Phood in Philly

This week should be better than last, but no promises.  I actually ran away for a conference Thursday through Saturday last week, and I have some cuteness to share… if the storms will quit knocking out our phone, which means we have no internet…

In the meantime, I can say I was in Philly – er… Philadelphia, PA – for the Junior League annual conference.  I traveled with two friends, the outgoing and incoming presidents of our League.  

Thursday night, we had the Reading Terminal Market to ourselves for the opening reception.  We made a meal out of roaming the aisles and scooping up steamed dumplings from one vendor, crabcakes from another… had crepes made to order, and my gal-pals had mini cupcakes from the Flying Monkey.   There was also all the water, wine and beer one might want, all of it included in our conference registration fee.

Photo from Zavino's online menu

Most of our meals were included in the conference package, and while I do think the Marriott does conference fare better than most, it’s still chicken in a funky sauce, globby starch, etc.  However Friday night, we roamed the streets in our area (more on two particularly awesome shops when I can get photos AND upload them) and settled on dinner at Zavino.

Again, no photos from me, but it’s a great little spot with good pizza, small plates and wine.  We started with the beet and goat cheese small plate, followed by a 3-cheese plate the spinach pizza, and washed it all down with a bottle of Prosecco in honor of one gal’s 5th wedding anniversary.  She sent her hubby a photo of her sipping her bubbly, and he sent her a photo of him with a cold, frosty mug of beer.

I’d never spent any time in that part of Philly, so I thoroughly enjoyed having the lone evening to stroll the neighborhood with my companions.  More on what I bought and from where soon!

How was your (thanks for putting them in time-out, Blogger) weekend?

12 comments on “Phood in Philly

  1. gMarie says:

    Perfect description – we were in time out all weekend, weren’t we?

    Your weekend sounds fabulous. I had a sewing seminar all day Saturday and the food was less than desirable. I was snacky and starving when I got home. Other than that – it was good. I finished 2 skirts, now I need to switch my focus to tops or I’ll be wearing them nekkid. g

  2. Sounds like you had a good trip. Yay…my weekend was…nothing to boast about. Winter seems to have returned for another shot at us. I DID finish one sock in a pair, and late last night finished up a scarf that’s been lingering for a while…

  3. Nichole says:

    Sounds delish!!! mmm…..
    Weekend went by far too fast – I really think we deserve 3 day weekends all the time!

  4. Amy says:

    That all sounds so good, especially the goat cheese!!!

  5. Marjie says:

    Good thing you had companions for strolling, because some areas of Philly can be dangerous. It is a beautiful city.

    Here and I was gone starting early Friday AM, so didn’t even notice the “time out”!

  6. Khyra says:

    You’ve made me homesick for the city of my birth – well, actually, I was born in a hospital just a wee bit outside the city limits –

    As a child, The Reading Terminal Market was a regular visit –

    SIGH!

    Now I so want a hoagie or a real cheesesteak!

  7. Khyra's Mom says:

    By the way, I love your spelling –

    This Time Sign Me Khyra’s Mom

    Phyll

  8. StarSpry says:

    You’re making me hungry 🙂 Sounds like you had a good trip!

  9. kathy b says:

    What a delish weekend you had! Now I am hungrier than ever!

    Blogger time out was like having PVC’s. I couldnt catch my breath with it all. What??? NO blogging? No new posts from friends. IT was an odd chunk of time for sure!!!

    Weekend was work filled but fine! Now I am on vacation for 2 weeks with next weekend off completely. Between contracts …that I am.

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    The best part of traveling is the FOOD!!!! Your dinner sounds perfect. Hope you found a good street vendor for a Philly cheese steak too 🙂 All this talk of food is making me hungry. Weekend was totally uneventful. BTW, don’t see either Hanna or Bridesmaids – 2 stars each max.

  11. Barbara says:

    Your trip sounds like a success, Chan. I know what you mean about the food at hotels…it’s not bad, but nearly identical, doesn’t matter which one you visit. Nice you got away from it a bit. As your other comments say…blogger put a stop to a lot of blog-trolling for a couple days. Then we had to spend another day or so trying to rewrite or retrieve drafts. 😦

  12. Bridget says:

    I can’t believe you were here and I didn’t know!! I could have easily walked over to meet you, even if it was for just a coffee or tea … Hope you can come back sometime when we can visit!

Leave a Reply

