Cinco de Mayo!

I’m really a little excited about my first ever Cinco de Mayo party tonight.   Never mind that there’s a board meeting in there too…  I’m all about the Skinny Girl margaritas, having my first churro (using this BAKED recipe), and whatever else my fellow board members are bringing. 

But it’s also little friday, dogs on thursday and thankful thursday.  Please pop over and see the fur-girl’s post, as there are two special birthdays in doggy bloggyland this week!

photo

For thankful thursday, I’m thankful for my health.  I’m healthier now than I have been in quite some time, in no small part because a few friends rather gently nudged me along until I was ready to take control of my health, fitness and eating habits.  There were no recriminations, but when I was ready, I had all kinds of support and encouragement. 

I also have those two adorable furry bundles of love that DEMAND a walk every single day, rain or shine, whether it is convenient to my schedule or not.   It’s a little tricky to clean myself up again to head back to town for meetings, but I guess those of you who walk or workout during a lunch hour manage that regularly.

Are you doing anything to celebrate Cinco de Mayo?

What are you thankful for today?

10 comments on “Cinco de Mayo!

  1. Nichole says:

    I’m always thankful for my furchildren….. I couldn’t survive without them! 🙂 Unconditional love like no other…

    Happy Cinco de Mayo – can’t wait to hear about the party… and the food!

  2. Amy says:

    I normally avoid the bar scene on Cinco de Mayo, but a friend of mine all but begged me to come out with her tonight after knitting. And after the week I’ve had, I need it!

  3. gMarie says:

    Hmmmm – love those girls as always. No big Cinqo de Mayo celebrations for me. Taco Salad at home with a corona. No ta-kill-ya either! 🙂

    have a fabulous time tonight – skinny girl. g

  4. Sue says:

    We usually celebrate Cinco De Mayo because we met in Mexico and were married in Mexico. We’ll be trying a new restaurant tonite.

  5. Marjie says:

    I really like that the girls are the same colors! Cute picture.

  6. Kathy says:

    I’m celebrating with tres leches cake today! It’s been a big hit with my coworkers.

  7. Kathy says:

    Oh I can’t wait to celebrate through your next post. Enjoy! 🙂

  8. I think I’ll run to the Mexican bakery for some treats to share at Knit Night tonight…I might even whip up some Margaritias, too. How do you think THAT will mix with knitting? LOl….

  9. kathy b says:

    I am thankful for lots today:
    for Fireman who turns 50 tomorrow
    for my own two forever cats, Radar and Rozzy
    for jimmy buffet music on my ipod on a rainy day
    for my sister Michelle
    and for YOUR BLOG!

  10. Louise says:

    Cinco de Mayo totally got away from me this year. I spent the entire week helping Katie prepare for her first Mother’s Day sale. The greenhouse is exploding!!!

    I’d be happy to take the girls for their walks any old time, Channon. Thankful? They say your health is your wealth and thankfully, I’m feeling mighty rich these days. Thanks for sharing…

Leave a Reply

