April Showers Bring…

Just another quick post, but we’re hoping that all these April “showers” and their violent winds that have ruined some of our potential May flowers are history and will give way to a lovely May.

We have a fairly busy weekend ahead, but we’re grateful for the sunshine and for having internet at home again.

Churros and chocolate courtesy of Wikipedia

I need your help!  I’m going to my first Cinco de Mayo party on Thursday.  Yes, I’m serious.  When I was a little girl, we had May Day parties and did the maypole dance.   I love Mexican food – and margaritas…  I’ll take mine on the rocks, please? – so I’m excited, but I want to bring a dessert.   My California-raised friend wants churros, but I’ve never had them, much less made them.

Really, I’d like a good local resource from my precious-few local readers.  Short of that, if you have an EASY recipe that I can make Wednesday night and it won’t be icky by Thursday, please share.  Really, I just need a little churro education!

What’s on your weekend agenda?

13 comments on “April Showers Bring…

  1. Nichole says:

    Sorry, no help on the churros here… I’d say find the bakery?

    Busy weekend for us too… tomorrow’s going to be a LONG day.

  2. Sue says:

    We usually go out for Cinco de Mayo but we did give a party one year. I don’t remember what we had for dessert.

    Is there a good Mexican restaurant near you that will make them up for you?

  3. Both of these places show Churros on the menu. The second showed a cheaper price!

    El Tapatio
    1305 Long St
    CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22901
    (434) 293-6071

    Aqui Es Mexico Restaurant
    221 Carlton Rd, Ste 12
    Charlottesville, VA 22902
    (434) 295-4748

  4. Natalie says:

    They are so good!!! Hope you find some good ones!

  5. Kathy says:

    Not churros, but I can help you with a delicious and easy tres leches cake recipe. That could be an alternate Mexican dessert.

  6. tomorrow is tommo’s 59th, and we will celebrate at our young friend’s 30th party in NY state, I think tonight we will do Bonefish Grill for dinner and then the tattoo shop and a quick trip to Michaels if I can squeeze it in.

    Sunday I hope we are doing nothing—loosing lots of precious knitting time tonight and tomorrow!

    Have a great weekend

  7. AlisonHyde says:

    Churros are just fried sugarbread, doughnuts with crunch and extra fat. And a fun shape. Health food!

  8. kathy b says:

    no churro help here sorry. I make a killer salsa if that would help.
    Weekend=working. My choice!

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    Sorry I can’t be of any help with that. I do love a good margarita, though!

  10. Barbara says:

    How about a flan? You can make it ahead by several days.

  11. gMarie says:

    Realized I read this, but never commented. Watching Food Network this morning and realized they are doing Cinco de Mayo all weekend. So – I went a looking and came up with this http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/churros-with-coconut-sauce-recipe/index.html

    Let me know if you end up cooking. I zipped past some enchiladas that I might have to make. Yum. g

  12. Darcy says:

    I would hit a resteraunt and get an order to go do you have a great mexican resteraunt around where you live?(((Hugs)))Darcy

  13. Kathy says:

    Enjoy the celebration.

    Sorry I can’t help you with the dessert.

Leave a Reply

