In Spite of the Forecast…

Dangitall, I’m in a spring state of mind.  I’ve spent the morning under a down throw with a warm little doggy in my lap and a big girl stompin’ around looking for spring for me.  Gretchen and I were finding happy spring outfits to inspire us.

**This blogging thing works.  I just deleted an outfit I was admiring because I realized I wouldn’t really wear it.  Go figure!**

Coldwater Creek Spring Look

First up, a go-anywhere get-up.  I could even take Sissy to the vet in this, because the jacket is machine washable.  Hmmm….   This is definitely a look I see in my wardrobe.   I’d wear it with my favorite metallic brown wedges from last year.  Until it warms up enough for bare toes, I’d want flats.  Oh – and click on the photo to visit Coldwater Creek for the look.

I’m really liking this outfit, which brings me to the real reason I sat down to write this post.  Are  you familiar with the “shop from my closet” type blogs?   I have a LOT of very gently worn (or not at all) clothes that I am thinking maybe I’ll try to sell at bargain basement prices, rather than just sending them to GoodWill.  I’ve never recovered from learning that a competitor of theirs just bundles up their clothes donations without even looking at the contents when their shop is full, and the clothes are shredded so the fabric can then be recycled.  I have some clothes that deserve that fate, but many that don’t.

I don’t even have my own PayPal account, so this would be a big adventure for me.  I don’t know if I really want to put in the time for photos and shipping, so any input will be appreciated.   It would give me a little more incentive to buy a few transitional outfits between now and wherever I end up with my weight loss journey.

Yes, there are local consignment shops, one even near the League office, so weigh in there too.  I do have to tell you…  the only dress I’ve consigned was my first wedding dress, and that shop had quite the fire and the inventory was lost.  Yes, I was still a paid firefighter at the time, but I wasn’t in town that day.  Irony, eh?

Gap Spring Outfit

Why yes, I do love browns and pinks together.  Why do you ask?  That’s a cashmere cardi too.   I don’t know that I sport that dusty pink so well, but the model and I have similar coloring…  Still, I think especially with the jacket above, I’d rather add that 3/4 sleeve cotton cardi I consider a warm-weater staple. 

Interesting that my fave summer wedges would work with this outfit too, and are in fact, similar enough to what the model’s wearing.   The Gap also calls the skirt color gold, so I imagine my gold flats would work with it too? 

Huh.  Seems there is some logic to doing a little wardrobe planning.  I already have two pairs of shoes that would work with this outfit.   The skirt might be coming to live in the Woods, but I’ll snag a cardi and top elsewhere.  Do you have a go-to place for the basics?  I’m talking shells, tees, capris… the stuff most of us wear most of the year?  Or do you just grab what you need when you catch it on sale, or …  ?

This mindful shopping thing could take on a life of its own, but it beats moaning about the snow that’s coming. 

Old Navy Get Ruffled Look

I actually found three different outfits at Old Navy that inspired me, which is entertaining, because other than buying dog toys and such there, I’ve never had much luck.  This is my favorite of the three, which also makes me giggle, because guess who doesn’t wear yellow – ever?!  But I want this look.  The scarf is sold out online, so I’m going to have to hit the store, and I’m more likely to wear denim capris or a mini skirt, but maybe in August, when the humidity and the “in the shade” temperature are both pushing 100, I’d appreciate cute little shorts and a sweater for the AC indoors?

I don’t know about their shoe selection.  I’m thinking my Target espadrilles that aren’t here yet might work, or cute little Ked sneaks that seem to favor the scarf?

Please tell me.  Can I wear that cheery, soft yellow if I have something very much like that scarf – with darker pinks with in – near my face?  Be honest!

Now quick-like, before the temperature drops, the girls and I are going for a good, long walk.  What are you doing on the first Saturday of spring?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

17 comments on “In Spite of the Forecast…

  1. Barbara says:

    I like all of the above, Chan. Yellow is such a feminine color, I’ve always thought.
    As far as selling clothes: don’t know a thing about it but I’ve always wondered about eBay for odds and ends I never use.

  2. Amy says:

    I really love the colors in the Coldwater Creek outfit! How pretty!

  3. Marjie says:

    I think yellow would be a good color on you, and I don’t know why it shouldn’t go with that scarf. My oldest daughter refuses to wear yellow or any shade of tan because she’s blond, and claims it will “wash her out.” Poppycock. Accessorize.

    As for ebay, I’ve never sold anything but cars there. I’m thinking of listing some old patterns I came across and will never use. Meanwhile, I’m getting ready to go out shopping for notions, because I have a 25% off coupon for Joann’s for this weekend only. Sad that it takes 25% off to get me to stir my stumps!

  4. kathy b says:

    I think you can wear the yellows with the pinks near your face FOR SURE!! go for it. You are certainly mindful on of your outfits to be!! good for you

  5. Sue says:

    There’s a lot going on in this post. When we first moved here I packed up a big box of clothes, really nice stuff including a suede jacket and lots of office type dresses and suits and sent them to the local shelter for women. Then I found out a about two weeks later that they didn’t give them to the women who needed them, they sold them in a thrift store they ran. I was furious. That really had nothing to do with anything. It just still makes me angry.

    I like the TV ads for Old Navy, but I’ve never found anything I liked in the store. I did buy a dog toy there once.

    I don’t wear yellow so I can’t give advice on that. I love most of the things in Coldwater Creek as my closet will testify.

    It has been pouring here all day, so I’ve been toweling off wet dogs for a good portion of the day which may be why I’m not making any sense.

  6. on this the first saturday of spring I am freezing to death, and hope its just chilly and not illness, we shall see==ordered 6 new blouses several sizes smaller and a jacket!

  7. Even I have a PayPal acct…which means they are easy peasy to set up!! So yes, sell your own clothes..know it’s a bit of work, but you can use the proceeds for your new wardrobe. Sensible, yes? Love the Coldwater Creek outfit..but that isn’t new for me. I love their stuff. You CAN wear yellow..listen to your Gmarie.

  8. I say yes on the yellow, that third outfit is super cute…but they are all cute.

    I went to a new LYS today, and got to see some glorious colors of Madeleinetosh. Holy cow did that shop have some fantastic colors.

  9. Khyra's Mom says:

    Back in my best fighting weight, the khaki skirt was SOOOO me!

    I love the colours in the first pic!

    Of course, you MUST go visit Beaded Tail 😉

    The earrings might work with it

    http://beadedtail.blogspot.com/2011/03/friday-features_25.html

    AND Sadie’s post for Saturday is great!

  10. Jessica says:

    Old Navy is one of those hit or miss stores. i find a ton of stuff, or nothing at all. depends on what they have shipped in.
    Yellow. I am with you on that one. it truly does wash me out, and make me look like a corpse! I suppose it would depend on the shade. but with your dark hair, i am thinking you could pull it off, and especially with a scarf. My friend has dark hair, is very pale, and it looks lovely on her! She wears several shades of it, too.

  11. gMarie says:

    Love those outfits. I think you could pull all of them off – including the yellow. You have dark hair and all you need to put a lovely scarf around near your face.

    You could easily set up your own paypal account. I think selling gently used items isn’t a bad idea.

    🙂 Happy Weekend. g

  12. Blond Duck says:

    Pale yellow is perfect for spring! Go for it!

  13. KnittySue says:

    Love yellow..so perfect for spring and summer. Stop by some time I’m finally back to blogging…take care.

  14. Nichole says:

    I’m loving the Coldwater Creek and Old Navy looks that you picked out. Like you, I *never* wear yellow, but I found myself HAVING to have a yellow sweater this winter, so there is some hope…

  15. Kathy says:

    I say yes to the yellow with that lovely scarf :).

  16. Kathy says:

    Sent before I could finish. I LOVE the jacket. That would be one in my closet too.
    As far as selling, why not give it a try?

  17. I love Old Navy for everyday wear. I totally need a spring jacket, and I want something waterproof too.

Leave a Reply

