Vera Frills Me

Vera Bradley's Hotsy Totsy Hobo

I think I’ve found my new, smaller bag, but hold that thought for a moment.

Mrs. Darsie says spring makes her wanna’ shop ’til she drops.   I’m not even gonna’ look back, because I KNOW warm weather makes me want a new bag.   Those of you who have been reading my ramblings for a while have been down this road so many times it truly isn’t funny.  Now, I do need new clothes, I really don’t have much I should be wearing (because it’s all sloppy big) but frankly, I have to try absolutely everything on, and for a gal who doesn’t love to shop in the first place, that’s tedious.

So instead, I crave bags and shoes.  They’re easy.  I do have a couple of friends who sincerely try bags on, because how they fit on their shoulders matters a whole lot to them, because they have narrow shoulders, large arms, what have you…  However for me, I just want to know if my phone will fit and if there’s room for my loot.  I can generally size that up online or with a quick peek in person.

DSC01629

How much trouble could I cause?!

Anyway… bags.  I’ve known for a long while (years, actually) that I shouldn’t carry a big bag or a heavy (read: leather) bag.  That’s part of my love affair with Vera.  Problem is though, I’m drawn to the massive leather totes like nothing else.   See… I’m fairly hard on a bag.  It has to hold up to Sissy’s daily inspections (usually with a wet mouth), sitting in the floorboard of the chiefmobile, etc.  So, the crisp Vera fabric bags don’t hold their shape for long, and I have to make fabric selections based on what won’t show a little dried drool, soot, etc.

DSCN2432

Chief Knight & Pickett, with a gear rack behind them

Enter Frill.  Based on the photos in the catalogs and such, I think Vera is marketing this line for young teens, which is a mistake.  When I was 14, my handbag lived in a backpack or a locker, and it sat behind me in a movie theater, etc.  (Edited to add… did I even carry a bag then?  I don’t recall.  I remember my first Dooney & Bourke all-weather leather bag fondly, but I was in my late teens then…)  NOW is when I need the laminated fabric, to ward off all that stuff I mentioned above.  There’s no backpack to protect the bag from the general grime of life.  I haven’t seen a locker in decades, unless you count the open gear racks at the station…

Folkloric version

That happy blue hobo looks right up my alley.   I like it in Folkloric too, and with it being laminated, I could risk the light background, but I think I’d get tired of the perky flowers before September.  I also wear a lot of red in the summer, and let’s be honest; I’m not a change my bag kind of girl.  I’ll grab my smart phone and my ID and shove ’em in a wristlet or a clutch for an evening out, but that’s as good as it gets. 

On that note, does anyone else have the monster EVO or any of its HTC twins?  I love my new phone, but it’s a tall thang, and I fear it won’t fit in my beloved black wristlet.  I think a trip to my local Veraland is in order, to see what the critter will fit in.

A special thanks to those of you who’ve danced the bag conundrum with me before.  What thrills you today?

This entry was posted in Bags.

19 comments on “Vera Frills Me

  1. km says:

    I’ve got a Harvey Seat Belt bag. I’ve had it for probably 3 years and people still comment on it. It looks new too. It is heavy though. So I find myself leaving it in the car. Good thing my center console is huge and can fit my whole purse. I bet the laminated fabric would be great for moms with toddlers too. They’ve got as much drool as a dog. I’m convinced I need a Vera backpack for my field trips with the kids. You’re a good enabler.

  2. Nichole says:

    Those are some cute Vera bags!

  3. Mary says:

    I have a dr*id and what I bought to keep it from getting pummeled was a small, rectangular, padded camera bag for one of those tiny, flat cameras. It has a small harbinger on it, so if I want to I can snag it on some part of a bag to keep it from falling out my purse. Has a draw-string top with a cinch. Not sure if that would work for you, but it is a thought. Check out the accessories in camera dept of local box store.

  4. gMarie says:

    bags – I’m back to carrying my TNT (but heavy) Coach handbag. It is small and brown, but leather and heavy.

    thrills – lunch with Miss D to celebrate her 50th birthday! 🙂 g

  5. Blond Duck says:

    Vera was all the rage when I was in college! Now it’s just standard!

  6. Louise says:

    I could have written this post. I detest trying on clothes and oh how I need some. I do however love handbags, although I still call them pocket books:) and shoes; actually sneakers:)

    I plan on getting a new purse when I go to Idaho. My grand daughter, who is eight, usually picks out my Spring bag:)

    Thanks for sharing, Channon…

  7. AlisonH says:

    I’m a leather-only enthusiast, but I do really really like that style. Very nice!

  8. i love that new style, hmmmmmm still digging out some really old ones here and recycling them, some of the prints are so old, people don’t recognize them and think they are new!!

  9. Khyra's Mom says:

    I went through a serious LeSportsac phase –

    Might still be in therapy for it 😉

  10. Marjie says:

    I always admire your choices in brightly colored bags. You’ve seen mine, plain tan leather, small, pockets, carefully packed to capacity. Would that I could go the colorful route…

  11. Amy says:

    See, I’m the exact opposite with bags. I have the same person that I bought on my honeymoon; a red leather number that I love. I have another tote, but that’s about it.

    Maybe I do need a new bag?

  12. Sue says:

    I love big bags even though they bother my shoulders because I throw in too much stuff. Still, I’m always attracted to the big ones.

  13. Anita says:

    I love my purple bag…. there is no other bag! LOL 🙂

  14. I really like the blue one…and the red one…oh dear.

  15. Terrie says:

    The VB hobo looks really cute! I’m with you on the clothes. I always have to try them on and it can get very tedious! Pickett is adorable 🙂

  16. I really need a small bag, but it has to enough compartments to satisfy my “organizational” needs. I strongly prefer a long shoulder strap…which is where Vera has been failing me: her bags with long straps are mostly too small for me. I must be hard to please…What thrilled me today? Airman still home!!

  17. Bubblesknits says:

    I just got one of the regular totes in the Hope (?) pattern. I think that’s the pattern. Anyhoo, it was on sale and I needed a spring-y purse. ; ) Taking my Mom on Saturday to Vera for her to pick out her b’day present. I imagine DL will talk me into a small one for her, too. lol

  18. Hey I am so excited I found your website, I really found you by error,
    while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else,
    Regardless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a remarkable post and a all round entertaining
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to browse it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent b.

Leave a Reply

