Post that might change my life

If you’re a regular reader of much time at all, you know I have a bag problem.  I love handbags, but have serious trouble finding one that I love (read: will use more than a few days). 

Straw Studios - eBags

Enter Sal.  She’s written a post on how to shop for a handbag.  It seems self-evident when she says it, but…  Hem.  Sometimes, one can’t see the forest for the trees.

Here’s a breakdown of what I need in a bag:

Use patterns: 

  • Simply put, it must have a magnetic closure.  Otherwise, it won’t get closed unless I’m in an airport, and by Sissy or by chance, it will topple over and contents will go everywhere and then bad words happen.
  • While I like a single, main compartment, I do want to be able to put my hands on whatever I’m reaching for without doing that “drop my hand to the bottom and shake” routine we’ve all done before.
  • I don’t like to set my bag down on counters while shopping.  I want it to hang comfortably from my forearm while I snatch out my wallet, phone, etc.

Bring your stuff:

Kate Spade from eBags

  • I admire minimalists, but I’m not one.  I mean, I can be, for a lone, dress-up night, or when the Knight is driving and I know I don’t need more than my ID and tinted lip balm…
  • This is also why I don’t change bags once I find one I like.  I do need a really secure interior side-zip pocket for the checkbook and its friends, and I need an interior drop-in pocket for the smart phone.  I also need a pocket – inside or out – for my ring full of those annoying but essential shopper discount key fob thingees.
  • I do not like a bag that won’t hold its shape “loaded”.  This is where Vera often fails me.

Wear a coat:

  • Pfst.  It’s supposed to be 95 degrees or some such today, Sal.  Ain’t happenin’.  But I get your point; I like a close-fitting shoulder bag, and I know it needs to go over, around and stay with a coat on too.
  • This time of year, think slicker-style raincoats too.  Because nothing’s more annoying that straps that slide, especially when a big ol’ loaded bag is attached.

Check the finish:

Fossil bag in coated canvas - eBags

  • This is where my heart and hands part ways with my head.  I love buttery, soft leather and fabric bags, but I know they don’t hold up to my life.  Sissy and I need pleather, coated fabric and/or all-weather leather.
  • I do pout and sulk when the bag gets its first blemish, or the fabric loses its crispness.  Note to self:  QUIT BUYING “like buttah” leather and uncoated fabric bags!!  They can be your evening wristlets or even wallets, but not THE BAG.
  • This is also where I’m going to point out that all that metal that’s so trendy right now adds bulk, and since I insist on carrying a larger bag, I need to reduce weight where I can.

Consider color:

Tignanello Safari Tote @ eBags

  • I have a tealish blue problem.  My favorite two bags are very similar in hue, and I’ve nearly bought several more in the same family.  I’m trying hard to broaden my color horizons, since only one of those bags has been retired due to being worn out.
  • I have the standard black and brown handbags.  They aren’t sexy, they aren’t big enough for daily use, but they’re classic and practical. 
  • I’m liking green right now.  I ordered one green bag that just wasn’t functional, and have another on order.
  • I’m drawn to RED bags, but haven’t found the right one for me yet.

I know most of you already know what you like and can shop for it without incident, and I’m jealous.  Maybe though, this little exercise will lead me to a happy place, where I have my big tote-style bag and something small – a wristlet or a small crossbody? – I can just grab and go when I don’t need the kitchen sink.

How was your long weekend – if you  had one?  I did some knitting and should have snapped a photo for you, but maybe tomorrow…

This entry was posted in Bags.

20 comments on “Post that might change my life

  1. Nichole says:

    From one bag addict to another… great post!

    Where did the long weekend fly away to so fast?

  2. gMarie says:

    I think that red bag in your post is lovely. I think the biggest lesson to learn from that post is to shop in person. You don’t get a good feel from photos. A description that says ‘straps are 18″ long’ doesn’t really say much.

    Doesn’t always have to be high end stores, I’ve found great bags in Fred Meyer and Target. KAM has really good luck at Ross and Marshalls – just do it in person. 🙂 g

  3. Sue hansen says:

    I have more bags than hair on my head! Of course they ALL are for knitting! Snickering!!!! Love the fossil bag!

  4. Sue hansen says:

    I have more bags than hair on my head! Of course they ALL are for knitting! Snickering!!!! Love the fossil bag!

  5. Sue hansen says:

    I have more bags than hair on my head! Of course they ALL are for knitting! Snickering!!!! Love the fossil bag!

  6. Mary says:

    Ah, the elusive perfect bag: always sought, rarely found. Must admit it is hard to buy online…though I appreciate sites that offer a photo of a bag on a person (even if just a mannequin) so that one can gauge the size. As a short person, far too many bags are far too big–the small ones, too small. I haven’t found one yet either. Just about given up.

  7. Sue says:

    It all sounds like a good practical approach, but let’s face it, for some of us bags are an emotional issue and an impulse buy. When I see it, I know it needs to come home with me, even if it’s all wrong for the purpose at hand.

  8. Amy says:

    I really like that Fossil bag. While I’m not a fan of coated anything when it comes to a bag, I love the colors in that. I tend to hang my purse up, from one of the dining room chairs, so that cats don’t invade them. Although, if I leave it sitting on the floor, Cooley always manages to sleep on it.

  9. Ruth says:

    The perfect bag…is there, in fact, such a thing? I wish you joy and luck in your search. Most of my bags end up looking a lot alike….small, shoulder or cross body, lots of little compartments. I shuddur at the thought of one big open space!

  10. Marjie says:

    Mine has 2 inside pockets, one wide zipped pocket on one side, and 2 small snapped pockets on the other side – for cell phone and key fob thingies. I used my daughter’s big bag to go to Wyoming, so I could fit a couple of books in it (3, and I finished them all) plus other essentials, and I hated it. Couldn’t find a stinkin’ thing. I’m sticking with my stuffed, smallish bag: 9″w, 5″h, 4″d total. Oh, and it’s pleather, too. Thor drool, winter beatings, all that stuff.

  11. AlisonHyde says:

    Family family and more family and much joy. I love reunions!

  12. Kathy says:

    Like that Fossil bag, very cute. I agree on most of the issues concerning a bag. Of course mine must be Bettis-proof therefore I spend all of 10 minutes debating and passing over really cute bags to plunk down cold hard cash for the $9.99 sale special….LOL

    We had a busy and nice weekend ;).

  13. Kristin says:

    Excellent PSA. Loving that Kate Spade to pieces!

  14. Toni Gomez says:

    GREAT Post..sorry to be so MIA… been knitting and chasing DEX. Happy Days to you.

  15. Blond Duck says:

    Have you tried Nordstroms off the Rack? I got a great pink tote there.

  16. Barbara says:

    I seem to need straw or fabric bags for summer. I save the leather types for winter. I also need a neutral color, one that will go with everything. I do change bags to go out in the evening for dressier events, but I have a nice collection for that. The day bags are the hardest to find. Wish I could help you. Another thing I do: I spend money on my bags so they last and then use the same ones over and over. I’ve had the straw one I’m using now for 3 years. The black winter one for 5. They hold up beautifully when they’re well made. Also, I have separate ones for travel…bigger so I can load up to carry on a plane.

  17. Susan says:

    Ok, you ALMOST succeeded!!! I ALMOST bought the straw bag, but I was good since I already have a new summer bag!!! Good try!!! 😉

  18. I like patterned bags, not solids myself. And I totally agree about the pocket/compartment issues!

  19. Louise says:

    GREAT tips for purse shopping! I too happen to be addicted to pocketbooks. I came {this close} to buying yet another just yesterday.

    Thanks for sharing, Chan…

  20. Anita says:

    I like the Fossil bag too. 🙂 And I love it when you go on a bag hunt… you do all the hunting for me. LOL I love bags, although I rarely spend the cash for them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

