Strawberry Whine

Where is the perky-stoopid me who posted Friday?  Not here.  It’s a Monday.  You know what… just hold on.  I’m going to make a cup of coffee.  Yes, coffee.  See… there’s just something about the smell of coffee…  When I REALLY need a jolt, it will clear the brain fog better than even a brisk, black tea.

Ah, for the love of Keurig…  Louise tells us was Gingerbread Day, so I’m now sipping – and smelling – gingerbread coffee.  

Just like that, I’m recalibrated.   Whoda’ thunkit? 

Now, about that finished object report…

DSC01316The project name is too long to be helpful.  What you really need to know – in case you’re a new reader or missed 27 posts – is I used to knit non-stop, but over the past year, my Mojo left, and for the past few months, I’ve had NONE.   I saw Project Spectrum (not just a knitting thing, so click over!), and decided it could get me knitting again, and just in time, it did. 

In the meantime, Wendy Knits and several enablers had a knit-along.   I simply couldn’t find a yarn that suited me.  Finally, the red koigu Crimson Purl (just married!!  hop over and wish the newlyweds well, will you?) screamed at me; I didn’t waste a moment.  I wound it into cakes and cast on.

So, here are the details:

Ravelry project page

photo

Unblocked

Pattern – that’s the link for the first clue, but there are a total of five clues, including a set-up page not included in that linkEdit – Link has been changed to the general Mystery Shawlette category, so all posts should show up.  It was exceptionally well-written; I’m a chart gal, but I wholly appreciate a designer who does charts an words, because I know many knitters who simply can’t function happily with charts.   

It’s just a grand little pattern, and in case you can’t tell, it’s strawberries in lace!

photo

Blocked lace

Yarn:  I was so happy to discover that I have some blue Koigu left in my stash.  It’s a great fingering weight yarn with the perfect blend of soft, sproing and color.   I totally lucked out that I grabbed red for a pattern than had strawberries in the lace!

Needles:  My beloved Addi Clicks…  I cast on with #7s, and immediately switched to #5 tips for the real knitting.  I lurvers my Clicks, but my #5s did have that infamous rough edge some of you have cursed.

photo

Finished!

Verdict:  My Mojo is back.  What more do you need to know?!

How was your weekend?

21 comments on “Strawberry Whine

  1. Nichole says:

    LOVE it……. love, love, love!
    Still working on finding my mojo…

  2. beautiful shawl and my favorite color and one of my favorite yarns, i have a stash of multicolored Koigu to make into one huge shawl at some point, its 12 different shades and i plan to use them all in one shawl!

    BTW Lipton’s Black Pearl tea wipes out the cobwebs for me when I am in the fog!

  3. PS everytime I try to download the pdf about the cast on info it comes up error–page not found, can you send me that info!!! Thanks so much

  4. Bridget says:

    That is beautiful! I may have to try the pattern …

  5. Kathy says:

    Beautiful! You do fantastic lace! What a great color!

  6. Mary says:

    Pretty. Mojo still missing in MD.

    With your opening line I was gonna start this out with the first line of a simon and garfunkel tune…but thought the better of it. Nothing terribly exciting to report for weekend activity. How was Sissy’s visit?

  7. Okay….coffee Does SMELL wonderful, but it loses something in the actual taste dept…A nice cuppa strong Breakfast Tea is much more to the point. Oh, and your Keurig can do that! 🙂
    Love your Strawberries and hoping the mojo is back to stay.

  8. Sue says:

    Welcome back Mojo! It’s very hot here, we went from winter snow to tornadoes and floods to mid summer. This is not my idea of a perfect Spring. Anyway, since we’re all stuck inside in the coolness, I’ve been busy on my special project. I hope to have some pictures in the next couple days.

    Love the red shawl! I’d wear it with everything.

  9. AlisonHyde says:

    Oh wow, cool, beautiful! Definitely strawberry colors. Can you just smell them in the warm sun, waiting to be picked. You picked a great project!

  10. gMarie says:

    Beautiful – mine doesn’t read strawberries, but then it’s not red. I love that this got the ‘juices’ flowing – so to speak. 🙂 g

  11. Bonnie says:

    OMG! That is fabulously beautiful!! Love the color!

  12. Marjie says:

    That’s really pretty! It should bring your mojo back! And don’t you want some real strawberries no? I do!

  13. kathy b says:

    I am so so so sos delighted your mojo is back. I love to hear how happy you arein your posts when you post about the dogs and your knitting!!! YIPPEE

  14. Amy says:

    That shawl pattern is going on my queue asap! I love it, and yours turned out to be stunning!

  15. Kristyn says:

    The shawl is gorgeous!

  16. Terrie says:

    Beautiful shawl! I’m glad your knitting mojo came back 🙂

  17. Anita says:

    Man, when you get your mojo back, it really comes back in a hurry! 🙂 Gorgeous shawl & what a lovely pattern. You & your mojo did a wonderful job of it.

  18. Blond Duck says:

    I’m glad it’s back!

  19. Kathy says:

    The pattern, the yarn, the mojo, it all came together to create something just simply beautiful

  20. Bubblesknits says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous!!! I love a good red. : ) And I’m so happy your mojo is back. Ours must have been off galavanting together, since mine seems to have returned about the same time. ; )

Leave a Reply

