31 – and holding

Remember when I went to that 31 party?  Well, I got my stuff a few days/weeks ago, and thought I’d share with you.

The main goal here was to get me a wristlet wallet so I could just grab my essentials – driver’s license, cash, cards, lip balm, iPhone and keys – and go.  I bought two options, both of which I was assured by friends would work with the iPhone, even in the OtterBox case.

Hem.  Riiiight.  I don’t use the OtterBox case daily, but there’s no way.  I don’t always get a chance to call the Chief (aka: the Knight) back, so missing a call while I wrestle the iPhone from its pocket isn’t an option.  I also had a snafu with “pocket dialing” a friend’s mom before I learned how to lock the keypad on my Blackberry years ago, so the fit has to be just right.

photo

Mini on the go organizer

This little – I mean LITTLE – thang went to live with MJ imediately.  I love the layout, but the iPhone was a TIGHT fit.  Her little flip phone is very happy in there though, along with her lipstick and that essential key fob with all the perks cards…  (Note to self:  that and your checkbook need to move into your handbag!)

photo

Interior of mini wristlet, with MJ's goodies inside

photo

Wristlet Wallet exterior

I kept and am trying to use the Wristlet Wallet.  I say trying, because in a second, I’ll show you the two-sided zip-around that is annoying as can be for me.  I like the outer pocket for my iPhone, and as you can see, the OtterBox fits in there slick as a whistle.  It won’t last long though, because the first time I have to show my ID for something, I’ll go buy a new wallet; I don’t believe in physically handing my ID or wallet over.  If the cashier can’t see it with a glance, it’s not a good set-up.

photo

Interior

As you can see, only my Burt’s Bees lip balm is living in there.  I got caught today without my checkbook AND without my wad of shopper tags, so clearly, I’m in transition and that isn’t ideal either.

I like the idea of 31.  The products are purdy, but I think these were two misses.  I’m glad MJ liked the little one, but I’m still searching for that perfect big wallet or wristlet that will do it all for me.

What say you?

This entry was posted in Bags.

15 comments on “31 – and holding

  1. Bubblesknits says:

    I think their stuff is pretty, too. However the prices are a little steep for me. I don’t mind buying a Vera product now and then, but they last forever. I’ve seen the 31 lunch tote after about 6 months use and I wasn’t impressed.

  2. Kathy says:

    Too bad these aren’t working out because they sure are cute.

  3. StarSpry says:

    What a bummer those aren’t working for you! I have the same problem. I’ll get something I think I like, but there’s that 1 little thing that makes it unusable. Or at least really annoying!

  4. still waiting for my 31 bag—not the companies fault but the lady who had the party

    I hope I get it soon and I won’t be ordering again soon I’d rather hit my Vera sales!

  5. AlisonHyde says:

    Still looking for the perfect wallet; the one I just bought isn’t quite doing it. Good luck!

  6. Sue says:

    Bummer. I haven’t found the right place to carry my cell either. It’s so annoying to miss a call because I’m trying to get the phone out of some tight place. I usually wind up with it in my pocket.

  7. km says:

    Boo. It’s hard to find something with the right fit. My MIL picked this bag out for me for my birthday. http://www.zappos.com/brighton-twister-go-go-pouch-sterling

    I L.O.V.E. it!!! There are 3 pockets on the front. One for my phone and a pack of gum. One little one holds ricola throat drops. And the other little one has just a hand wipe that I picked up at a restaurant (never know when I’ll need that.) There’s a little zippered pocket on the back where I have emergency feminine things. Inside there’s a coated pocket for cosmetics (so if something spills or leaks it doesn’t get all over) an that’s big enough for my inhaler and my epi-pen plus some lipgloss. That divides the main bag into 2 parts. One side has places for cards and money. And I can’t remember what’s in the other part. I wasn’t sure about someone else picking out a bag for me…but this is perfect and I love it.

    I do know you don’t wear your strap across your chest, but you can shorten it. I do like to wear a bag messenger style.

    Oh…and I tried on the dress. It was too short. I did find a few other things I was interested in…in about 10# though. I’d never been into a DB and I will say I’m going to go back.

  8. Well….darn! I still think a small cross-body might be closer to what you need…Love the one km linked above, although I nearly chocked when I saw the price..!!

  9. Mary says:

    Have not found one small item that holds what I need. Used the Vera wristlet when I had a flip phone, but even that didn’t work very well. The fact is that when you need to carry a smartphone, reading glasses, keys, money…etc, etc, most wristlets aren’t going to cut it…the reading glasses tend to make it less doable. I keep money and cards, including driver’s license, in a small, two-sided coin purse I bought in UK. I don’t carry a checkbook.

  10. Jessica says:

    i like the idea of a wristlet, but it is just not for me. I cram so much stuff into my purse. And since i am so resistant to smartphones, i have a lot of gear. :o)
    the ones you got are so cute though…i am sorry that it didnt work out as you had planned/hoped.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I’m sorry it’s not working!

  12. gMarie says:

    The elusive perfect purse. Does such an animal really exist? I just bought a new wallet – I think in a pinch my phone would fit in it. It’s orange and looks like a slimmer version of an evening clutch. I love it.

    I think – you might have to take up sewing – or commission having one made to have it fully meet your specs. And no – I’m not offering, that fun Summer Dress still isn’t finished. boo. g

  13. Nichole says:

    They are purty… but TOO small never cuts it. hmpf. Glad MJ was able to use the cute little one so well!

  14. Anita says:

    I think those are really cute but all my crap would never fit in there. LOL. I carry a bunch of stuff in my wallet & in my bag. 🙂 You know that…

  15. Kathy says:

    Too bad they didn’t work for you but it’s nice to find someone that can use them. Purdy tho.

Leave a Reply

