PVC for me

I’m always amazed when PVC turns up in something other than pipe, because in my real life, PVC is king.  It’s what holds most of the wells we (and I use that word VERY loosely) drill open, and it’s sometimes what holds the pump in the (water) well. 

photoSo I found it ironic and entertaining when I bought this Christian Livingston bag in PVC…  No, I didn’t buy it from the site I linked to, but I honestly can’t tell you where it did come from.  I’ve developed a rather nasty habit of shopping all sorts of discount fashion sites, and one of them introduced me to the brand and bag and on a whim, it came to the woods.

(Color on the website is more accurate; it’s a little too grassy/vivid in my photo… wish it was so!!)

I’ve discovered to my GREAT surprise that I like the rather FLAT bag.  Upon further contemplation – because that’s what I do…  if you haven’t figured out that I analysis the daylights out of everything, then you’re not really reading my posts, are you?! – I realized that some of the bags I’ve carried the longest have been similar. 

DSC01232Remember Soi?  It was my first Vera Frill bag, and I carried it for months – which for me is quite a feat.   It was too deep to really be a perfect bag, but that didn’t stop me from carrying it, and I got so many compliments on it! 

I’m beating a dead horse.  Move on if you’re a regular reader, don’t care about bags, or if you find yourself reciting my plea as you read.

Vera has totally missed the mark by marketing Frill to tweens and young teens.   I’m finally getting over myself and understand that parents buy their kiddos iPhones, iPads and designer bags, so I’m not even going to touch that part of my Vera gripe.  (I do confess that if I had a little girl, she’d be decked out in Lilly P until she was old enough to revolt and refuse to wear anything that wasn’t in an earth-tone…) 

April 2011 004Anyway.  Teens don’t need vinyl coated bags nearly as much as moms and dog-mas.  I was a tomboy, and I STILL don’t EVER recall ruining a handbag, or even a frock.  However, let’s talk Sissy…

Yeah, that’s a BOX, but just last night, her nose was deeper into my handbag, even though it was sitting on the back of the loveseat!  And no, Gretchen’s prim and proper little nose isn’t a problem.  It has never ventured into my handbag that I know of, and if you don’t know bassets, Sissy’s nose isn’t REALLY the problem.  It’s her mouth and the ribbons of drool that often hang around the edges.

Anyway, what Soi has right is the vinyl, the happy colors, the patent leather trim, and the magnetic closure.  I don’t like flaps and strappy closures; I like to be able to quickly grab my cell phone when it’s ringing, remember?  There is another tote in the Frill line-up this season, but I don’t love it. 

Oh well…  That’s enough bag rambling for this week.   For now, I’m carrying the green thing, but I don’t love it and it has a zipper top.  I do like the flat, wider strap though…

This entry was posted in Bags.

12 comments on “PVC for me

  1. Nichole says:

    The “green thing” is very pretty… is it too big for your every day needs? I still need to switch to the Vera I bought on mark-down for the summer…

  2. gMarie says:

    I love that new bag in the Frill line. It think it’s cute and I love the way they have the pattern divided. The green bag is also pretty.

    In our house we call those shoestrings 🙂 g

  3. AlisonHyde says:

    If I were still lugging babies around that green one (maybe in the blue or pink) would be just the thing for me. I do like that style.

  4. Bubblesknits says:

    You and your bags. lol Did you ever get by a store that carried those that I sent you a link about? I was curious if they were as nice in person as they looked on the site.

  5. Sue says:

    OK, Lady, it’s time to either dig out your sewing machine and learn to make bags, or make friends with someone who does make bags. You do know exactly what you want and need in a bag, but designers aren’t putting all the parts together in one bag. The solution is to do it yourself.

    I’m right there with you. Each of my bags has something about it that I love, but none have all the things in one place. Frustrating.

  6. Amy says:

    I’m not a fan of PVC, but that green bag is fantastic!!!

  7. Mr. Puffy says:

    I’m waiting for you to discover “the perfect” handbag – LOL One of these days I might treat myself to a dooney and burke bag but can’t justify it right now as I never leave the house!

  8. Marjie says:

    So, you have a much smaller drool-generator than I do. Hmmm. And people wonder why I insist on wash-and-wear, and vinyl, wipe-clean stuff. I do like that green color!

  9. Louise says:

    So, since we’re on the subject, what is the proper way to address the pocket books issue? The words pocket book use to flow from my mouth with the ease of grabbing your cell in a moments notice. However, lately I find myself fumbling between purse, bag, and pocket book. Where have I gone wrong? Birthdays have a way of surfacing these kinds of questions especially when we’re talking PVC somethings!!!

  10. LOL…you and your bags! I know my grrls don’t drool, but then, I also don’t expect them to be messing with my bag…at all! Your back wants you to carry a smaller bag, remember? Your tote only has to be good enough to sit in the car, or office, or house….:-) Oooh…I’m gonna get it now.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    You’re like the bag detective!

  12. Anita says:

    I like the looks of that last bag, pretty. I’d like to get a look at it in person. 🙂

Leave a Reply

