Happy Holidays!

Happy Dogs on Thursday, little friday and Thankful Thursday. The girls have their own slightly Easter related post today…

Yesterday was Thomas Jefferson’s birthday.  I wonder how he would feel about us celebrating more than two centuries after his birth?  The world, especially the USA, is definitely a better place because he lived, but I’m not at all sure he’d like everyone honoring his birthday.  What do the other amateur Jefferon scholars think?

Photo courtesy of Our Best Bites

I also couldn’t resist making sure you’ve seen this Peeps wreath.  I am no fan of the sugary creations that now are formed into shapes and dyed different colors to mark virtually every holiday or season known in marketing, but I am still pondering making a wreath out of them.  Would the birds that hang out on our front porch attack it?

Well!  WordPress and/or Comcast just ate a significant chunk of my post.  Crazy, that…    I guess here ends the Peeps babble.  There’s a tutorial in the link above or you can click on the photo.

We’re also still celebrating Christmas.  I was able to upload the photos from my phone while driving into work this morning.  Luckily, there are a few stoplights and stopsigns in podunk!  Hem. 

IMAG0025Here are the goodies from Ann!   There’s some yummy Gnomespun fiber , snarkly little cocktail napkins, because Ann knows I carry off-season, silly cocktail napkins in my League bag.  Don’t judge; you never know when you’re going to need a little napkin!  The little cream-colored sack on the right is Beekman soap.  More yum. 

Last, but hardly least is the book Knit Your Own Dog!   I’ve wanted this book since the first time I heard about it from a friend abroad.  There’s the Jack Russell on the cover, and there’s a basset in there too.  There are 25 different breeds represented in the table of contents.   They include a PWD and a Scottie, since we know a couple of our best blog readers will want to know. 

Thank you for another spectacular package, Ann.  That’s actually my Thankful Thursday moment; I’m blessed to have friends who truly know me well and whose gifts NEVER fail to delight me.

Last but hardly least, I have to thank Dawn for the Stylish Blogger Award love.   I received the award earlier this year, so I’m not going to pass it along again to anyone specifically, but we’re all stylish bloggers, so if you want to share 7 things about yourself, consider yourself tagged.

Are there seven more things I could share about myself?  Gosh, I don’t know.  Ask Ann…  She knows me so well…

  1. I ALWAYS get the same thing when I eat at/from Sticks.  Ann and I kinda’ founded our “in person” friendship there, and that’s where Tuesday’s lunch came from.  Lambie sammie with the cilantro-lime sauce and an order of fries, please!
  2. My new TV passion is Charmed.  I feel I might have mentioned that before, but…
  3. It seems I gravitate to tealish-bluish handbags.
  4. I want these sandals just because they’re called Sissy
  5. I don’t like necklaces much, but I love a scarf around my neck.
  6. I don’t have a favorite color.  It changes from day to day, season to season.
  7. On that note, I’m finding myself drawn to the corals that are so hot right now.  Yes, I know coral is nearly orange…

How ’bout sharing something I don’t know about you in your comment?

21 comments on “Happy Holidays!

  1. kathy b says:

    You probably don’t know these things!
    *I have so many fillings……grew up with bad teeth. nearly 14 fliings.
    *I had braces twice
    *I love swimming even though I don’t do it much
    * If I won the lottery, I’d buy a horse
    *I play lottery with my coworkers every tuesday….
    *I have /had a lazy eye…..

  2. gMarie says:

    Coral is a pink based orange – that’s why you like it – love pink. 🙂

    Love those sandals. And the gift package. Bought you popcorn last night – schleped it to work today. Trying to mail a box or two tomorrow.

    Interesting tidbit – Jay is saving CC points to buy me a KA pro line mixer – in stainless. Saying it might be next spring. Little does he know – I’ve been on a shopping bender lately. :\ g

  3. Mary says:

    Hmm, I am having a hard time coming up with something you don’t know. How about, I never liked peanut butter until I was in my 30s. Lame.

  4. Barbara S. says:

    Ummm, seriously? Those are Sissy Danskos! How could you not like/want it?! (Did you see the Veda too? Not the greatest name, but still….)
    Would you believe I don’t like Peeps at all as a semi-food item? When I saw those impaled Peeps earlier today I thought it was one of the better uses I’d seen for them recently. I am pretty sure the annual Peeps Art show should be out soon.

  5. Nichole says:

    LOVE the Peeps wreath… and the Sissy sandals look fab!

  6. AlisonH says:

    If that wreath were on your front door, and it gets rained on, you’d have a dyed door.

  7. Sue says:

    Wow, there’s a lot in that post. I don’t like eating Peeps, but I love the little wreath. I bet the birds would nibble on it. Most birds have a sweet tooth.

    Because I managed to find a tax refund I treated myself to that book. I felt I needed to knit a dog or two. I’m not thrilled with the PWD and it’s a working dog, not a sporting dog, but I still like the little book. I think my favorite is the Basset.

    We’ve discovered Bones, which we never watched for the first six years till we found reruns on cable. Now I think it’s my favorite. I love the play between the characters. I don’t know Charmed

  8. Barbara says:

    That Peeps wreath is so cute! The ants would be all over it in seconds if I hung that up on my door, though. 🙂

    Nice award, Chan. You deserve it.
    Hmmmm. Something you don’t know? I was divorced when I was 32.

  9. Marjie says:

    My peeps eat the peeps. The peeps company is located about 80 miles south of here. Funny story on them: Their sales team was promised a vacation to Hawaii in November if they met their sales goal, and a trip elsewhere if they didn’t. They didn’t. They went to Fargo.

    What don’t you know about me? I went to 9 different schools before high school, including 3 kindergartens.

  10. Anniebananie says:

    1. Love the Peeps wreath. Perhaps I’ll make one with the kids for Halloween.

    2. I’m glad you like everything! I saw the book, stopped, and said “must have for Chan”. I knew that you would love it.

    3. You MUST buy those shoes. Now. Go on, I’ll wait.

    4. Lammie sammie with Fries for you, and Steak sammie no lettuce, extra tomatoes and fries for me. Best.Lunch.Ever.

    5. You should share that you look fabulous!!!!!

  11. Julie says:

    Haven’t been commenting, but have been reading!

  12. Amy says:

    Oi! I have Charmed on DVD … the first two seasons and the last season. If you want to borrow them, let me know, and I’ll pop them in the mail for ya!

    Something that you don’t know about me? This is always such a hard question, because I’m so very open about myself.

    – I went to my senior prom with one guy and left with another. Escandalo!
    – I have re-occurring dreams in which I’m shot and when I wake up, I can’t move the part of my body that was shot in the dream, for at least five or so minutes.
    – I have a crush on Steve Buscemi. I would totally go there, over and over again.

    If you get a chance, I’ll be at Montpelier this weekend. I’ll be camping where they have the Fall Fiber Festival!

  13. Khyra's Mom says:

    I love necklaces BUT my hair feels like it needs to do all it can to get caught in the chain!

  14. New tv love: Body of Proof! The Sissy sandals take me back to High School…when Candies in that basic style were ALL the rage. 🙂 What don’t you know about me? Had an underbite as a kid. The folks wouldn’t pay for ortho, so I “fixed” it by sitting for an hour a night (usually watching tv) with my thumb stuck under the top front teeth to move them. Worked! Have a bear perfect bite now. 🙂

  15. Jessica says:

    YAY…i bought that book, and DARN…i had hopes of knitting you a JRT and basset before you discovered the book! LOL. I have two married-to-each-other friends that are both deployed, and had to give their beloved bulldog up for a year..so i bought the book to knit them a bulldog.

  16. that kathyb and I are twins, obviously seperated at birth, I too have bad teeth always have, my eyes are about as bad as my teeth, I love swimming, but if I won the lottery I would buy a condo and go to Ireland!

  17. Katie says:

    wow! you get peeps in far more colours than we do… you could always dip them in (or spray them with) polyurethane. that would keep the critters away, i would hope, and keep a rainbow from developing on your porch if it rained.

    the sandals are very cute – and look very wearable at the same time.

  18. Anita says:

    I should be in bed… but here I am trying to get caught up on everything. Sigh… that time of year again. Seems like it never ends now. LOL

    Love the peeps wreath, really cute!

    And I think I’ve seen every Charmed episode at least twice now. he he. I like the ones with Page better than the originals with Pru. 🙂

  19. Blond Duck says:

    I love that wreath! I want to make a spring/ summer wreath!

  20. Bubblesknits says:

    Hrm…something you don’t know about me….um….oooh, I’ve got one! I took scuba diving classes when I was 12 and did my certification dive shortly after the Blizzard of ’93. Talk about some *cold* water.

  21. Dianne says:

    LOVE that wreath. I’m not a big fan of peeps, but that wreath is the cutest thing ever.

Leave a Reply

