Donation prize

March 2011 002I like to think I’ve always been a cheerful giver.  I try to support my friends when they are supporting their causes, although like the rest of the world, I can’t always give and I can never give as much as I’d like.  So, when Nichole wanted to support Tiger World, I did…

In return, two fab prizes arrived on our doorstep last week.  For me, there was the latest One Skein Wonders book, and for the girls, a small pink camo travel bowl.  Thanks Nichole, and to the donors of said prizes!  They will both be well-used.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t link to Tiger World.   Pop over and read about their efforts to blend conservation and education…

March 2011 004

Of course, the girls had to pose with THEIR prize.  Gretchen COULD tote the lightweight bowl herself, but not comfortably. 

March 2011 006

The DIVA on the other hand, thought it was a funky little pillbox hat.  Hem.   She could likely tote it on her collar and never really notice, but I think I’ll be the one clipping it to me if it comes to that.  DIVA likes to chew while she walks. 

A very quick review of said book.  I like that it is divided by category.  For my use, it’s a little heavy on little person patterns, but there’s certainly plenty in there to catch my interest too.  According to Ravelry, there are 86 patterns in the book.  Hera Headband is most likely to jump on my needles, because I don’t know about you, but 50 degrees in the shade with a March wind still makes my ears COLD!   Likewise, Gretchen thinks she should have The Manwell, a tiny wee dog sweater, for those without Ravelry access.

No, I’m not knitting.  Some of it is a lack of time, some of it is former knitting time has been re-allocated to dog walks and workouts, but mostly, my mojo is just gone.  Poof.  Vanished.  Part of me thinks knitting is as much habit as anything else, so maybe I should just MAKE myself pick up the needles instead of looking for new fashion blogs to read.  Hmmm… 

While I ponder that, I’m going to snack on a Nature Valley Dark Chocolate Granola Thin.  It reminds me of a Girl Scout Thanks A Lot, but it’s only two points.  It’s not really healthy, but it’s tasty and I’d like to think it is better than a cookie.  Want one?  There are ten to a box, so gather ’round…  

General Mills seemed to think you’d like to see all the nitty-gritty facts.  Hrmph.  Trust me… the photo doesn’t do ’em justice.

15 comments on “Donation prize

  1. Nichole says:

    So glad you like your prizes… and LOVE the pics of the girls with the bowl. Sissy *might* have made me spit a little coffee on my desk… oops!

    I have gotten hooked on those Granola things too….. if you buy the box at BJ’s (or your local clubhouse), they come in a box far greater than 10… however they only had the dark chocolate version, not the peanut butter one.

  2. gMarie says:

    Hmmm – lovely little prizes. I bought that book for The Musical One for the Christmas. There are a few things I might have to borrow it back to make 🙂

    I don’t see a problem with the Diva wearing that as a darling pillbox hat – it fits the job perfectly.

    Those graham crackers look lovely. g

  3. Mary says:

    Miss Sissy…shades of Jackie Kennedy!

    My knit mojo took a hike with yours…probably somewhere on the Appalachian Trail by now. And thanks for the point post. Will keep an eye out for those lovelies.

  4. 2 points hmmmmm have to look for them, love dark chocolate and the bar can’t be that bad!!!

    Tomorrow is weigh in day and I am always a wreck the day before!!!

  5. Bubblesknits says:

    Great prizes! I got a GoKnits bag and a pattern book. : ) Love! Haven’t gotten pictures yet, but someone remind me to as soon as this nasty headache goes away. Tell the Diva that I think her new “hat” looks divine on her. ; )

  6. I have that book…received as a Christmas gift. I truly hope to knit something from it this year…as to the treat…yes please! And as I’n draggin’, may I please have a cuppa, too?

  7. Khyra's Mom says:

    One last try –

    Mental note to self –

    Get to BJ’s soon to try those snacks!

  8. kathy b says:

    The girls never cease to cheer me up. I only cried once today, thinking of sweet Fiona kitty. The girls antics help!
    I must try the snack bars……they look good! I’ll take your word for it.

  9. Barbara says:

    Nice prizes and the girls are modeling them beautifully. Such a clever idea….portable bowls.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I love girl scout cookies…sigh.

  11. Katie says:

    the bowl is adorable – either as a bowl or a hat! and knitting mojo – perhaps your mojo is just on vacation? i’ve got to say that i haven’t been finding a whole lot of things that compel me to knit like i once did. while i’m still knitting, i’m spending more time working on my cross stitch, too. and i’m trying to get more exercise…

  12. Kathy says:

    Congratulations!!! The girls seem to enjoy the fun prizes too.
    Sorry to hear you lost your knitting mojo. Here’s hoping it returns soon. I miss seeing your knitting progress.

    Those cookies look tasty and I may have to check out our local market for them.

  13. Those granola things look good… when are we gonna get them in Canada?

  14. Dianne says:

    LOVE the pic of Sissy with her Jackie Kennedy pillbox hat! She looks like true American royalty!!!

    Enjoying your fashion posts. My fashion? Living here in the back-of-beyond, anything that’s clean and doesn’t have holes works for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

