I got smashed

No, not THAT kind of smashed…  Friday was my annual mammogram.  Seriously ladies… you do go regularly – unless you’re a darling youngster who doesn’t have THAT on her annual radar yet – right?  It’s no big deal.  Truly… it’s easier than the other annual STUFF. 

Let’s dispell a few myths.  If you have a good technician, it doesn’t hurt.  It’s like playing Twister on a vertical plane with said mammaries, but it’s not like shutting your finger in a car door or anything.  I got a paper cut Friday morning, and it was much, MUCH worse – I promise.  And if you don’t get a good technician?  Complain.  Refuse to see her again.  I’ve had the same gem two years running, and this year, shared my new dentist’s name with her. 

You CAN wear deodorant before your appointment.  They provide little wipes, and you wipe, wipe, and then if you don’t remember to pack your own toiletries, they have more wipes that supposedly offer deodorant protection for your getting dressed again use. 

It doesn’t take long.  I’m lucky that the new hospital is literally two stoplights from work, but check-in takes longer than the actual procedure.  Well, okay… so we got in trouble because the lady registering me went to high school with my inlaws and has a basset grand-dog…  But even if we hadn’t shared basset photos and she hadn’t given me the name of her daugther’s dog’s breeder, it would have taken longer to confirm that none of my information had changed since last year than to do the four awkward but not painful poses with the machine.

So, what did you do for fun over the weekend?

12 comments on “I got smashed

  1. AlisonHyde says:

    My mammogram is in three hours. I never understand people who are afraid of a moment’s pain and so don’t schedule one; after 21 years of lupus, the idea of being afraid of pain that you know will be very short and end very quickly and just be OVER rather than the rest of your life is something I truly do not understand anymore, though I’m sure I once did.

  2. Marjie says:

    I’m not good at the annual inspections and whatnot. I have enough trouble doing routine maintenance on a car, where I don’t have to sit through it.

    I’m trying to get ahead of the work I have for this week – and it’s very light, because we’re going back into recession – so I can fly to Florida at the end of the week. I am not pleased. Hope your week shapes up better than mine!

  3. I have not had a mammogram since 2000….no insurance and they surely aren’t cheap. I have looked into programs for the disadvantaged but I am always in that grey are, not enough to qualify and yet no money to pay.

    I hate that so many of my health problems are neglected because of the financial limitations created by our government and Big Business.

    I am glad you went and I support Breast Cancer Awareness every way I can!

  4. Kathy says:

    Great public service announcement!

    As for the “for fun” question, we saw the movie “Crazy, Stupid Love”. I highly recommend it.

  5. Sue says:

    I always think of it as a test to see how flexible I am. Put left hand here and right hand there and twist your head this way and your body that way!

    It was a quiet weekend trying to stay cool. This week is supposed to be even worse, around 106 and possibly higher. Dogs are bored.

  6. Amy says:

    I’m glad to hear that you get yours. I know so many women who don’t, not to mention no yearly ‘personal’ exam from a GYN. Preventive maintenance isn’t just for appliances.

    And no, I haven’t had a mammogram yet, but I think I’m still too young. I have had a colonoscopy though, which is I hear is worse. 🙂

  7. Hmph. Glad your personal situation with getting ‘smashed’ is so….nice? Easy? Short? I cannot report any of the same…Um, weekend fun? I went to a fabric store and used my Groupon for 50% of a $30 purchase…oh, and then a bit more. 🙂

  8. Blond Duck says:

    I haven’t had to go…yet!

  9. kathy b says:

    Mammos never bother me. Gyne exams do though.
    I usually go to my mammogram on my birthday to celebrate another healthy year~

  10. gMarie says:

    I schedule everything for one day in October. Dental, mamo, hysto – it’s big fun! Thankfully I don’t have to do any of the other really icky ones yet.

    My experience is usually like yours. Quick and relatively painless. g

  11. Kathy says:

    Good for you! I have a standing order to get all those tests but they’re gonna wait ;).
    My weekend? Busy. Bridal shower, birthday party and of course Mr. B’s antics which have yet to be blogged.

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    Good for you, getting your yearly smash! ((hugs)) You know my mama’s story, so I’m all about the smashing. 🙂 Although, we’re having another battle with the insurance company about a mystery mass that they’re refusing to pay to have looked at. /sigh/ I’m thinking of writing a blog post about it, but if I don’t, I’ll email you.

Leave a Reply

