I’m Still Standing

(You should be humming Elton John’s I’m Still Standing…)

It was that kind of weekend.  Friday night, I stayed at the firehouse until the bottom of the 11th and then raced home to watch UVA finally give it up in the 13th.  It was a good game and I’m really proud of them, but geeze I wanted to see them in the College World Series. 

photo

Might I distract you with pretty flowers that the deer ate the morning after this photo was taken?

That meant I was running on empty for the JLC board retreat on Saturday.  Add in a very long wait for a travel box of Starbucks, and it wasn’t a good start to the day, but we had a good meeting anyway.  I’m very excited about the upcoming year and the women on the board.

It went downhill from there.  I started feeling AWFUL Saturday evening, and really felt rough yesterday, but we made it to Tappahannock to celebrate one of the Knight’s relation’s 85th birthday.  We finished the day off with dinner at Lowery’s with the Knight’s brother and his family, and then made our way home. 

I’m feeling better today, but not great.  I think it was a bug of some sort, because the new League president didn’t feel so hot yesterday either.  Hope your weekend was better!

10 comments on “I’m Still Standing

  1. Mary says:

    Yikes. Hope you feel better soon. Maybe it was something you guys ate? Weekend was busier than normal for me…met up with friend in Annapolis on Sat and then had to work all day Sunday (will take a comp day sometime…). Ty-red, as my GD use to say.

  2. gMarie says:

    Ewww – I’m sorry. I hope you aren’t getting sick. Do you at least get knitting time on the drive? g

  3. Sue says:

    Don’t you hate rushing around, especially when you aren’t feeling at your best?

  4. Sounds like a difficult and somewhat disappointing weekend…May your week go much better, and the b-day weekend comin up be the BEST!

  5. Kathy says:

    Hope you continue to feel better! I hate to be sick on my time off, whether it’s a weekend, holiday, or whatever.

  6. Amy says:

    Getting sick … well, it sucks. I spent my weekend nauseated and having hot flashes, thus not sleeping well. But I did manage to clean the house and move furniture around with the help of my husband and parents. The only bad part was when my Dad and John both stepped in dog poo from our neighbor not cleaning up for her dogs, and tracked it in the house.

  7. kathy b says:

    I am so sorry you had plans and were feeling so yucky. Glad it passed quickly. Lots of bugs out there…

  8. Kathy says:

    Well I’m glad to hear you’re feeling a little better. Here’s hoping you have a better upcoming weekend :).

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    Sorry you felt bad this weekend! I hope those were some tasty flowers, because they sure were pretty!

  10. Nichole says:

    Hope you’re feeling better and I glad to hear you’re feeding the local deer population. 😉

Leave a Reply

