Nearer My Heart to Thee

Happy dogs on thursday, little friday and thankful thursday to you!  It’s been both a long week and yet it’s also passed me by a warp speed.  Can anyone else relate?  I’m rewarding myself with a  bangle, I do believe.   I think I’m going with that Joy charm and then will add a little dangly in Gretchen’s honor too.  Y’all are going to laugh, but I think I might go with the banana, because girlfriend (both dogs, really) LOVE nanners!  Of course, the frog could be cute too, because wee one would hunt them too if we’d let her.  (They’re poisonous, you know – seriously!)  I also like the oyster and pearl…

Oh yeah.  DOGS on Thursday.  Riiiight.  Sorry…  I digress…

But first, to lighten things up, pop over to the girls’ blog and see their silliness at my expense.

Isn't their beach logo awesome!?

Earlier this week, basically blogless Susan (why yes, that is a pathetic attempt to guilt her into blogging again, but I’m pretty sure she isn’t going to fall for that so I won’t even bother to link) introduced me to the Blind Dog Rescue Alliance.   We have been looking for YEARS for just the right rescue to REALLY support, and I think we’ve found it.  They have fabulous sponsor options, and it’s obviously a cause to which we relate. 

You see… (yes Alison, that pun’s for you!)  I learned this week that not all shelters are created equal, not even here in Virginia, which I feel is a reasonably pet-friendly (legally and otherwise) state.  I do realize there are needy shelters and rescues very near to me, and while we give a bit now and then, for reasons I can’t explain, they never captured our PASSION.  (Well… save one local friend’s pet charity passion…  I do look forward to the holiday open house pet food drive she hosts with her mom every year, but I’m digressing again.)

Anyhoo, I just had to share this special group/site with you.  Will you share your favorite charities (for pets, people or whatever else) with me too?

The thankful part is a little vague this week.  I’m thankful to live in an area known for its wealth – financial, charitable, knowledgeable and otherwise – but that also increases my sense of duty.  I grew up in a family where giving and serving the community was simply a way of life, and I married a Knight of a man who lives the same way.  It *IS* a blessing to have to juggle our schedules, but I’d bet money that we are the only combination of volunteer fire chief AND Junior League president-elect out there.

Are you thankful for things that are sometimes a burden too?

 

13 comments on “Nearer My Heart to Thee

  1. Mary says:

    What do mean you are getting a banana? What about CARROTS?

    And don’t get me started on things I am thankful for that are also a burden…

  2. AlisonHyde says:

    Oh amen. It took me a long time, but… I’m thankful for the lupus that made me grow up in ways I needed to. (Thanks, can I get rid of it now that I’ve learned all that?) I’m thankful my hearing started to go in my teens, which is the time in life like speech is for toddlers for learning to comprehend the emotions of others–so that I had to pay attention to how someone was saying something, the face, the stance, the tone of voice, since I was missing so many of the high-frequency consonants.

    And I am very very very thankful for state-of-the-art hearing aids!

  3. Anyone who has kids (or perhaps a spouse?) can attest to blessings and burdens sometimes being one and the same….just sayin….

  4. gMarie says:

    I can totally relate to the speed and length of this week. I’m exhausted. Went to bed with a headache and woke up with one. My tummy is a bit unsettled and I’ve got everything crossable crossed that my coworker didn’t share her germs before I sent her home.

    I love that little bangly charm bracelet and think the banana is adorable. I love the reasons behind getting it and no – did not know they were toxic – the peels or the entire plant?

    And yes – everyone’s life is full of burdonsome blessings. 🙂 g

  5. Marjie says:

    You deserve the new bangle, and more than one charm.

    Isn’t almost everything a blessing and a burden at the same time? I just do what I can and let the rest go. Just keep your stinkin’ fingers out of my dust, and it won’t bother anyone! I’ll get around to dusting, maybe next week…..

  6. Sue says:

    I have to agree with the others, a husband, big house and big pack of canines are all blessings and burdens at the same time. I also agree with Marjie, don’t expect spotless housecleaning. when you visit. There are dog toys all over the floors and dog hair tumbleweeds in corners. We have more important things to do than clean house such as playing ball and cuddling.

    I have several favorite animal charities that I’ll share anytime.

  7. Barbara says:

    Sissy is bigger than you are! Cute photos of you and the girls.
    Blessings and burdens do indeed go together. I don’t mind.

    A banana? There were so many I thought cute, bananas never entered my mind.
    Email coming soon…..

  8. Amy says:

    I think that you should go with the banana. It’s cute and fun!

    What a wonderful charity! I can tell that it means a lot to you, and they look like they are doing some wonderful work.

    I’m a supporter of local organizations, like C-CAP (food and support for the needy), as well as local food pantries. Not to mention the local ASPCA.

    Blue Ridge Hospice is especially dear to my heart, because the people that work for them are the salt of the earth. Both of my mother’s parents were on Hospice, my grandfather at their Hospice Center. I remember when he wasn’t eating, the nurse asked him what he like, if he could have anything. He told her KFC extra crispy chicken, and wouldn’t you know? That nurse went out and got it for him! They have a lot of volunteers there, making meals, spending time with the patients, and just doing really good work.

    I’m also a fan of The Fisher Center Foundation, because of their excellent Alzheimer’s research.

  9. Kristyn says:

    I am thankful every night while cleaning up the toy store that has exploded all over my living room that my son is healthy, happy and able to play and run around.

  10. Mr. Puffy says:

    Love the bangle and good luck choosing (you might need more than one!). I suppose I’m grateful to have the education and ability to do the type of work that I do but it is a burden to do it. Sorry, it’s hard for me to think of anything but work these days….

  11. Susan says:

    The bangle is adorable.

    And yes, I caught the not so subtle hint about blogging. I give it some thought was just about to do it, then my life “blew up” again. Maybe one day, I will certainly let you know IF it happens.
    Basically Blogless Susan 😉

  12. Kathy says:

    Can I say I’m bananas over the banana? ;). Very cute.

    Good to see you found a special charity to support.

    Now ’bout those burdens…I try my best to search for a blessing in every shoulder heavy burden.

  13. Blond Duck says:

    That sounds like a great group!

Leave a Reply

