Mail Fail

Warning:  Cranky rant ahead.

I’m a product of the instant gratification of our technological age.   Sometimes, a vendor exceeds my impatient expectations (and I do praise lavishly when praise is due), but of late, there are far more fails than wins.

March 2011 021

We don't see any packages out there either...

We – the Knight and I – seem to have a US Postal Service curse.   In the past 12 moths, we’ve had no fewer than three bill payments eaten, stolen or otherwise not make it to their proper destination, resulting in messes for us.  (Don’t tell me to pay online… unless it’s an electronic transfer, there’s still a USPS weak link.)  Then this week, I received the “sorry” envelope with the contents of what started out as a letter from a local friend with some lumpy items inside.

All I got was the original envelope – so at least I knew whom to email – with most of the back of said product  missing.  SIGH.

But wait!  There’s more.  That beautiful little copper number from Monday’s post?  Hasn’t shipped yet.  I called Dillard’s yesterday, and they say it was shipping out yesterday afternoon, but I have no information to confirm that.  I was polite – REALLY! – as I explained to the gal on the phone that had I known that they’d take four days to put it in the mail, I would have either not ordered or paid for express shipping.  That’s when she told me it was already packaged to ship that very afternoon, so they couldn’t upgrade my shipping, but I *SHOULD* have it next week.

Hem.  Great.  Guess what I’ll be doing tomorrow?  And if I do find another dress that works, I’ll be refusing that package and letting y’all know not to shop online with Dillard’s.  I never have before and I’m not sure I will again.

March 2011 024I’d even bothered to find one of my wraps that will be stellar with the dress – you know, if it arrives, if it fits.  Don’t you love the little run-by Gretchen was doing?  Funny, sweet girl…

So.  That’s what I’ll be doing this weekend, along with working on a certain yellow baby blanket that will need to be embroidered with PANK flowers and have a crocheted PANK trim added…  Gee, I hope my friends like PANK, but this is their first girl (third child, all under the age of four!) so I’m sure it’ll be okay…

What’s on your agenda?  And are Jessi and I the only ones with shipping woes?

21 comments on “Mail Fail

  1. Sue says:

    Oh no, you’re not alone! After my Christmas gift took over a month to get to New York, I’m now waiting on a package from England that should have been here a week ago. It contains yummy yarn and a sweet pattern. The sender is getting nervous and says she’ll resend, but I’m guessing it’ll probably get here in a month or so.

    I’ve never ordered from Dillards, but Coldwater Creek and Pennys have very fast shipping.

  2. I ’embiggened’ your wrap…it is gorgeous! So is the cute little blur….Blech on Dillards…and the USPS fail…I mostly do ok with getting stuff delivered, both here and at the other end. But I did have an epic fail once…my friend was sending me a box of books, we swap all the time. She re-used an old box from xyz company. The box went from PA to Los Angeles, where some ding dong sent it to SC (where the xyz company was) instead of reading the label and sending it here. Eventually someone figured it out and sent it back to PA…to start all over again!

  3. Amy says:

    I ordered a fabric ‘box’ bag from my friend Jess, in NY. She just started a Doctor Who line and I had to have one! So, she mailed it to me the Tuesday after I got back from New York. The stupid USPS sent the package to CALIFORNIA!!!! How the hell does that happen? I was so mad,and so was Jess. Turns out that the tracking number on the package was a recycled one from a few years ago, and the old info was still available somehow. Grrr.

    I hope you get your package soon!

  4. Bubblesknits says:

    Must be something in the air. My Anthropology dresses that were running right on time with UPS got sent to our local post office yesterday for “final delivery”. Guess what’s not here today? /grumble/ I’m half tempted to go by there this afternoon and ask them for it.

  5. AlisonH says:

    @Sue up there: I know that Colourmart in the UK has been telling their customers by email that the shipping has become terribly slow to the US and despite their best efforts it persists.

    Taking four days for a major company to get something into the box to get ready to mail is unusual. I’d guess they laid off too many people and now are being surprised that it hurts their business.

  6. Marjie says:

    The post office really sucks, but I learned that a long time ago. I needed my birth certificate sent from CT. UPS ground would have had it here in one day. USPS Priority took 3 days. I think they walked the 135 miles with the damned thing!

  7. km says:

    That wrap is perfect! I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the dress not only shows up, but also FITS!

    Yeah for PANK trim! My little girl arrived when her brothers were 41 months and 25 months! That momma is going to have her hands FULL.

  8. Jessica says:

    when you were emailing about this earlier, i should have told you (i forgot to) that i had the same issue with nordstrom. they never ever sent notification that it shipped. when i called, they said it should be shipping soon. it showed up the next day. SO…hopefully dillards is just like nordies, and just not good about sending shipment notification, and your dress will be there tomorrow!!!!

  9. gMarie says:

    well you know I’m a huge fan of the flat rate box and have had nothing but success with them. that being said – do I trust them to deliver the quilt and cashmere stockings?

    I do hope the dress arives and you aren’t too mad to try it on. g

  10. Holy Cr@#! What a series of bummers for you. The copper dress would be smashing with your wrap! I’m annoyed for you about the shipping delay. Ugh.

    I’ve been lucky lately with the mails, except for the fact that our mail person is not consistent about taking the mail to go from our mail box. I just have to take it to a post office or a USPS mail box.

  11. Barbara says:

    Boo on Dillards. The dress is soooo cute, too. They aren’t the only company this happens with unfortunately. How annoying.
    (Didn’t I read USPS would be broke in a few months?)

    And yes, I also had a check eaten just this month. What’s up? Is the moon doing something odd at the moment?

  12. StarSpry says:

    I’m so sorry about all the shipping woes 😦 That really sucks! Fingers crossed you receive the dress today and it fits perfectly! Your wrap will look wonderful with the dress.

  13. Kathy says:

    Thanks for the info about Dillards. Won’t be shopping for a certain dress/pantsuit from them….hrmph! But the dress is pretty and I hope it arrives safe and sound and you like it :).

    Shipping woes must be everywhere. My sister ordered a skein of yarn for me. After much delay by the dyer :((( it was finally shipped but sat in another city USPS sorting house for 6 days!!!!! There’s no excuse for this delay. It finally arrived but looked as if it was chewed and spit out during sorting.

  14. kathy b says:

    Gosh I would be so upset if the shipping issues were mine. So So sorry!

    Love the Gretchen run by!!! She totally planned that you know!
    I had a rare saturday off last night due to a conference I attended on friday > So fun to go to a family birthday party and then hit the sack ridiculously early. Ive been sleepy. Today, enjoying sunday until I nap before work tonight….what a breeze to just work the one night! Knitting today before the nap too!

  15. Nichole says:

    I can’t believe they weren’t willing to go above & beyond to make a customer happy and pull the package to upgrade the shipping! SHAME…….. whatever happened to customer service?

  16. Blond Duck says:

    I ordered a book from Amazon in October and it got here in February.

  17. alison says:

    Living at the end of the world we’re so used to stuff taking like forever to arrive we don’t bother ordering. Hope it arrives soon though.

  18. kathy b says:

    HOw’d the mail thing go for you today???

  19. Louise says:

    Shame on Dillards!!! I do hope it arrives soon, Channon. The stress alone would cause me to just cancel the darn thing!

    It’s terrible how unimportant customer service has become for some companies. If any one of my employees did handle the matter with an upgrade, I would not be a happy camper, at all!!!

    So, I have a story too. Never, ever do I go to Denny’s but Sunday, Marion had a craving so I gave in and took her. No lie, there must have been 18 people in two tables in the entire place. So, what does the hostess do. She tells us it will be 30 minute wait because they just sat a table of 15! I do not wait thirty minutes when I go to a diner and since Denny’s has started a new campaign as “America’s Diner,” I shall not return, EVER!!!

    P.S. It was a no go at Wegman’s. Please tell the Knight I tried and will continue to look:)

  20. Dianne says:

    You’re not alone! Just yesterday I heard from someone in Harrisonburg, VA that they have been having all kinds of postal troubles since the sorting facility was moved to Richmond. I had sent them a packet of information a month ago and they never received it. I hope they get the one I sent yesterday!

  21. Anita says:

    I haven’t had any shipping problems lately. But then I haven’t ordered much either. That really bites though. I would have given that gal at Dillards a piece of my mind! 4 days to even ship it without a call or email to let you know of the delay?! Sheesh

Leave a Reply

