Not So Frilling

Tignanello Safari Tote @ eBags

Sorry for the false alarm.  I rushed over to local Veraland at lunch yesterday.  The blue was WAY too vivid, and on the other bag, the pattern was too big.  Not attractive at all in person.  Pout.

So, I’m back to the regular bag search.  I want something smaller and lighter, I really do, but I don’t seem to like smaller and lighter.   Marjie pointed out that I have colorful bags, so there’s another problem.  The standard black, brown, navy, whatever doesn’t move me.  

Cry.  I want colorful, light and small, and ideally, it has to be Sissy-resistant.  I’m drawn to the faux croc and patent leathers,  but I’ve yet to find one I want to buy; most are big totes.  The other problem is that because I change bags every season or so, I hate to invest a small fortune in one.  (And no, that Tignanello isn’t small.)

Introduce me to a new brand, shop, SOMETHING.  Please?

This entry was posted in Bags.

16 comments on “Not So Frilling

  1. Barbara says:

    I have one bag I use every day for winter and another for summer. I spent a lot on both, but they hold up like steel! I’ve had both for years and expect to be using them for many more years.
    Winter is black leather woven, very basic and pretty big. Summer is prettier, a really sturdy straw type with an islandy feel to it.
    Good luck in your search!

  2. km says:

    Definitely not small…but the new lexie bags are out. http://www.lexiebarnes.com/bags/lady-b.htm

    I have to say that even though it’s big, I’ve been toting mine all around town. Granted most of my errands involve waiting after I’ve dropped off a child. I can have knitting, my bible & study books, plus my wallet.

  3. Sue says:

    I need to make a real effort this year to change my bags more often. I have some that I’m crazy about, but they sit in the closet because I always just grab the same old one as I head out the door.

  4. Nichole says:

    Tignanello might not be small, but she sure is purty!!

    Hmm… I know a seamstress who could tailor a bag to suit your needs. I’ve got 3 or 4 of her bags now… and they range from shoulder bag to large tote. (Seacoast Babies & Mommies Too)….. not sure if that’s what you’re looking for?

    Speaking of fashion woes… I “found” an LL Bean cardi that I totally forgot buying today… hanging in my closet… and be proud, I removed the tags and wore it today!

  5. Mary says:

    Tig does have some smaller bags (ebags). Also, did you check out the mimi boutique online that Kristin mentioned on her bonbon blog today? They seem to have a lot of faux leather stuff that looks pretty good and should be lightweight.

  6. gMarie says:

    Oh I love that bag you pictured. Honestly. Can’t really help you – when I get the itch for a new bag I usually ‘troll’ around Fred Meyer or Target and look to see what they have to offer for cheap, cheap, cheap. for a couple of reason – 1, I’m going to tire of it quickly, and B, it’s going to look like carp within minutes of the hound gang checking it out.

    KAM has had really, really good luck with getting bags at Marshalls, TJ Maxx and other discount designer stores. Don’t you have Tuesday Morning, Steinmart and there’s another East Coast store I see advertised all the time.

    So not helpful – sorry. g

  7. kathy b says:

    okay, Al and I both are carrying purses from Forever 21….even though I am 51! I love their bags and prices..

  8. AlisonH says:

    Ooh! Look! Yarn! (That’s the best I can do.)

  9. Kathy says:

    I bought a cute Kate Spade faux croc bag recently. It’s bright pink! It must be last season or something because it was on sale.

  10. LOL…I think I’m with Alison on this one! Look…cute doggies!

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    Have you shopped your own closet yet? I always find bags from several seasons back that I fall in love with all over again. : )

  12. Blond Duck says:

    I like pink.

    Do you have a TJ Maxx or Steinmart near you?

  13. Jessica says:

    i LOVE tignanello bags! I have two of them, and want many many more. Look on QVC.com, they have them for great prices. The bags LOOK big in the pics, but they really are not that big. I have a bad back/shoulders, and cannot do heavy. Smaller bags keep the weight off, as i cannot cram as much crud in them!
    Fossil has cute and colorful bags, too. Just go to their website. i have a few of them, and really like them..they are well made.

  14. Katie says:

    frill is a very nice line. (i didn’t see it when i was in maine.) too bad that the colours just aren’t “right”. i find buying purses harder than just about anything. i haven’t had one that i have “loved” in years – not even my namaste knitting bags. i thought that i would love my “munroe”, but i really just like it like a friend… good luck!
    btw – i bought my very first very last weekend. a cosmetic bag… i have no idea what season it was, but for 75 cents at the local frenchy’s, i had to have it!

  15. Katie says:

    ack! that should read “my very first vera”…

  16. Sis... says:

    Sis – have you looked thru QVC’s inventory? What about Fossil? Both have provided good solutions for me.

Leave a Reply

