Just Cause

Oh look!  A rare, Saturday post.  It’s for a good cause though.  See, I added My edit to my Reader a few weeks ago.  How could I NOT keep up with a blogger whose tag line is “life between peep toes and steel toes”?!   After all, I’m the former firefighter, now president-elect of my local Junior League, so my closet floor has steel toed boots and bejewelled mules, and everything in between.

Anyway, if you click on that link, you’ll see that she’s promoting a friend’s campaign.  Friend’s uncle died of cancer, and friend is selling a sweet little necklace to raise funds for charity bike ride.  

I’m not a bicycle enthusist, but anything that supports cancer research tugs at my heart.  I’m feeling especially called to share this with some of you who might ride or have rider friends who would like a special necklace, because this week, we learned another friend has a family member just diagnosed with cancer and another relative – on the Knight’s side, by marriage this time – has colon cancer. 

I’m also going to shamelessly mention that May isn’t over and Pampered Chef’s Help Whip Cancer campaign is still underway.  Every little bit helps, right?

8 comments on “Just Cause

  1. Sue says:

    It just so happens that my favorite paring knife recently was thrown out by accident. At least I think it was an accident. Anyway, I need a new one and a pink one appeals to me a lot. I’ll email you.

  2. Bubblesknits says:

    lol What an interesting looking blog! I’ll have to check that one out.

  3. Barbara says:

    Love the photo of the girls sleeping, Chan. And the cute Lily top, although with your new figure, perhaps a tighter fitting one? 🙂
    Anything that raises money for cancer research is really important. Thanks for the link!

  4. Knitting It Out says:

    Hmm. I’m gong to your PC website to take a look. At first glance, I see pink things which makes me smile…

  5. AlisonHyde says:

    My best to all of them and my thanks to all pulling for them.

  6. kathy b says:

    If only Fireman would wear such a darling necklace…it is so cute. I spent two days on my bike this week and my arse is so sore, I wont get on again soon!

  7. Kristin says:

    Cancer has touched far too many lives!

  8. Blond Duck says:

    I’m sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

