Snow Songs

DSC00348

Baby girl - March 2, 2009

Ever notice there are no songs about snow in early spring?  That’s because it just ain’t right!!  I’ve been saying all winter that we can’t write off snow until April, because some of the more significant snows happen in March, albeit usually early in March.

Why yes, they ARE calling for snow in my world this weekend.  I’m not amused, and I’m not expecting any real accumulation, given that three days ago, it was 70-something, and last night, my cute boot heel sank into the mud beneath our pea gravel walk.  Hrmph.

Instead, the two songs bouncing around in my head today are Sir Elton John’s Crocodile Rock – because I heard it while I was in the shower and it’s a life-long fave – and James Taylor’s Carolina in My Mind, because I think that’s the only way I’m going to OBX this spring.

DSCN2547

More like it - March 28th, 2010 OBX - Fur girls having quality time with their uncle on the beach

What’s on your weekend agenda?   And how do you deal with funky weather?  I know some of my California girls are all but washed away, and I know those in the Northeast are REALLY sick of snow…

15 comments on “Snow Songs

  1. Sue says:

    We had a BIG thunderstorm during the night, so we shared the bed with Morgan. As small and cute as she is, she kicks in her sleep. She always manages to position herself so that she kicks me. In the morning besides having slept poorly, I get up with bruises.

    Noah like to roll in the grass after breakfast each morning. Today he managed to roll in the mud, so he’ll be having a bath soon.

    Here we often go directly from winter to summer, so I’m hoping for a long, gentle spring, though I’ll be surprised if it happens.

  2. Nichole says:

    ♫ Dreaming of my chevy and my old blue jeans…… ♫

    My Chevy will actually be getting service tomorrow while we head to see the Highlander Cows… hoping for an un-busy Sunday!

  3. Humph. Since I am officially in the “washed away” group, my weekend calls for….more rain! Bridal shower tomorrow…but NOT in the backyard. Wishing for Carolina for you, too.

  4. AlisonH says:

    And now James is going to be singing in my mind all day. Or maybe even on my CD player.

    I have two kids born in April, one early, one on the 15th, and both were born on snowy days. Not in California!

  5. Marjie says:

    I think Mark Twain said of New England, “If you don’t like the weather, wait a while. It will change.” And isn’t it silly to gripe about cold when in a few months everyone will be griping about heat? Hope the snow evades you, although according to my dearly beloved, it should; he swears the seasons follow the calendar to the day in your area.

  6. Kathy says:

    I’d welcome some cooler weather. It’s rapidly approaching HOT here.

    The big event of the weekend is an arts festival in the park. I don’t know what I enjoy more, looking at the art or people-watching.

  7. the song going through my head right now is Paul Mccartney’s version of Will YOu Still Need me, When I’m 64

    Weekend Plans, lots of sticks lots of string hopefully lots of progress

    And too answer a question you asked the other day, I have a bunch of old Vera’s in a very boxy pattern, shoulder strap–small ish like 6 x 9, in a brown, the old Ming, the old Blue Toille and they have been my perfect smaller bag since DR. G put the kabosh on the big bags! I have a closet of possibilities!!

  8. km says:

    We had a snow day yesterday. M took the day off and we visited some friends in the local mountains. Less than 2 hours from my house and 3′ drifts of snow around their house. 16″ from the weekend and another 6″ of fresh snow from Wednesday night. It was terrific. It started raining as we drove home (once we were down the Mt.) so they probably got more snow last night. I’m trying to just be and enjoy each day’s weather…knowing it will be hot soon enough.

  9. StarSpry says:

    I hope the snow avoids you! We’ll be getting rain. Tonight I need to finish making a card for a baby shower tomorrow. On Sunday I’ll be joining some of my friends for brunch and knitting 🙂

  10. I’m not excited about the snow they are talking about either. We had some the other night but there wasn’t any sort of accumulation. I am so ready for spring. So ready.

  11. Kathy says:

    Just sent a pm about our weather. We’re expecting a few inches of the white stuff too. I was a bit spoiled with the warmer temps but I suppose Mother Nature has other plans.
    My weekend is packing the college kid back to college, baking some homemade cookies and knitting.

  12. gMarie says:

    sewing, sewing, and more sewing. maybe a little knitting, lots of gabbing, laughing, eating and walking 🙂

    difficult weather – usually hole up with popcorn, cocoa and a book or knitting and movies. Hope you have ‘fun’ snow. g

  13. Jessica says:

    Aww, G’s weekend sounds awesome, no? She deserves it! My dear, did you get snow? I just do not know if i even want to ask. We have coooold weather, but sunny skies, thankfully.
    going to BBQ tonite, and nurse Henry’s hurt snout. Fred is unbelievably neurotic today. not sure what that is about, probably picking up on Henry’s hurt nose.
    I REALLY hope you make it to the OBX, one of my favorite places.

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    We’re supposed to get some really strong storms this afternoon. Depending on how many tornadoes there are, I’d gladly take snow. lol It’s definitely Spring in the South. Not many weekend plans here. It’s a lazy day in the Bubblesknits household. Hubster is watching a movie, kids are playing video games, and I’m reading blogs and sipping my coffee. Doesn’t get much better. : )

  15. Walden121 says:

    We got snow this week, unfortunately there was accumulation! Blah! It’s still cold . . . Winter is not suppose to last for half of the year. Yes, I am pouting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

