Lush, cool green

Remember Project Spectrum?  Yeah, at the wire I did start a red May project, and we’ll get to that some other day.  Today’s a new page on the calendar and a new color focus for Project Spectrum. 

June is green, in case the title didn’t clue you in.  I love green, in all its many hues.  From rich, deep, forest green to cool, soothing seafoam, I’ll take ’em all.   Right now, there’s a host of green in nature, what with all the fresh, tender leaves that have popped out over the past few weeks, the green grass…

Farmer Mugsy 3But this is one of my favorite green photos.  The Knight and Prince Mugsy, farmin’.  I don’t know that either of our girls would ride the big tractor with him.  Sissy wouldn’t sit still that long and the noises would bother Gretchen…  Of course, Mugsy was a senior dog when this was taken, so he’d had time to settle into a more mature personality!

DSC00924I even think I’ve already settled on my green knitting for the month.  I have an OLD project I want to finally finish up, and then I think I’m going to turn this cotton-linen blend into a pair of house socks.  My feet are almost always cool, and there aren’t many patterns that only require 126 yards! 

But don’t hold me to that.  Finishing up my red project this week, finishing up another work in progress that’s not red or green, and working on the OLD green project are my priorities.  By the time I do all of that, who knows what Mojo will want?!  Heck, who knows what Mojo will want tomorrow?! 

DSC01606

Spinning?  Well, this pine merino my sister snagged for me has been calling to me since the day she handed it over… 

Where do you see green?

17 comments on “Lush, cool green

  1. Nichole says:

    Oh how I love green as well… that first yarn is beautiful! And I ADORE that shot of Mugsy & the Knight…

  2. gMarie says:

    First – we see it in the Boston Bruins uniforms that will be gracing the idiot box with hockey playoffs this month. Then the lawn, leaves, plant shoots.

    I love that green yarn you’ve pulled and the fiber. More and more….

    I can’t wait to see your finished red project. So glad you’ve found the mojo. I just finished a pair of green socks that were in a green project bag.

    Opps – gonna be late for work. ACK! g

  3. Sue says:

    After weeks of non-stop rain, we’re looking very green around here. In fact right after Noah had his bath last week he came in the house with a green band around his neck. He had grass stain on his white hair and it still hasn’t come off.

  4. Bubblesknits says:

    I see green lately when I look at Dr. Tooth’s face. /chuckle/ Hopefully he’ll start feeling better soon. Poor guy.

    I could probably do a project spectrum using dishcloth cotton. Actually, that would be pretty fun. : )

  5. Mary says:

    Hmmm…lots of kudzu in our neck of the woods. Creepy, in more ways than one, but definitely green. Also have a green sweater (not) in progress…ran out of the knit mojo.

  6. kathy b says:

    Awww I love the tractor picture too CHan!!!

    Where do I see green? My Rosalyn kitty’s eyes are an amazing green.
    The varigated hostas in my garden are uber green right now!
    I bought a new green shirt at Lane Bryant yesterday
    and I have a green frozen margahrita in the freezer for later…

  7. AlisonHyde says:

    Ooooh, that fiber is gorgeous…!!!

  8. Kathy says:

    Like the farmin’ picture.

    I’ve recently taken to some green shades for knitting/sewing. Like the shade of the yarn and the roving. Can’t wait to see those socks.
    Where do I see green? Covering the mountains around the house :D.

  9. Outside the window, the cherry blossoms are long gone, replaced by green, On my bedroom walls–a deep forest green, On My bathroom ceiling–an even darker shade of green. In the socks I am knitting Tommo for father’s day—with blue mixed in. My winter jacket is also a light green, and at least one of my new blouses is green!!! I too love green!

  10. Kathy says:

    Gorgeous green is right outside my office window, in a field with a bunch of sunflowers popping their heads above the green plants.

    I admire your ability to join Project Spectrum. I don’t have the discipline to work with a suggested color.

  11. Barbara S. says:

    Well, lately I have been seeing green grass hide my dog whenever she goes out, because our green John Deere isn’t working properly like the one in your picture. As soon as the proper needles get here and I finish at least one thing, I am casting on the green lace-weight (or maybe cobweb?)shawl with copper beads.

  12. StarSpry says:

    I love seeing all the green in nature! Especially now that all the leaves have come out and the flowers are blooming 🙂

  13. Green is one of my favs, so you can find it all over the place. In addtion to the house and yarn greens, the near constant rain lately (today included) is keeping the landscape green longer than usual too. Go you…if you’re actually gonna finish something.

  14. Amy Darsie says:

    What a wonderful color for that roving!!! I can’t wait to see what it looks like!

    I just finished a pair of socks for my Mom in green.

  15. Mr. Puffy says:

    Great shot of Mugsy and the Knight! How time passes. It’s only now that I can think about missing Mr. Puffy and I miss him the most when we are in San Clemente because we took so many walks there and now I walk alone.

    Whoops!!! I should have waited a day and then my socks would have been perfect – LOL I don’t see green enough these days. When am I going to have a payday – that’s what I want to know!!!!

  16. Walden121 says:

    I agree that the merino fiber is a beautiful color!

Leave a Reply

