remember correctly.

    Oh yes, we celebrate V-day. Often the boyfriend does the planning/meal if it’s a weekday because I’m at work and he is more likely than not off. This year we will be going away for a beach weekend. We didn’t specifically choose to do that for V-day. It was just a weekend that worked. But we’re turning it into our celebration.

  10. AlisonH says:

    Congratulations to a good dog!

  11. Anniebananie says:

    Congrats Sissy! Now we’ll get Gretchen to win and you’ll have a two diva household! Will you email us a reminder on Friday???

  12. Marjie says:

    Cute picture with her purple bows! Glad to see the old Sissy, I mean, DIVA, attitude shining through.

Leave a Reply

