Mojo Mayday

DSC01845

Gretchen posing with some laceweight red yarn...

Mayday, mayday… mojo down…

Hem.  Happy May Day, and thanks to Kristyn for tuning me in to Project Spectrum 5.    Here’s a quick list of the color studies by month:

May – Red :: June – Green :: July – Blue :: August – Pink :: September – Yellow :: October – Cyan/Aqua :: November – Black/White/Grey

I reserve the right to monkey with the colors.  At this moment, only September and its yellow isn’t appealing to me, but if Sissy wasn’t snoring at my hip, she’d be ticked that Gretchen has a pink month but there’s no purple month.  (YOU explain primary colors to her then!!) 

Are you participating?  If so, how?  Different mediums?  I saw on Facebook that Barbara really got in the spirit of things and served barbeque for dinner tonight.  Heh.  Purely through dumb luck, I happen to be wearing a dark red shirt at the moment.  Anyhoo, I wear a good bit of red naturally, but my plan for Project Spectrum is to use it to reconnect with my mojo.  I’m going to go grab me some red yarn and let it tell me what it wants to be and cast on!   (No, not that laceweight in the photo.  At least, I don’t think so…  I haven’t gone stash-diving yet.  Stay tuned!)

13 comments on “Mojo Mayday

  1. gMarie says:

    I just ran across Lolly’s Knitting Around this morning. I believe she’s the creative genious behind Project Spectrum. I think I’d like to play with my camera more – but most likely I’ll try to knit in color. 🙂 g

  2. Interesting idea. I will eagerly watch for YOUR projects, but won’t join in because I need a little more freedom. I keep saying I won’t lock myself into KAL’s etc…then I do. You can do purple after you finish the first 5 months of color…:-)

  3. Barbara S. says:

    Tell Sissy that purple is in there! There are a few more color choices/options on the Tumbler page. You have the choice of red or orange for May.
    http://projectspectrum.tumblr.com/

  4. Blond Duck says:

    September should be pink. That’s my b-day month.

  5. Nichole says:

    Not participating … but to those who are, have fun!

  6. Kristyn says:

    Have fun with it. I have participated the last few times and it is really amazing how much you see these colors in your everyday life once you start looking for them.

  7. September should be green—thats my birthday month. Not always a big fan of yellow but I do knit with it on occasion. I have red on the needles anyway so that fits for May big time!!! I had May on my list I set back in January as Mother to Be month but as is my perogative I am changing it to Monster-mania month, since I don’t really know any babies due anyway!!!

  8. Sue says:

    I find that as soon as I commit myself to something like this i start fighting it. I feel too confined. Maybe it’s my old resistance to authority exerting itself, don’t know. Anyway I’ll watch with interest what projects you come up with. I just need to be a free spirit.

  9. kathy b says:

    I would stay away from lace weight…nothing kills the knit mojo for me, like lace weight! Red…hmmmmm
    always a good dog collar and leash color
    Have you seen the Raverly dog leash pattern//heee hee hee

  10. AlisonHyde says:

    Oooh, that brand is the softest merino laceweight out there but so finely spun. Nice, nice stuff–enjoy!

  11. Amy says:

    I did the Project Spectrum a few years back. I’ll have to add this one to my radar !

  12. Kathy says:

    Where’s the orange??? 😉

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    Sounds like a fun idea. Although, I’m doing good just to knit on any color, much less a particular one. Oh, and can you tell I’m a bit behind on reading blogs? O.o I’m hoping some sort of balance will emerge soon and it won’t be all work and no play.

Leave a Reply

