Finely!

Hark!  Chanknits has knitting content!

Photo borrowed from Knitting Daily

I think today’s Knitting Daily helped me see the light… you know, the light that shines down deep into my knitting bag, letting me see my missing mojo for the first time in months.

See Barbie’s dresses?  THAT is why I can’t knit, can’t finish what I do have on the needles.  I’ve been knitting with larger-gauge yarns/needles, when I know I enjoy finer/thinner yarns better. 

I started putting this together over the weekend.  ALL of the cardigans I’ve purchased this spring have been very fine-gauged, certainly no more than DK weight, and than one has a rather open weave.  Most are lace to fingering, to put it in knitter’s terms. 

photoEverything I have on the needles is worsted, save one laceweight project, which is the one I’ve at least been talking about finishing.  No wonder I can’t make my hue-appealing, worsted cotton pick a pattern it wants to become!  At least right now, I don’t want to wear anything that bulky, so…

Hrmph.  Pack up that pretty cotton and find me some Tofutsies or something…   I’m thinking a longer, thinner, crescent-shaped shawlette-scarf?  No need to scare my tender mojo away right off the bat…

Any suggestions?

13 comments on “Finely!

  1. There are some great small shawlettes like Annis {which I know Kathy M made for you) out there, I like bashful butterflies, marrakech, balconet just to name a few. Check out my Favs on rav –you will see dozens of them.

  2. Nichole says:

    I was thinking something similar the other day… big bulk knits are just not doing it for me right now!

  3. Sue says:

    I’m trying to avoid knitting and cross stitch for a few days. My fingers are aching and I need to give them a rest. I’m looking thru patterns to decide what to try next.

  4. Kathy says:

    Ooh yes, do try one of those Susanna IC crescent shape shawlettes! You will love it! After a mininum number of lace rows (~24ish, depending on pattern), you’ll move into stockinette and finish in a flash. I agree, fingering weight yarn is currently my favorite right now too.

  5. I totally loved knitting the Summer Flies shawl…I used DK, not the worsted it as written for…however…they have a “new” pattern out, Autumn Flutters, which is essentially the same shawl re-written for finer guage yarns…oh, and they get to charge for this one. 🙂

  6. Marjie says:

    You know I don’t know beans about knitting, but I think a mini shawlette would be a good thing. I insisted that I was wearing a sleeveless dress yesterday, because the sun came out for 3 minutes, and wore the wonderful little shawl you made me with it. It was perfect. Have fun with whatever you select!

  7. Anita says:

    I’m glad you got a little bit of mojo back. Patterns? I have no idea… I have a million of them in my queue though. ha ha

  8. gMarie says:

    I feel exactly the same way – but have no great desire to knit a cardigan on size 3 needles. But everytime I swatch, I hate the fabric and drop a needle size.

    I bought some self-striping sock yarn today with lime and blue and need to find a shawl pattern to knit from it – so my husband will quit mocking me for knitting socks 24/7 — g

  9. Jessica says:

    Ohhh, i love it. i had this same awakening not long ago. Wander on over to Fiddlesticks http://www.fiddlesticksknitting.com/ and see if they have anything that tempts you. currently on my needles are “Serenity”, and yes…i kind of picked it as an homage to Nathan Fillion and Firefly…i have to like the name of the pattern and the yarn. it is PERFECT for mindless tv knitting though! I am also working on the the Lacy Lattice Stole with Berocco laceweight ultra alpaca in pea soup mix. Serenity is being done in Fiddlesticks own Exquisite (and it is!).

    I love how fast worsted knits up…but am never totally thrilled with the finished product. and like you, most of the sweaters i buy are fine knit.

  10. Amy says:

    I just finished up a bunch of projects, so if you need to send anything my way to finish … 🙂

    I’m going to start Christmas knitting, so that I can work on it a little bit at a time. I also just finished spinning some yarn that will become a shawl for me, but now I’m not sure what else to work on.

  11. Dianne says:

    Sneak up on that mojo from behind and throw a net over it. Then zip it into your knitting bag, and never let it out!

    🙂

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    See, I think that’s part of my problem, too. I’ve recently been searching for the perfect lightweight pattern. Problem is, most of the stash I have is either handpainted and one skeiners or worsted weight. Grrr.

  13. […] is “a magical charm, hex, or power”. Hmm…I don’t think that’s what Chan meant. Neither do I believe she meant “sex appeal”, which also comes up quite […]

Leave a Reply

