Blessed – AM!

Any other Charmed fans catch the “Blessed be” reference? 

Basset boy messenger

I am quite blessed, especially by my bloggy friends.  A special thanks goes out to Khyra and her mom for honoring me as a furry special dog mom!  To the left is the very visually challenged senior basset who made sure Khyra’s mom knew the idea to honor me (along with a few other special dog moms) was spot-on.   One or two of you know I’m a firm believer that there are no coincidences, so of course there was a visually impaired basset as a sign!

photoMy whole weekend, starting Friday, was like that.   We’ll actually start with Tuesday, which was when we went to dinner with my inlaws and my sister and her hubby to celebrate my birthday.  Some of you know that the Knight isn’t much on flowers, so when he offered to buy the roses I was admiring at Sam’s Club, I jumped on it.

Why yes, there is a little brown head at the bottom.  If you haven’t noticed, it’s nearly impossible for me to take a photo of roses without Gretchen Greer’s help.  (Why yes, I could take photos from a raised position, but I’m short and like to view blooming roses from the top!)

photoNow you can imagine my surprise when MORE flowers arrived on Friday at work, also from the Knight!  Clearly, he was listening when I explained Tuesday that while I get his point that cut flowers are “already dead” when purchased, *I* like them very much!

I think he even figured out that I love lilies.  Big, big brownie points!  

But he’s not the only person in my life being perceptive…  Two of my bloggy friends sent bags to help me on my search for the right small bag for me…

July 2011 002

Olivia, the bag & Petunia, the stuffie

Grace sent me Olivia and Petunia.  Sadly, Olivia is no longer available from Vera online, but you can check your local stores…   I’m more than a little taken with Petunia!  I adore all the little touches, including her heart!  (Hem.)

July 2011 003

Ruth has been one of you lobbying for me to consider a crossbody style bag, so she sent me one for my birthday.  I gave it a whirl over the weekend, and it works far better than I thought ANY crossbody would.

July 2011 004

I still haven’t sorted out what to do with the long strap when I drop the bag into a tote.  Yeah, the obvious solution is to wrap it around the bag, but then I’ve restricted access to my phone…  Is anyone else using a small crossbody in a tote?  If so, what do YOU do so the strap doesn’t pull out 27 other things when you make a quick grab?

Thanks so, so much ladies!  Thanks too to all the friends who helped make my birthday special with emails, Facebook messages, cards, calls, texts… 

There’s more to share, but that’ll have to wait for another post!

 

22 comments on “Blessed – AM!

  1. AlisonHyde says:

    Cool! Happy Birthday and kudos to the Knight and everybody else!

  2. Nichole says:

    Wonderful birthday goodies… and beautiful flowers!!!!!!!

  3. gMarie says:

    So glad you had a lovely birthday. I’m planning to get a box out this weekend. Love that little bag from Ruth – it’s adorable and the stuffie – how fun! g

  4. Marjie says:

    Looks like a great weekend! Glad you had a good start to the birthday month!

  5. Sue says:

    How neat that you have a four day birthday weekend. I love the Vera bag and the little monster is so cute, too.
    Sue

  6. Julie says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!!! We were busy celebrating Husband’s day here, too. Happy, happy! (We celebrate all month. Last month was mine, this month is his, next our anniversary)!

  7. What awesome Birthday goodies love the Roses and especially the Lilies a Fav of mine and Petunia and Vera bag are so lovely and the smaller one I think of as a satchel style I tend to carry big knitting bags even though I really should just take one small project when going out to knit in public.lol ((((Hugs))))Darcy

  8. Ruth says:

    Go Knight! Love your flowers and the cute little brown head. Glad the bag is good-ish for you. I can’t answer the strap question, because it doesn’t seem to be a problem for me….I dropped my little bag with the long strap into my tote a lot recently and had no issues….

  9. I tie a knot in the strap. A loose knot.

  10. Khyra's Mom says:

    What a great collection of pressies!

    I’m a flower fan too – so I understand!

    Khyra and I are glad you liked the handsome fella and his sign!

    You are a special Dog Mom!

    Happy Gotcha Day Plus Four 😉

  11. glad your birthday was a happy one!!!

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    Lovely gifts! Petunia is most awesome. 😀

  13. Terrie says:

    The flowers are beautiful! What fun gifts you received. Love the monster 🙂

  14. Barbara says:

    So pleased you had such a fun birthday, Chan. Filled with flowers, gifts from friends and your fur girls!
    Petunia is so adorable!

  15. Mary says:

    Happy you had a nice weekend and that it was filled with flowers….always a good thing. Presents weren’t a bad touch either!

  16. kathy b says:

    Grace is such a doll! I love your gifts one and all. WHy do men think flowers are a waste?? That is why they are amazing….
    happy happy week.

  17. SusanB-knits says:

    Happy belated birthday! Nice presents! Petunia is very cute!

  18. Nancy says:

    How wonderful to receive two bouquets of flowers on your birthday. I’d say Knight is tuned in to your wishes. Thanks for the link to Vera online. I have a Versailles bag and wallet and love them.

  19. Kathy says:

    I’m showing the flower post to EP tonite…hrmph! Ya know? The one who forgot the anniversary?

    Your goodies are especially nice. Enjoy!

  20. Amy says:

    I’m so glad that you had a good birthday! You are a wonderful, lovely person and deserve all of it!!!

  21. Knitting It Out says:

    I quite like the flowers and the yellow purse. Happy birthday, my friend! I am – as per usual – slightly behind in my blog reading.

  22. Walden121 says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! Glad it sounds like you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

