Accessories make 5

My friend Jess shared a friend’s rules for accessories.  I hadn’t heard of this, but I love it!  Note:  all comments included in the text are presumably from the original author. 

Part 2: The 5 Point System
This is a little trick my friend told me she learned from her mom. How can you accessorize without looking gaudy and overdone? You use the 5 point system — i.e., every accessory equals a certain amount of points and you should never go over 5 points. Here’s some guidelines:
♦Earrings: Studs = 1 pt, large or chunky hoops = 2 pts
♦Necklaces and Bracelets: slender/small = 1pt, large/chunky = 2pts
♦Hair accessories: 1 pt each. In the case of my hair accessory today, I gave it 3 pts — 2 pts because of the loud color and 1 pt for the bronze detail
♦Watch: 1 pt or 2 pts if extra large/loud
♦Belt: 1 pt
♦Wedding Rings: I never count these as points!
♦Shoes: You’re supposed to count these as points, but I never do. I say the higher the heel, the better!
♦Bags: Again, you’re supposed to assess points, but I say the more texture the better. Besides, are you really going to drag your bag with you everywhere you go? No, you’re going to give it its own chair! 😉

Gosh, I’ve always considered myself a light accessorizer, but according to this list, even if I skip shoes, bag and wedding ring, I NEVER leave the house without a total of four points – EVER.  I’m assuming scarves also should be included, so there are times I roll out with pushing TEN points.  Yowza.  Again, that’s without adding shoes or a bag.

182441_527163383818_62700009_31009421_8325764_nLet’s look at this photo of me from Vintage Vegas.  It’s blurry, as it’s a photo of the photo from the photo booth, but it’s the only thing that shows even some of my accessories.

What you can’t see:  a gold dress watch, two small, gold bracelets on the right arm, the wedding band (doesn’t count) and another ring on the right hand.  That’s four points right off the bat.

February 2011 014These are the earrings, so I’m quite sure they’re two points.  They are definitely my flashiest, biggest pair, but I lurvers them.  They’re pushing “vintage” status; I believe I bought them to wear for the first New Years Eve the Knight attended as a married couple, but I’m not positive. 

That brings us to six points already.  I also carried a small, black wristlet and wore flashy gold shoes, but no one saw those unless I raised my skirt off the floor to show them off.  The dress had a matching wrap, so I don’t know whether that counts as an accessory or not, so I’m somewhere between six and nine points, and frankly, I think the outfit could have used a necklace, which would have been another two points, and had I worn beaded barrettes to hold back my hair, we’d have been at a whopping 13 points or so.

I honestly don’t know that I’ve EVER been over accessorized in my life, but 13 points sure is a long way from five.  What say you?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

23 comments on “Accessories make 5

  1. Sue says:

    My friend Sue and I both live in sweatshirts in winter and tee shirts in summer. I used to just wear my wedding ring and a pair of earrings most days, thinking it was silly to accessorize a tee shirt. Sue told me I should wear my jewelry (I have a lot) everyday, even with my tee shirts. She says it’s for me and my enjoyment, not to impress anyone else and if it makes me happy, I should wear it.

    I agree and now I happily spend some time picking out my jewelry for the day even if the farthest I’m going is to wander the yard with the dogs. The only exceptions I make are that I don’t wear rings with prongs around the dogs because hair gets caught in them and I avoid bracelets if I’m working with the dogs because they’ve been known to grab them.

    I’m the best accessorized poop scooper in the area.

  2. Susan says:

    I say the more points the merrier!! How do multiple pairs of earrings count??? 😉

  3. gMarie says:

    Oh it’s a fine, fine line – isn’t it? I don’t think you look ‘overdone’ in that photo – so I wouldn’t worry about it.

    Let’s see – I leave the house daily with no less than 3 points – stud earings that never come out, wedding ring and another pair of earings. I then usually add a bracelet (I’m guessing my pandora style would count as 2) and a necklace. So – 5-6 most days – without counting shoes and bag.

    I don’t think shoes should count however, because they aren’t like a watch or earings – you can’t actually leave the house without shoes of some sort. As far as a bag – I’m not sure how I feel about that – I guess it would matter if it draws attention on its own or not. Does that make sense? g

  4. Amy says:

    Wow – I’m very low in score on this one. I don’t have pierced ears; weird metal allergies. And I hate clip on ear rings. I’ve just never been much of a jewelry person. I have a few pieces that I like to wear, mostly a ring or a small necklace.

    Good food for thought, though – this post. Maybe I need some awesome hair goodies? Giant flowers and headbands?

  5. I always have wedding rings, and earrings occasionally necklace but that is about it!!! I use a hair tie to keep my hair out of my face but ONLY at home, I don’t like it out!

    PS my scrambled eggs are water not milk!

  6. Barbara S. says:

    Does a watch really count if you only own one and view it as a tool, not an accessory? Or a hair elastic/plain barrette to hold back hair when serving people (food, wine, etc) when one’s hair is as long as mine (I think my silver and turquoise one would count though).
    At my last job our “uniform” was a white or black shirt and blue or black pants (aka jeans). Where was the interest in that? So I changed up my earrings every day, the more interesting the better, and often had more than one bangle or cuff style bracelet on. I had to do something to make my 5 AM interesting!
    I think that point system is a good starting place, but might need a bit of tweaking, depending on the event and person.

  7. AlisonH says:

    Hearing aids count as double earring points. They come in leopard print sometimes, you know.

  8. Kathy says:

    I have four hoops in my left ear, a hoop and a stud in my right. I’m pushing the point rule and I haven’t even added anything else!

    I’m a light accessorizer, definitely not gaudy. I am not sure I agree with this system.

  9. Marjie says:

    I always wear plain gold hoops, 1″ to 2″ diameter, or a pair of pearl drops. I usually wear a small gold bracelet. I always wear a small gold watch. I always wear 2 small gold rings on my right ring finger, and my wedding/eternity/solitaire rings on my left ring finger. I always wear my pearls (unless they break). As for shoes being points, well, where can you go barefoot? I mean, really? Especially when it’s cold and wet! Shoes are NOT points!

  10. LOL…I’d guess I’m well within the range…I usually wear my wedding ring, earrings (not gaudy) and a bracelet or necklace or scarf…or pin…but rarely all or more than two. My shoes can’t possibly count as accessories…no one would ever notice them! As for my bag…a girls gotta have a bag, for Pete’s sake!

  11. Mary says:

    So I’m hoping the medic alert bracelet doesn’t count, but then even if it did, besides wedding rings (0), I only wear one pair of earrings (not big) and one other ring (not gaudy-from my departed mom–never take it off). Though I don’t usually wear bracelets, right now I am wearing a Kanji bracelet I got in Japan in solidarity with the Japanese people. Usually do wear a scarf. That’s it.

    I once heard someone (?) say…get dressed, put on accessories, look in the mirror and take away one and you’ll never be overdressed.

  12. kathy b says:

    I say Points! Schmoints!
    You look mahhhhhhvelous

    I need to accesorize more…Im way too naked. Never wear a watch ever. Rarely a necklace or earrings. Do like me some rings though
    Lover your earrings!

  13. Anita says:

    Psht… I think what you had on looked nice. And you could have done the necklace too! What you had on wasn’t loud at all so you certainly weren’t overdone. 🙂

  14. Holy cow, even on my totally dressed down days I am over accessorized. This point system is troubling 😉

  15. Blond Duck says:

    I was the queen of overaccessorizing. Tacky doesn’t cut it.

  16. Barbara says:

    That point system seems a little over the top. Points one two and four are always on my list. Nothing ever in my hair though. And how can anyone count shoes??? Bags, yes. Although I haul around a big one during the day, I try a smaller one at night.
    What about rings other than wedding? I usually have two. That puts me over right there and I think I am very conservative. Good grief.

  17. Susan says:

    Ok, I dressed in jeans and a hooded pullover this morning. I am at a six without counting my barrettes, shoes and purse (which is HUGE). So I am either way over accessorized, or we need a new system!!!

    My standard 2 studs per ear
    One bracelet on each arm
    One right hand ring
    My wedding set, which doesn’t count
    A Watch

    So don’t really feel I am “over dressed” 😉

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    Hmm…I’d definitely be over the 5 point rule, but only barely. I love accessories, so I say the more, the merrier, as long as you’re not pushing the gaudy button. ; )

  19. Kathy says:

    mmm….I’m a one pointer. Can you believe that? I own one pair of earrings and since the wedding band doesn’t count that leaves me with my one accessory.

    Love the purse on it’s own chair 😀 So true

  20. Nichole says:

    I say POOPIE to the 5 point system….. and just wear what you love! 🙂

  21. Louise says:

    I’m no fashionista but even I fail the 5 point system. I agree, Poopie!!!

    Thanks for sharing, Channon…

  22. Kristin says:

    That’s a new rule to me! Overaccessorizing can be a no no, but I think as long as you have one statement piece and the other ones are more sedate, you’re ok!

  23. I call bullshit. I have 2 piercings on each ear, I’m already over five if you add my always-on necklace and my non-wedding-ring ring.

Leave a Reply

