Knock knock?

…  Who’s there?

Orange.

Orange who?

Orange you glad you stopped hating orange?

photo

Some of you who have been following this blog for years remember when I didn’t like purple, not one bit.  Then, this sweet, silly, wild hound came into our lives, and the Knight announced she would wear purple.

DSCN0896

The little Princess in ROYAL purple, 1-2008

Scratch that.  The Knight BOUGHT her that first purple collar, I put “Princess” in her registered name, and I’m wondering now why I’m so shocked she grew up to be such a DIVA, whose fans have taken to calling her The Queen and/or Queenie.  Hem.  Ever heard the expression “created your own monster”?

But back to orange.  I’ve hated orange since 7th grade, when I landed at Taylor Junior High.  We were the Taylor Tigers, and there’s nothing like making a tween girl wearing black and orange every day in gym to make her loathe a color.  However, time heals.  After 12 years of dissing navy because I had to wear it at work, no questions asked, I love navy again too.

See a pattern here?  Yeah.  Me too.  I don’t hate any color; I just get overdosed sometimes and push away.  However, I’ve found so much orange – tangerine, tomato red, coral, rust, whatever you want to call it – in my wardrobe that it’s time to have one of those intervention-like moments.

Hi.  My name is Chan, and I like orange.

photo

It seems I even like orange with school bus yellow and black, at least in my flowers.

I’ve been known for being flickle since my teens, so all I can do is laugh at myself.   Have you swapped sides on any given color?

 

17 comments on “Knock knock?

  1. gMarie says:

    All the freakin’ time! Those daylillies are fabulous. I love lillies.

    Colors – I have always tended to love pastels and soft colors and not so much the deeper, darker shades. I also say I never wear green – and we know that isn’t true. Other than that – got nothin’

    quite rebelling 🙂 g

  2. Nichole says:

    Welcome back to the orange side…… 😉
    And yes, I go thru color spurts too…

  3. Mary says:

    llbean has a sale on a pair of coral-colored wedged sandals. Just saying.

    http://www.llbean.com/llb/shop/69323?feat=6715-CL2

    Also in sable metallic.

    I know. I. am. the. enabler.

  4. Kathy says:

    Oh my gosh…you like orange now? So what color is off your list? lol
    I’ve switched my hate on green. Never liked green my entire life and now it’s one of my faves. Same with grey which is a ‘color’ (if you want to call it that) I now can’t get enough of it.

  5. Kathy says:

    Those day lillies are beautiful. Are they in your yard?

    This spring I bought a pair of orange Tod’s driving shoes (like moccasins with the little nubbies on the bottom). I’ve been wearing them a lot.

  6. Not really—I don’t like pastels or white, and haven’t grown to love them at all! maybe someday!

  7. AlisonHyde says:

    Vivid orange has never been my color. When my skin changed color on chemo, I could actually wear coral for the first time. But vivid ones–nope. Ain’t gonna happen. I do admire them on others, though.

  8. Amy says:

    Knitting and spinning has helped me come to appreciate color more, especially the ones that I may have shunned. Like orange, yellow, and some shades of green, I am starting to appreciate them more and more.

  9. Marjie says:

    Orange doesn’t do a thing for me. I feel like it clashes with my hair. I’ve always loved the same colors, although I like yellow more now than I did years ago. At least I’m not like my blond daughter who claims yellow and beige make her look washed out, so she won’t even wear a gorgeous long tan leather coat I bought her.

  10. Barbara says:

    Go for it kiddo. I used to have bittersweet walls in my living room!

  11. In general, I would say I don’t “like” orange either…but lately there have been several new shades seen in clothing that ‘work’ for me. As to a color switch…I think I would have used to say I didn’t like/wear brown. Last few years…been loving it!

  12. kathy b says:

    This
    is a good and funny question. I always said I hated green, until…I realized my entire house was decorated with greens! HAH AHAHA HHHAAA last laugh and all that! I now love green and even wear it!

    My favorite all time color is blue though and that has never changed. I have always disliked true shades of primary colors. I love all grey shades of color though….
    grey blue, grey green,
    what ? grey orange?? What is that????

  13. Sue says:

    Yeah!! I’m glad orange won you over.

  14. Anita says:

    Baaahaaaahaaaa! I can’t believe I just read that! 😛 Silly girl. See, we knew you liked orange even if you wouldn’t admit it. he he

    Squeeeee! Baby Sissymonster! LOVE it! 🙂

  15. Louise says:

    Love the Daylilies, Chan.

    I’m past the point of “hating” any colors these days. Orange was a favorite of mine during the 70s. These days I’ve been hooked on all things purple, lavender and lilac.

  16. Walden121 says:

    Welcome to the orange club, we greet you with open arms! I’ve never really been a fan of pink, it’s just to girly for me, but I am finding in certain situation it looks good.

  17. Bubblesknits says:

    Pink. I used to *loathe* pink when I was in high school. It was silly and froo-froo and those were not things I wanted associated with me. I liked mud and softball and blue jeans…I did not like silly girls who decorated all their pink things with bedazzlers and drew hearts above their “i’s” and “j’s”. LOL Now I love the color pink. I guess the change really came about when I realized wearing a certain color didn’t define me and that it actually looked quite nice with my coloring. I guess they’re right about “with age comes wisdom”. LOL

Leave a Reply

