Wrong again!

Our weather folks just can’t seem to get it right.  Flurries last night.  Fine.  I saw two dozen flakes on my way to the firehouse for dinner.  Imagine my surprise when the Knight woke me up near midnight to show me the thin blanket of snow outside.

photoImagine Gretchen’s shock this morning.  No folks, that ain’t her happy face.  That’s a very pouty, “What?!  The deck was clear last night!” look.   I think it made her even grumpier that Sis was out frolicking in the cold mess.

Now, we’re grateful that we haven’t gotten hammered the way a lot of our friends have this winter, but Sissy and I enjoy snow and would like more than just a dusting before spring has sprung.  I know several of you are muttering under your breath and offering to ship me some of your snow, and I just wish it worked that way! 

photoSee?  Yeah, the photo’s blurry.  I knew if I took time to grab my big/good camera, I wouldn’t get any photos of Gretchen, so I snagged my iTouch.  I think it took great photos, given that it was still very early in the morning with lower than ideal light!  Anyway, you can see Sis thought racing up and down the steps in the snow was big fun.  I think she was trying to get Gretchen – or me – to chase her, but that wasn’t happening.  I had slippers and a hoodie over my nightgown, and well…  Gretchen’s expression speaks for itself, above.

It *IS* a very happy dogs on thursday, little friday and a big Thankful Thursday!  If you don’t stop by daily, you might not know about Mango Minster, doggy bloggyland’s answer to Westminster Dog Show fever, and you might not know that Sis won her class, Shameless Doggie DIVAs (and dogs too).  Gretchen’s up tomorrow – Friday – for Insane Cracker Dog, and Sis is back in the ring on Saturday for Best in Show.  We appreciate those who voted for Sis and hope all of you will join the fun and if you’re so inclined to vote for the fur-girls… all the better. 

Now, some of you are doubting that the precious wee one belongs in the Insane Cracker Dog division.  Ah, but that’s the beauty of a TRUE Cracker Jack; they know when to be sweet and cute, and they are STILL capable of great mayhem.

DSCN2083

October 25, 2008

Don’t mind the new puppy debris in the background, but note that at 4 lbs. and 8 weeks of age, she was ready to take on her big sister for a toy.

SisGretch_edited2010

April 2010

She’s bold enough to stand on her sister’s back, which some of you might know is QUITE a strong statement in dog language.  Luckily, our shameless DIVA rules with a gentle paw, and she just steps out from under her forward little sister…

Honestly, that’s what we’re thankful for.  Sis is a one in a million girl.  She *IS* a DIVA, but in a very passive, sweet way, even when she’s bulldozing her way across a human lap.  We’re so lucky to have her in our lives, even though she’s hardly an easy keeper. 

What are you thankful for today?

14 comments on “Wrong again!

  1. Natalie says:

    Awe!! I’d frown at that snow if I had to go out in it to potty. 🙂

  2. gMarie says:

    Your girls are just so darn cute! It’s not right. I hope gg wins too – but how will you live with the egos? g

  3. G’s look is just priceless! I rather imagine that is what Sasha would be thinking if she woke up to snow in HER yard. Little princess doesn’t like to get her tootsies wet, you know.

  4. AlisonH says:

    I’d be racing up and down the snowy steps for joy if it ever did that white cold stuff thing out here. Mom asked me yesterday if it ever had. Not in the valley down here, not in our years here.

  5. Marjie says:

    Those are some cute pictures, even the pouty face! And I just love puppy pictures.

    Happy Thursday, and may the best Insane Cracker Dog win tomorrow!

  6. Blond Duck says:

    That it didn’t snow!

  7. Nichole says:

    I’m thankful that we did not wake up to more snow this morning (and still wishing I *could* ship you some… you know, 2 or 3 feet…)!
    LOVE the photo of Sissy zipping in the snow… Zeus says he wished she lived closer because he would love to chase her in the fluffy white stuff.

  8. Amy says:

    I remember last winter, during the blizzard, a friend of mine who has pugs snapped a funny photo of her pups. She said that they looked at the snow and then looked at her, with a look that clearly said, “You want me to do what out there? I don’t think so.”

    No snow here; just cold and windy. I can’t wait for the weather to warm it. It is going to be a heat wave here this weekend; temps in the mid-40s!

  9. kathy b says:

    you had to ask???? Well I am thankful for:
    no frostbitten toes while ice fishing
    flipflop…pinot grigio that I am drinking right now
    my friend Karen writing me a pattern I can follow in a vest!
    cubs tickets arriving today…spring cannot be too far away
    an extra day off this weekend!!! I have a vacation day saturday
    the plumbing is working again in the house……..I can flush!

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    Love the pictures 🙂 Gretchen sure does look a little like she’s thinking “whaaaat?”

    I tell you we seem to have skipped Winter and gone straight to Spring and that does not please me at all. Like you I sympathize with those who have had a bad Winter but we haven’t had a Winter period.

  11. Anniebananie says:

    I’m thankful that they didn’t cancel school for us today. However, if it’s going to snow, it should at least be enough for sledding!

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    Gretchie, baby, I’m right there with ya. That white stuff can take a hike. ; )

  13. Kathy says:

    Oh I so want another good snow before spring.

    Can’t believe just how tiny Gretchen was in some of those pics. Love ’em all.

  14. Anita says:

    GAH! At least you guys got a dusting! We can’t even seem to get a stupid flurry down here. sheesh.

Leave a Reply

