Pinkadilly Tea

Whew.  I’d forgotten what it was like to actually have to WORK at work.  So much for getting posts up first thing in the morning!  If this continues, I might be forced to pre-post from home in the evenings.  I do realize many of you already do that, but…

Anyway, I believe I left you last with the promise of another post about Sunday’s Knit ‘n Tea, by Doghouse Yarns.   No disrespect to the Knight, our dinner companions or anyone else, but this truly was the highlight of my birth-4th weekend.

I meant to take photos, but as so often happens, I got caught up in the moment and lacked the discipline to step back, snap a few photos for you and then go back to enjoying it.   Luckily, Pinkadilly Tea at Smythe’s Cottage happened to have a little four-topper set up much like our tables…

Photo courtesy of Pinkadilly Tea's site

July 2011 013The food was fabulous.  The company was delightful, and the teas were delicious.  We started with their Cream Earl Gray, and then they also served the Hazelnut Vanilla and an herbal … angel something that I don’t see on the menu.  It was red and naturally sweet…  I bought some of that and their key lime tea of the month, which I don’t see on the menu either.  Their tins are cute though!  Too bad the names are taped to the bottom…  Hem.

Knowing Rosanne’s – the proprietor of Doghouse Yarns – knowledge and love of tea AND her charming hostess abilities, I was anticipating a great afternoon and I was not disappointed.  I won one of the prizes donated by Blue Ridge Yarns, from their  All American Colors collection.   I think it wants to be a shawl, don’t you?  Yeah, it would make festive socks, but I love navy, white and red…  Any suggestions?

July 2011 010

Isn’t the tag (the foot) cute too?!

July 2011 006Rosanne also honored each of the FOUR women (out of twenty guests!) having a birthday this week with a special gift.  I received the Get Your Knits bag, which is my passport to the program for 2011.  You can read more about the program by clicking on the link above…  I’m hoping to find a way to visit a few of the other participating shops this month.

(I apologize for photo quality.  For some reason, Flickr doesn’t care to save my edited photos today.  Hrmph.)

 
July 2011 008

Also included in the price of admission was a tea cozy pattern and our choice of yarn.  I selected this pretty, pale heathered green because it will go with all of my tea pots AND look good in any room of my house.

July 2011 007Lastly, a yarn tasting was also on the menu.  There are seven small balls of yarn there, in a great patriotic theme.  Also included was a pattern for little gift bags, so no silly swatching here;  I’ll be using the samples to actually MAKE something!  (Three or four somethings, actually…)

My first tea in a tea shop only left me wanting another visit, back to Pinkadilly (wonder if they ever do doggie events?  Gg would have a BALL and could wear her PANK dress…) and more visits to other tea shops.  Is there an honest-to-goodness tea house near you?

Oh – and the show & tell was awesome too.  I really do apologize for the lack of photos…  You’ll just have to join me next time!

16 comments on “Pinkadilly Tea

  1. Nichole says:

    What FUN that sounds like… and look at all the goodies you came away with. Sounds like an event I’d LOVE too… and oh yes, doggies and tea? Sign me up!

  2. Sue says:

    Love the girls checking out the goodies. Isn’t it nice that they take such an interest in our activities? I found a tea cozy that I like though I can’t imagine actually using a tea cozy. Maybe I’ll just store my teapot inside it when not in use.

    A red, white and blue shawl sounds interesting. Any pattern in mind?

  3. Amy says:

    Cream Earl Grey? That sounds delish! I’ll have to remember that, for the next time I come down that way!

  4. Kathy says:

    What a fun event! You got lots of nice goodies too.

  5. Louise says:

    Perfect, just perfect, Channon. It sure sounds like it was a wonderful way to spend your day.

    Thanks for sharing…

  6. gMarie says:

    Now I’m going to have to look for a tea house. The only thing missing was Theo – what did they serve besides tea? Was there food? What are the different yarns samples of?

    Looks like big fun. I’d love to come along next time. g

  7. Marjie says:

    There’s a garden center near here owned by a British chap who sometimes runs a tea garden. Maybe I can drag my girls along the next time they’re all home and not busy. It looks like a wonderful day.

  8. Ruth says:

    Oh yay for a fun day! Lovely yarns and patterns and teas and goodies…really, what more could one ask for?

  9. barknknit says:

    That yarn is awesome!! I’m not sure what you should make out of it but I can’t wait to see it! 😉

  10. Terrie says:

    That sounds like so much fun! Very nice prize you won and other cool goodies you got on Sunday 🙂

  11. Barbara says:

    What fun! I love those adorable tea shops. One feels so very feminine while there. 🙂

    So…you’re one of those lucky ones who wins door prizes. Hmmm. I have a friend who wins ALL the time…one day won 2 at one luncheon. I never win anything. 😦
    Anyway…how lovely are those yarns? Such nice deep colors too. A shawl does sound nice and maybe socks for the Knight?

    I adore those tea cozies. You could make a mug cozy to match. Koralee had one on her blog recently…Bluebird Notes. It was cute. Almost sent you the link.

  12. Sue hansen says:

    I wish so much to have attended the tea on Sunday. Alas I was returning back from Florida and missed it. Happy birthday Chan. Sorry it is late. Things just aren’t normal around here Still. Tomorrow is my birthday! Too bad I missed getting that spe ial gift from Roseanne!!! Anyway, have been following your posts! They keep me cheery!! Next time I come down on weekend to culpepper will let you know!! Sue

  13. Knitting It Out says:

    Such a lovely tea destination. I really love to have tea…especially at these types of quaint places. This is an activity that has been brought to my attention by my dear friend “Birdies Mama.”

  14. kathy b says:

    Okay I am totally jealous. BUT my Zachary works at Argo Tea in Lincoln Park . Do you have Argo Tea by you??? Mmmm, Zach loves Red Tea. It isnt a true tea you know…..
    I love the yarns…..the footprint is very workish for me . WE do footprints on a card after the first baby bath….
    I never post at the same time every day….my days are too different…
    ;o

  15. Kathy says:

    Oh the tea room is lovely and I’m glad you had a good time. The goodies are fab and I believe the patriotic colors would make a very nice shawl.

    Of course The Diva looks divine in the dishcloth 😉 and GG is a great sport.

Leave a Reply

