Walk-walk Strike?

Happy dogs on thursday, little friday and thankful thursday!

photo

That ’bout says it all.  It’s too hot to do much of anything outside.  Never mind that the photo was taken Sunday, before the intense heat REALLY settled in.  The Queen (aka: DIVA or Sissy) was actually having a full-blown tantrum-pout in the middle of our little country road, because a favorite neighbor I don’t get to talk to very often stopped to chat.  Hem.  DO note both pairs of legs are crossed.  Maybe Gretchen’s decorum lessons are paying off?  (Doubtful, but…)

photo

Wee One isn’t any happier.  She doesn’t mind the heat much and is positively in a snit because walks were canceled yesterday (and don’t tell her, but they’re not looking good for today or tomorrow!).  At least she looks good while she’s pouting, thanks to a new banadana from blogless Mary.  You can see more cute fur-girlness on their blog.

November 2010 003

Even THIS gear is too hot for today!

Thankful?  I’m thankful for air conditioning.  I’m worried about my brother and sister firefighters; I hope the old rule of not suiting up for calls unless you’re first in is still holding true these days, in this heat.  I’m also worried about the Knight and all the others working out in the heat and sun…  As a local weather person says, “Check on the elderly, young and pets.” 

And girls, we’ll walk just as soon as it’s safe.  I promise.  I miss our walks too!

17 comments on “Walk-walk Strike?

  1. Tobi says:

    Sissy IS CRACKING me up!! Bluebonnet has stopped, but she’s never laid down during a walk. 🙂

  2. Mary says:

    I’m with Sissy…though I prefer to lay on my bed and not the road. In my neck of the woods, no one would stop; they would just roll right over me. And as tantrums go, Sissy showed a great deal of decorum–as one would expect of a queen. Gretchen, on the other hand, looks suitably southern in her sherbert shawl. (How is that for alliteration?)

  3. Right you are….heat is not to be easily dismissed…thought it is not unusual in the summer, I hear. 🙂 LOL…at Sissy…I’ve never had a dog lie down on a walk…even if I did stop.

  4. Susan says:

    I think that’s what a Southern would define as a “hissy fit”!!! 😉

  5. AlisonHyde says:

    You know, with that splotch in the road above her splayed-out ear you really had me worried a second there…

  6. Sue says:

    Here we go out morning and evening, but during the day it’s a quick run out for a pee and right back into the coolness.

    Sissy, I adore your attitude.

  7. Jessica says:

    Oh.My.doG!! that dog is sincerely too much! that has to be the cutest pic i have seen in a long time, and i have seen some pretty cute dang pics of your dogs!!!
    Not much of any outdoor activity in this place, except for jaunts in and out of the pool! the dogs really do not even seem to mind too much!!
    i miss having whole house AC, but i am VERY thankful to have it in the bedroom!

  8. Marjie says:

    My upstairs central air decided to have a hissy fit last night. Picture me outside tripping breakers at 3AM in dressing gown with flashlight. (And a replay at 6AM). I was not a happy camper. Tell the girls to stay inside, and not to be stupid about the heat!

  9. Nancy says:

    With this heat wave, I am getting up at 5:30 for my walks. The last three days it has been humid (it is rarely humid here) so my walks have been cut short. Maybe I should try Sissy’s method. ;oD

  10. kathy b says:

    Oh the little tantrum pose is tooo darn cute……adorable. I love it.
    HOw dare you talk to a neighbor…and the neighbor didn’t even grace her with a cookie while she waiting???tsk tsk

    time for those brain workouts in the house to make them tired…..long sit stays, etc. Find the toy…..run the stairs…..

  11. Barbara says:

    My Yorkie used to sit down outside in a snit and I couldn’t move him for anything. So annoying. The saving grace was he was so cute. If I pulled his lead, he’d stubbornly not get up and go along on his butt.

    Re the sales people: there are some stores where I want to yell out: HELLO!!!! All the sales people are in a corner talking and pay no attention. Oh well, we better get used to it. Their cutting back in the summer….or at least in Florida they do.

  12. Barbara says:

    Oops! They’re, not their! 🙂

  13. Terrie says:

    The poor girls! I hope it cools down so you can go for walks soon!

  14. Blond Duck says:

    When Bitty’s tired of walking, she dramatically falls over on the sidewalk.

  15. Nichole says:

    All I can say is UGH…….. I’d like to be at home with the dogs today and it’s far too hot to even THINK about doing anything! Happy Friday.

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    It’s definitely been hot. We’ve been about to melt down here. I’ve been trying to stay inside with the A/C going as much as possible. Anyone who has to work outside in this heat has my utmost sympathy.

  17. Dianne says:

    Love the crossed legs. Even in the middle of a pout, she is still a lady!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

