Not Seeing Red

So far, Project Spectrum isn’t inspiring my knitting mojo.  I’ve visited a lot of the reds in my stash, and nothing wants to jump on the needles.  I have a tomato cotton not logged in my stash (how does this happen?  pfst… it just does) that might want to be a tank, vest or cropped, short-sleeved cardi or something. 

I did smile at the first blooms on Mugsy’s rose bush this year.  That’s a rich, stunning red, but I don’t have any yarn that color, nor would I feel inspired to knit with it, so it seems. 

I do have some coral in my stash, but … nothing is jumping up and down to get on my needles.

Dress Barn

Instead, here’s a dress that doesn’t precisely hit the red mark, but as out of character as it is for me in both style and color, I think I want this dress!

What shoes would you wear with it?  I have a couple (well, three) pairs of shoes that might work with it, but as you know, I’m really loving wedges right now, and I think pink wedges would be lovely, or these

Sigh.  MJ and I just spent I don’t know how long looking through multiple shoe sites for pink wedges.  Pout.  Nothing, unless I want to pay $200 for some Lilly P … and I don’t.

Where do you see red?  Do you have an inspiration for me?

17 comments on “Not Seeing Red

  1. Nichole says:

    LOVE that dress…and those Target shoes would go great with it!
    I’ve got ONE single tulip in full bloom and… you guessed it… it’s a lovely shade of red.

  2. AlisonHyde says:

    My climbing roses are blooming in a bright bright red.

  3. gMarie says:

    I have a lovely red tulip in the kitchen window that the neighbor girls brought to the ‘old folks’ on May Day! Hem…..

    I think the shoes.com wedges would be fabulous with that dress. Honestly – order them already. Enough with the analysis paralysis – just hit purchase!!

    I’m knitting yellow and pulled green sock yarn for May – I’m 3 brown bags behind already this year. g

  4. Sue says:

    How about a red shawl to brighten a little black dress or top a white summer outfit on cool evenings.

    I like that dress.

  5. Bonnie says:

    Adorable dress but I would pair it with nude sandals with a cork wedge heel.

  6. Mr. Puffy says:

    This is the first year that project spectrum has even crossed my radar. I have some red yarn and a project in mind but between work, a still wonky finger, and some gift knitting I’m not sure I’m going to be able to play along. Boo 😦

  7. Marjie says:

    With that dress, your shoes could be pink, or red, or tan, or white. It’s a wonderful dress! You could wear a nice white wrap with it and “knock ’em dead,” so to speak.

  8. Amy Darsie says:

    I love the color red, much more now than I used to.

    – The search for the perfect shade of color-stay red lipstick.
    – Red flower clips to put in my hair on sunny days.
    – My red kitten heel pumps, which I desperately need to find an outfit to wear with.

    I hope you can find some red yarn to knit with this month!

  9. Louise says:

    My tulips are a lovely red this year:) I adore the punch of candy apple red; although, I wouldn’t dare wear it.

  10. kathy b says:

    I bought a dress b/c of you. SAY NOTHING TO ME ABOUT IT YET> SURPRISE FOR FIREMAN ON HIS 50th> GUTS..YOU INSPIRED ME> NOUGH SAID>

    IM EMAIingL YOU A LEASH PATTERN>>>NOW GET KNITTING….in Red

  11. Very pretty dress. You could do so much with it…including coming down to cute little sandals in red, pink, white, or beige (agree with above)…you don’t have to dress it UP! A shawl or shrug would be a lovely accessory for it….and red would totally work. (esp. with red footwear)

  12. P.S…Dress barn has the cutest little pink bag you simply MUST have if you go pink with that dress.

    http://www.dressbarn.com/detail/rosette-trimmed-clutch/100746985/304

  13. Bridget says:

    If you are uninspired, you could always knit a scarf or cowl in red for the Red Scarf Project. Just a thought.

    I think just about any color shoe would look nice with that dress. But that might be because I think it’s OK not to necessarily “match.”

  14. Blond Duck says:

    Ladybugs are inspirational!

  15. Kathy says:

    That dress is purty. Love the colors.

    Mugsy’s rose is gorgeous and I can almost sniff it from here. 😉

  16. […] in your world?   Ours are in flux for now.  I still want to venture to Dress Barn and try on that stripey dress.  Belk has some FAB orange espadrilles in the sale paper this morning too… […]

Leave a Reply

