Colonial DIVA?

DSCN1614

My favorite photo of Daddy & me

Happy dogs on thursday, little friday, Thankful Thursday, Happy Birthday to a friend who isn’t really acknowledging the day, and a special nod to Daddy, who was also born on this day. 

Don’t bother clicking over to the girls’ blog unless you want to glance at the silly photo of Sissy.  It’s a rant, and one I wish I could just delete, but I can’t.  As the Dixie Chicks said, “I’m not ready to make nice/I’m not ready to back down.”  (Warning!   Lyrics aren’t G-rated.)

photoMoving on!  Luckily, Sissy remains silly and determined to keep me laughing.   Amy sent me some fab soap (did I tell her about the mulberry tree of my childhood?!), wrapped in the most sumptuous Blue Sky Cotton cloth. 

Hem.  Yes.  DIVA believed it was a hat for HER.  Sorry girl, even though sweet Amy said “Why, it’s a cloth!  Use it for Sissy if you want!”, I don’t wanna’.  It’s soft, I love brown, and it’s MINE, no matter how cute the DIVA looks using it as a dust cap.

I’m thankful not only for Amy’s sweet friendship, but for all of my friends who get it…  “It” being how much a part of my life and happiness these dogs are.  They ARE family, and I treasure each of you for understanding and honoring that.

photoGretchen reluctantly posed too, but honestly… if you’ve never had the pleasure of having a hand-knit cloth, they’re pretty weighty.   You might also recall that the wee princess does NOT care for headwear.  I thank her for being a good sport and humoring me.

Today’s also the day Vera Bradley’s four new fall colors hit the stores.  An awesome local friend had an email waiting in my inbox when I got to work, letting me know that QVC’s Today’s Special Value features the new colors… 

Just a quick word on each:

110707-fallcolors-safarisunsetSafari Sunset isn’t my favorite.  It might one that speaks to me in person though, especially in say… October, when it’s cooler and the leaves are flashing those very colors.  Still, I think the gold is truly too golden (as opposed to yellow, which I have recently made peace with), so don’t look for it to come to live with me.   However, it made my friend’s short list, and I can think of at least one of you likely to love it…

110707-fallcolors-happysnailsNext up is Happy Snails.  I want to love this pattern just because of the name.  I’ve always been fascinated by garden snails, and I love a good play on words.  I like the colors in this one, but I’m just not draw to it, not in the photos I’ve seen thus far.  As always though, I reserve the right to change my mind when/if I see it in person. 

Wouldn’t it have been a cute touch for them to have a snail in the print?

110707-fallcolors-plumpetalsOkay.  Plum Petals seems to be the early across-the-board favorite with the Vera peeps I’ve heard from already.  I confess, it’s on my short list, especially for Missy Sissy, in a small little cosmetic case or something for her new emergency eye drop.  I think part of the appeal for me is it seems brighter than the other two I’ve already discussed. 

Yeah, these are the new FALL colors, so maybe I’ll feel differently when I’m not sitting here in white capris, a baby blue golf shirt and sandals?  I’m betting Plum Petals has enough dark in it that I’ll still like it in November too.

110707-fallcolors-mocharougeYes, I saved what I consider to be the best for last.  Mocha Rouge isn’t quite as cute of a name as Happy Snails, and it lacks the alliteration of the other two – y’all know I am a sucker for alliteration, right? – but just the same, this tea drinker likes a good mocha once in a while.  I use the word “blush” instead of “rouge” but the colors…  What’s not to love?!   Gretchen will want a little bag to carry her travel anxiety treats in too…

I’m especially eager to see something in the Frill line.  I like the “complimentary” pattern and trim as well as the main floral.  A quick check of Vera’s site has me worried…  Frill is no longer listed as a “collection”.  Hmmm…  Anyone know what’s up with that?!

What are your favorites?  I’m lucky enough to have a discount code for my birthday FROM Vera online, so rest assured, something Mocha Rouge (at least?) will be coming to my house.

17 comments on “Colonial DIVA?

  1. barknknit says:

    Wow…I like all of those! But I think my favorite is the mocha one.

  2. AlisonHyde says:

    I so hope those kibble issues get worked out–and you have nothing to apologize for over that post.

  3. Ruth says:

    Oh yes, definately the Plum and Mocha for me. Little laugh…I kept reading it as “rogue” instead of “rouge”….suits me today!

  4. gMarie says:

    ::beautiful sun shiny days::the visible mountains::knitting friends::yarn::happy dogs::misty rainy days::a good book::

    Love the last two Vera colorways – I would have to flip a coin over my favorite. I love the all over pattern of the purple one but the colors in the mocha one. I hope they haven’t discontinued your Frill line – that would be so very sad. g

  5. gMarie says:

    I forgot to mention how adorable both girls looks with their little dust caps on. too sweet. g

  6. Sue says:

    I caught the QVC show this morning as I sipped my coffee and I had a hard time choosing between Happy Snails and Mocha Rouge. I really liked the Mocha, but each time I caught sight of the colorful snails I leaned toward it. I wound up not getting anything. Indecision!

  7. Marjie says:

    I like both of the last 2 patterns, but I lean toward pink, too.

    Love the pictures of the girls, ans Sissy’s picture on the other blog, too. Sorry the food issues are giving you grief. And, gee, who’d’a thunk a hooved creature was red meat? Hmph.

  8. Julie says:

    I saw a preview of the colors in June when I picked up my summer purse for my birthday at a VB store. I was very drawn to the Mocha Rouge. Will most likely buy a tote.

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    Hrm…I’m not really a fan of any of them this time around. le sigh I guess it was bound to happen eventually, right?

  10. Amy says:

    Okay – this post has totally made my day! I need to smile and laugh and the pictures of your babies have helped me do just that!

  11. Katherine says:

    They both look so beautiful in their hat! How could the girls not be part of the family? My Macy is our baby and she knows she is an important part of our lives, the way any “child” should! It amazes me that there are people who don’t understand that.

  12. Plum then Safari from me. Lovely hat for the doggie 😉 Happy birthday to your dad, what a lovely photo.

  13. Nichole says:

    If only I *needed* another bag, but I just bought another one from my friend/hairdresser/seamstress Jenn. I do like the 2nd and 4th Vera prints you posted though….. hmmm…

    Cute cloth and pics of the girls!

  14. SusanB-knits says:

    My favorite is Plum Petals then the Mocha one. 🙂

  15. Kristin says:

    I like the last pattern the best!

  16. Kathy says:

    hmmmm… which one? it’s a toss between the Happy Snails and the Mocha Rouge.

    Happy Birthday to your friend and of course your dad :).

    Ok, apparently I’ve mixed this post and yesterday’s so your getting a mix comment. Don’t seem to have my wee head on straight today 😉

  17. Anita says:

    Squeeee! Love the photos of the girls wearing the “hat”, he he. 🙂

    I hate to hear about the kibble issues again, sigh. Why are some people so stupid?

Leave a Reply

