As the Dress Turns Epilogue

200458_832121060576_1503827_46043887_5921390_n
All the hostesses, photo courtesy of the beauty on the far left

That’s as good as it gets, my friends.   Me and my milk-white skin, glowing in my purdy brown, definitely not a day dress.  It’s also a good peek at my new ‘do, which as one party guest put it “…is just an edgier version of the before.”  Me?!  Edgy?!  Whoda’ thunk it?! 

Since you can’t see our feet, yes, we’re all wearing heels.  Aileen and I really are just that much shorter than our tall friends.  And my dress was just above the knee; I don’t know where my legs were going!   I really did look good that night.  I think the only things I’d change would be my necklace and shoes.

I wore a simple yellow gold and diamond heart pendant.  I think I’d like to find something like this to wear next time with this dress:

Erin McDermott Beacon Hill Necklace

Shoes.  I wore the dark brown suede pumps from my own rehearsal dinner outfit.  Keep in mind that makes the shoes more than 12 years old.  They looked fine, but they lacked the support and comfort I’ve come to expect, even in heels.  I might scoot out to Target today and see if they still have these:

And now you know the rest of the story, as they say…

****Update****

The above shoes are “online only” at Target.  The lovely Marjie, who introduced me to these shoes in the first place, has confirmed that they are comfy (trust me, that busy woman is on her feet and shares my post-surgical back) and run true to size.  I also ordered some shoes very similar to the fab plaid wedge I coveted last summer, since the shoes were buy one, get one 50% off.  This is my first Target online experience, and I’m shocked to share that I was able to log in with my Amazon account, AND still got their “bullseye” free shipping with a $50 ($50.47, if you must know) order.  Yet somehow, at checkout I only paid $44 something.  Love me a bargain, and if it arrives before it’s too cold to wear sandals, I’ll be a very happy Target online shopper.

See… podunk’s Target is a full 40 minutes from me.  You do the math.  With free shipping, I was already money ahead.  Add in the other discount – I think they let me have free shipping THEN applied the buy one get one 1/2 off deal? – and I’m on cloud nine.  Doesn’t make up for the impulse buys at Sammy Snacks today, but… hem.

Ironically, a trip back in time finds that the similar plaid wedge from Target last year seemed to be the impetus for my fashion blogging.  I’ve told you before, I’m a prep at heart.  Some women swoon for silk, cashmere, the turn of a collar or what have you, but this lifelong prepster is mad for plaid.

24 comments on “As the Dress Turns Epilogue

  1. Susan says:

    You looked marvelous!!!! You too are not short, the others are just too tall!!! 😉

  2. Sue says:

    As Rob would say, ” you’re not too short, your legs reach the floor.”

    I love those shoes. If only! I like the necklace too. I have a couple that are similar. Too bad we don’t live closer and you could go thru my jewelry stash and wear one.

  3. Bubblesknits says:

    You look fabulous! And as Dr. Tooth likes to tell me all the time, when I complain about my milk white skin, “Milk white skin is healthy skin and cancer free.” ; )

  4. Bubblesknits says:

    Oh, and he also says it’s better than looking like tanned leather. LOL

  5. Nichole says:

    You look fabulous – so glad you found that dress! I love that necklace you are longing for…and the shoes are too cute! I might have to take a trip to Target myself…

  6. Nichole says:

    Oh and I’m with Dr. Tooth…… fake & bake and dark, leathery skin is just OUT… healthy white is fine by me! 😉

  7. AlisonH says:

    You look marvelous!

  8. Marjie says:

    I have those Target shoes! They’re the ones I told you about! They are very comfy, and true to size.

    Your dress was very pretty. You looked wonderful for your party!

  9. kathy b says:

    maybe that is where my sister gets her love of plaid! One year for Christmas I got her plaid pj’s and plaid plates and plaid everything

  10. jen says:

    ooooh you look all purdy!

  11. Terrie says:

    You look fabulous! I think those sandals will look perfect with your dress. Sounds like you got a great deal at Target; I hope you order arrives super quick 🙂

  12. Khyra's Mom says:

    Another one with skin as pale and fair as mine!

    No wonder we get along!

    As for Target, we can be there in <10minutes, so come visit!

    Great pic of some wild and KHRAZY gals!

  13. Well…sounds like your fashion fun has just begun! Your dress and you look like you got along fine….but I covet the dress of the tall one in an orangy color…I just want mine to be a different color!

  14. gMarie says:

    Love that photo. and man – you’re hair is getting long. Looks great! The shoes are adorable and that necklace is fun and funky. Order it.

    But – what I really want to know is if the other dress was returned or not? g

    • chanknits says:

      Thank you!

      Today, I hope… We couldn’t go to Richmond yesterday because the new captain – Tony… Mark’s assistant – didn’t take the duty officer car and didn’t tell anyone. Guess who had to fill the gap? Good news is Cal is covering today.

      Sent from my iPod

  15. Anita says:

    You look wonderful! Love the dress! And I think you have pretty skin, at least you aren’t polka dotted like me. ha ha! (the flash doesn’t help either)

  16. I love that dress on you! Fabulous. I just discovered a new website, eshakti.com — cute, kind of mod/retro looks. Sizes 0-4X (or something like that).

  17. Mary says:

    You looked wonderful (love how you matched your hair and dress color-perfect). Hope you had as good a time as the photo indicates. The plaid platforms look fun. I would get a nosebleed if I tried to wear anything that high.

  18. Katie says:

    gorgeous pic – you look fabulous! while i would never refer to myself as a preppy, i “get” the whole plaid thing… plaid is very canadian, eh? yippee that target is coming to canada!!!

  19. Louise says:

    You devil you! Aren’t you the fashionista!!!

    I’m so glad everything worked out Chan. You really do look fabulous! There’s a lot to be said for milky white skin and petiteness…you wear it well…

  20. Kathy says:

    All of you look right purdy :). Love the dress.

  21. You look Drop.Dead.Gorgeous. The only problem I find with that first heel is I like my heels to have a strap around the back, otherwise i’m constantly gripping wiht my toes. Love the 2nd pair though.

  22. […] don’t know about their shoe selection.  I’m thinking my Target espadrilles that aren’t here yet might work, or cute little Ked sneaks that seem to favor the […]

  23. […] other news, my Target order arrived, and both pairs of shoes fit fabulously, true to size.   I’m planning to do a […]

Leave a Reply

