Summer Love Abounds

This is one of those quirky posts that probably gives you more insight into the real me than you might want.  See, I was so entertained by the overlapping marketing campaigns that graced my very rural route mailbox yesterday that YOU have to hear about them.

First, there was a large postcard from Talbot’s, inviting me to come visit.  (At least, that’s what I told the Knight when he asked if there was any mail…)   They’re calling their sale Summer Love.   (Doesn’t that banner make you want to go get a big ol’ bowl of raspberry sorbet?!)  Too bad there’s nothing on sale I actually want.

Then, Dress Barn sent a thin catalog promoting their upcoming Summer Lovin’ sale…  and I did see a maxi dress I like, but there are a trio of problems.

1.  It’s a LONG dress.  It doesn’t appear to come in a petite length, and I am petite, albeit just barely.  I don’t know that it’s worth even trying to have it altered.

2.  I don’t know that I’d actually wear it more than a couple of times.  I am wearing skorts and knee-length skirts a lot as it warms up, but that’s different than something near floor-length.

3.  Overshare warning!!  It doesn’t meet my “I can wear a regular bra” requirement, which would most likely render it not-wearable, even if I did overcome obstacle #1, and which almost guarantees #2 would be a very true prophecy.

So instead of clothes shopping – which I still don’t love, by the way, unlike shoe and bag shopping – I’ll share all the summer songs bebopping through my head.

What are your favorite summer songs?  I know I’m going to kick myself later when I realize some of MY favorites that I failed to mention…

15 comments on “Summer Love Abounds

  1. Nichole says:

    Fun post! Your first 4 are on my list… along with Bananarama – Cruel Summer, Kid Rock – All Summer Long, Billy Idol – Hot in the City, B-52’s – Love Shack (this one just screams throw the top down on the car and cruise), Go-Go’s – Vacation, Fresh Prince – Summertime….

  2. AlisonHyde says:

    I got lost getting to UCSF once and went straight through Haight-Ashbury in San Francisco, which still looks straight out of the 60’s. Summer of Love, right there.

  3. Mary says:

    At the risk of dating myself…Summer in the City by
    The Lovin’ Spoonful, virtually any Beach Boy song, Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Crying – Gerry and the Pacemakers (told you this would date me)…I could go on and on. Do you have any idea how many great summer songs came out in the mid to late 60s?

    And the dress…well, what is it made of(?) because way too many of these types of dresses are made of knit polyester and it would be hard to come up with a hotter (as in sweaty) material for summer. Also, I could make a skirt with the material I would have to cut off to make it a maxi & not a draggi…and then where would the design go?

  4. Kathy says:

    So Talbots invited you to visit…I love that interpretation. It would really be rude not to accept the invitation.

  5. :In the Summertime” by Mungo Jerry is the first one that popped into my head! Summer Breeze by Seals and Croft and School’s oUt by Alice Cooper

    My wardrobe for summer consists of some maxi skirts, in the gauzy peasanty style!

  6. Sue says:

    I can’t think of a single summer song right now. I think my head is going to explode if these thunder storms don’t stop.

  7. Amy says:

    As far as ‘summer songs’, I always think of ‘Night Moves’ by Bob Seger. Love that whole album,really.

  8. Marjie says:

    Beach Boys songs equal summer. As for your “overshare”, well, that is my number one rule. You have to do what you have to do. I’m not sure I’m good with the maxi summer dress trend anyway. Isn’t the point of a summer dress for the breeze to cool your legs? That’s why we wear shorts instead of pants, right?

  9. Linda says:

    lets see-

    the 5th dimention’s “hot fun in the summertime” from when i was a tween in the late ’60s

    Meatloaf’s “you took the words right out of my mouth”

    springstein’s “born to run” and
    “thunder road”

    Oh-and my ultimate favorite-
    “Summer nights” from grease! a-ha a-ha a-hahahaha!

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    “Kokomo” by the Beach Boys. “Red Red Wine” by UB40. 😀

  11. Katrina and the Waves…Walkin’ On Sunshine…in addition to the many other favs already mentioned. 🙂 I got the same Dress Barn flyer with coupon..went in yesterday..found a dress I LOVED!! Sigh…couldn’t buy it…coupon not good until tomorrow. Will go back for it…

  12. Blond Duck says:

    There’s too many!

  13. Barbara says:

    Cute marketing gimmick by Talbots. And the minute I looked at the long dress, what bra popped right into my head! When I was your age I didn’t have to think about it ’cause I had so little. Not the case anymore! Tracy can get away with it, though. 🙂
    My favorite? We still sing it: Coconut by Harry Nilsson

  14. Jessica says:

    haha…glad i am not the only one with the “regular bra requirement” i hate specialty bras, they never fit right!
    hmmm, favorite summer songs. Anything by the Go-Go’s, Duran Duran Rio songs. That is all that is popping into my head right now.

  15. Kristyn says:

    As a good Detroit girl I love Kid Rock’s “All Summer Long”.

Leave a Reply

