Stuck on neutrals…

Just a quick “drive-by” post.   It’s an insanely busy two weeks for me as we wrap up the League year, so don’t worry if I don’t post regularly, okay?

I want this in the light tan... not shown

In the meantime, my analysis paralysis is in overdrive.  I need a couple more pairs of shoes to get me through the summer.  I have a host of colors in my wardrobe, and as I’m buying more thoughtfully, I’ve realized that VERY PALE me doesn’t need black sandals to offset my white legs, with any outfit.  Yeah, I’ll still reach for black heels with certain dresses and skirts, but it appears my summer uniform this year will consist of plaid skorts, a few capris in neutrals – tan, white, blue, olive –  and denim skirts, shorts, etc.

Navy - or orange, or PANK?

I really want to limit myself to TWO more pairs of sandals, but I’m torn.  I want coral, just because I love it, and I feel I need navy and/or a light tan.  I also toy with the idea of pewter or grey, because I am fair…

I’d love your input. 

Hope you had a happy Mothers Day.  We had a great family dinner with the inlaws on Saturday, and then a very low-keyed day yesterday with lots of snuggle time with the fur-girls.

Did you do anything exciting?

This entry was posted in shoes.

14 comments on “Stuck on neutrals…

  1. gMarie says:

    Why two? Both of those styles are rather “timeless” so coral, navy and a metalic will all fill holes in your wardrobe and get worn lots. I think in your neck of the woods sandals get worn from April through October, right?

    Mother’s Day – lovely and low key. Long dog walk (100 minutes); tidied the studio; sorted out paterns I’ll never sew; traced and made a skirt based on 2 month old measurements (remember stress eating) Yea – it’s too big – like almost 5″ in the waist. I give up. 😦 g

  2. Mary says:

    One of those shoe links I sent you the other day was in a pale blush. That might be a color that might work for a lot of the things you talk about. Or a nice creamy color…just not white.

    Mother’s Day was fine (not a fan of it). One called from overseas, had lunch with another one the day before, and the other two came over and brought lunch with them. Motherhood certainly doesn’t end when they leave home. In some ways, it becomes even more challenging.

    Crazy describes my life, too. Too much work, too much sadness. Hope the league stuff goes well.

  3. Nichole says:

    I esp love that second sandal – what brand is it? I’d like a pair in a neutral shade myself… 🙂

  4. Sis... says:

    According to “What Not to Wear” hosts, Clinton Kelly & Stacy London, your shoes can be colors that are opposite (on the color wheel) from the colors in your clothes. With that in mind, go for bright and unique colors in sandals and don’t confine yourself with classic neutrals like tans & greys.

  5. Sue says:

    Strangely, my most favorite sandals are a pair of pink ones that I found on sale at the feed store. They used to carry clothes at one time and I guess these were left over. They’re super comfy and actually go with most everything.

    A couple years ago I got on a sandal kick and couldn’t stop buying them. I just kept seeing so many cute ones that I absolutely had to have. Don’t put a limit on how many you can have because there’s always another even cuter one waiting for you.

  6. AlisonHyde says:

    Shoe? Fly (to the order form), don’t bother me, they’ll soon belong to somebody–you!

  7. Nichole says:

    OK – I figured out your links and I actually just ordered the 2nd one, as well as a pair of slides from White Mountain.

  8. I’m thinking that second pair of sandals would look great in orange…so, why not? Not being a fashion maven myself, that’s all I can offer.

  9. I was never so into shoes, but you are changing me —I am going with my friend Ria for my first Pedicure next week, not first in the season, first ever!!!

    I love my new little Olivia bag!

  10. Amy says:

    Nothing exciting here … just work. But I have a couple days off, and then I’m looking forward to a long weekend. Corey is visiting, along with his girlfriend, and we’re having a belated St Paddy’s Day dinner!

  11. Marjie says:

    Coral is great. I’d look for grey also. I don’t wear very dark shoes except when they match my skirt, because I’m even whiter than you are! Just call me Casper.

  12. Blond Duck says:

    We took my mom to lunch and a movie– Mexican, of course! We also did some shopping–got the cutest pink tote, pink hat and dresses!

  13. Kathy says:

    Sandals should be fun. Go for the brights unless of course you need a neutral.
    I love shoes 😉

  14. Anita says:

    I didn’t have to work, that was exciting enough for me. LOL. Glad you guys had a nice weekend & lots of time with the girls. 🙂

Leave a Reply

