Shopping Philadelphia

You’d think with Macy’s across the street from our hotel, I might have some great fashion finds, huh?

photoNope.  We only shopped in two small storefronts.  We knew we had time to kill on our way to the reservations we didn’t keep Friday night, so there was no hesitation when we spotted Doggie Style.   I should mention that both of my companions are dog-mas too; one has the dapper Sarge, an airedale, or King of the Terriers to the rest of you, while the other is mother to Elwood, a dashing hound mix.

(The tag line at the top of their logo is “they bark, we listen”.)

First up are the not-pictured Pumpkin Crunchers.  They aren’t pictured because I wouldn’t have gotten photos of anything other than Sissy’s nose, feet, etc. had the Crunchers left their nearly hidden location on the treat table.  She is particularly MAD for them.  Gretchen likes them quite well, but not to the point her nutty sister CRAVES them.

photo

(Why yes, that is the DIVA herself keeping any eye on the cookies!)  Of course, the big orange one is for Sis, and the cool margarita is for Gretchen.  Locally, I have some trouble finding fancy cookies free of Sissy’s allergens, so I had to snag ’em!

photo

Kitty magnets!

There were harnesses, collars, and even non-doggy items.  My partners in crime bought fun plush toys for their fur-kids, and the staff couldn’t have been friendlier.  We’re somewhat seriously considering looking into their franchise opportunities!

When we ditched our reservations in favor of Zavino, we had time to kill.  There was a soap shop across the street, so we wandered in, having no idea that we’d almost miss our seating because we couldn’t stop shopping at Duross and Langel.

photo

I went a little crazy.  There’s a “tub toy” fire truck (really a ladder truck, if you must know) for the Chief (aka: Knight), dry shampoo for the fur-girls, and the rest is MINE.  ALL.  MINE.  Two exfoliating soaps, cuticle cream and some pink grapefruit  sugar scrub that makes me weak in the knees.

photoYou need to see this label. A coat freshener that also repells bugs?! Do I need to tell you that THREE containers came back to VA?  Elwood, Sarge, Sissy and Gretchen will all be smelling a little sweeter now.  Of course, I’ll report back on what we all think of the product.

(Yes, there’s ground corn meal in there, so both girls will be brushed outside, in the front yard, so Sis can’t ingest it.  Fingers and paws crossed, but if it is problematic, at least I know it can go live with Elwood or Sarge.)

Does anyone else use a dry shampoo on pets?

This entry was posted in travel.

13 comments on “Shopping Philadelphia

  1. Sue says:

    I’ve used dry shampoos in the past, but for quick clean ups I like waterless foam cleaners. They go on easily, dry quickly and smell good.

    After all the vet visits are over, I’ll make cookies for my group to celebrate their good behavior and good report cards.

  2. AlisonHyde says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time all around!

  3. Kathy says:

    I love to shop in local stores like the ones you visited!

    Never tried a dry shampoo. Lucy takes a shower once a week and that keeps her fresh and clean.

  4. Jessica says:

    I want all of that stuff…ALL of it! :o) I have never used dry shampoo for the dogs. Mainly because they do not smell…no, i am not lucky..it’s a Vizsla thing. :O) Don’t worry though, Fred more than makes up for it by rolling in, um…things. stuff. nasty stuff.

    I would likely go hog wild in that hound store. They have a neat shop like that up at Lake Placid, and i always stock up on dog cookies when i am there. Might need to take a little vacation up there soon. I am sure we will go when J is home on mid-tour.

  5. gMarie says:

    Looks like a fabulous haul. And honestly I would have shopped for the dogs over the people any day too. Much easier on the psyche. g

  6. Nichole says:

    I’m very intrigued by the dry shampoo!
    Macy’s is overrated – and over priced! Sounds like you did better and had nicer finds!

  7. Marjie says:

    I was contemplating doing Thor up with baking soda and a good brush if we ever get warm sunshine. I might just have to try Sue’s waterless foam, though. It’s nice that you got fun treats instead of something normal like clothing!

  8. Amy says:

    I had never heard of a dry shampoo for pets. That is so cool! I wonder if it would work for cats? Mavey has the worst dandruff, even after brushing.

  9. Mary says:

    No dry shampoo at our house. The dogs just stink or not, depending the day and whatever roll-in they used (See Jessica’s statement above). Weather is not generally conducive to bathing our brood; the Doberman is especially NOT fond of being picked up and put in a tub. Glad there was some shop time in Philly, even if limited.

  10. As usual….Lucky Dogs! I am glad, tho, that a few of those last finds were for you…they grrls aren’t the only ones who need a little spoiling.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I use Johnson and Johnson!

  12. StarSpry says:

    Those shops sound like they were a lot of fun! You found some great things 🙂

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    Awesome finds! I’ll be interested to hear about the dry shampoo. Micro’s poor big ears catch water all too easy for water baths to be a regular occurrence for him.

Leave a Reply

