Paradise Found

I’m soooo not a burger kinda’ gal.  I’d much rather have seafood or pasta, lamb or pork…  so we don’t go to Cheeseburger in Paradise very often at all.   Even then, I cross my fingers and hope they have the bleu cheese burger on special…

But they didn’t.  It’s okay though, and now I can’t wait to go back.  Not only do they have the very best fried pickles EVER, they have this divine concoction called the Chesapeake Bay Burger.   Wish I had a photo for you, but…

A mixture of lump crab meat, spinach, Cheddar, Monterey Jack and Asiago cheeses on top of a burger with lettuce and a touch of Old Bay Seasoning

Yeah.  Odd combination, but trust me, if you love Old Bay and the other ingredients individually, you’ll drool for this burger too. 

Do you like to venture out of your food comfort zone?  What’s your latest “find”?

 

 

This entry was posted in food.

22 comments on “Paradise Found

  1. kn1tty cat says:

    Sounds great! When I was a kid, I’d get the Old Bay out of the spice cabinet and sprinkle some into my palm and LICK IT OFF!! Have you tried Utz’s Crab Chips? They are seasoned with Old Bay too : )

  2. Karen says:

    I haven’t had that sandwich, but boy, do I agree with the fried pickles. They are great. The burger sounds interesting. I’ll have to try it. I think I want a crab cake sandwich from The Black Pelican. Counting the days. You should join us!

  3. Fried pickles? The boy says it makes sense, but I fail to see how….

  4. kathy b says:

    I have loved their deep fried pickles….I think they are the absolute best.

    I need to go to my favorite hamburger shack soon: the Paradise pup. ahhhhh burger with melted Mercks cheese…

    recent find: Ben and Jerry’s frozen coffee drink

  5. Sue says:

    That burger sounds yummy. The restaurants around here aren’t very imaginative, so I experiment at home, but lately it’s been too hot to use the oven, so we’ve been eating boring stuff. I’m certainly looking forward to Fall.

  6. Nancy says:

    I’ve never heard of fried pickles. The burger sounds divine.

  7. gMarie says:

    Can I have the topping in a bun without the burger? The topping sounds fabulous and I have never had a fried pickle. Must remedy that immediately. g

  8. Kathy says:

    That sounds like a yummy burger! The other day we made salmon burgers–grill salmon, then flake it apart, mix in some cooked brown rice and a beaten egg to bind it together, and fry in a bit of oil. Eat it like a burger on a bun with lettuce, tomato, and mayo with dill mixed in.

    Eating is my hobby! We usually go out one weekend night for a nice dinner. A recent adventure was cabrito (goat) at a Mexican restaurant. Rene already knew he loved it. I liked it quite a bit too.

  9. AlisonHyde says:

    Oh, I want to go! Take me home, Chesapeake Bay here I come!

    Did I ever tell you about the Oobleck Pie (think Dr. Seuss) recipe I actually made once? Avocado/lime/honey cheesecake. After the shock of the first bite it was actually kinda sorta good.

    Healthy. Deffffffffinately healthyyyy.

  10. Marjie says:

    That does sound wonderful. I do enjoy a good pink burger, but most places insist that you order it “crappy,” “pretty hard,” or “shoe consistency.” So I don’t usually order burgers out. Interesting topping combo!

  11. Whenever DD visits her boyfriend in Alabama she has to have fried pickles

    we love pork roll (taylor ham) on a burger but one of our latesT why didn’t we think of that food finds and we make now at home is MASHED Cauliflower, TOm par boils it, roasts it with garlic olive oil salt and pepper and then mashes it with a little butter and cream. It is so good!

  12. Kathy says:

    YUM! Fried pickles sounds delish and I am a big fan of anything seafood (even if it’s a burger)

  13. Barbara S. says:

    You lost me at “lump crab meat”. My new awesome find, as of today, was Lay’s Limon Potato Chips (sadly, I still haven’t found Lime popcorn).
    http://www.fritolay.com/our-snacks/lays-limon-tangy-lime.html

  14. Mr. Puffy says:

    I rarely want a hamburger if I’m eating out…. but there’s a new trendy restaurant out here and each time the waiter has recommended the cheese burger as a house “special” so I caved. It was wonderful. Just like a burger should be.

  15. Jessica says:

    I have always been a big fan of the Bonzai Burger at Red Robin. Hamburger with pineapple and teriyaki sauce. YUM!!! I make ’em like that at home, too. They have a chicken version as well.

    I am a pretty daring eater, and will usually try anything once.

    fried pickles…i love them!! We get them when we go to Texas Roadhouse, and then there is a local place in town that makes them even better…lots of dill in their batter. So good!!!

    anything deep fried usually tastes pretty awesome…pickels, scotch eggs, twinkies, oreos….

  16. Barbara says:

    Good post on mammograms, Chan. Hopefully, it will convince someone to have it done who has been delaying. It’s not all that bad. And you’re right, the check-in takes longer than the test.

    Would you believe I’ve never eaten a fried pickle in my life?? The Chesapeake Bay Burger sounds delicious…and no doubt healthier than a regular burger, although I do love a good juicy cheeseburger!

  17. StarSpry says:

    I’m glad you found a new favorite 🙂 I usually stick with my comfort zone and get the same food when I go to certain restaurants. However, last night I met some friends at Thai Basil and got Wonton soup which I’ve never had before. It was really good! I’m kind of picky about food, so I don’t usually venture too far from what I know I like 🙂

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    I’ve about given up on seafood. Hubster keeps trying different fishes, trying to find something that I’ll like, with no luck. I think I’m just destined to be a beef, pork, and chicken gal. lol

  19. SusanB-knits says:

    I have got to try this burger! I love burgers. I love crab. I love cheese. AND I love Old Bay. (ok, I like spinach, so it’s ok on this burger) Now I have to get all the ingredients.

  20. Kristin says:

    I’m totally salivating at the thought of that burger! I love being adventurous with food!

  21. Nichole says:

    Oh that sounds absolutely delish!!!!

  22. Walden121 says:

    Sounds yummy! You know, Wookie won’t eat seafood! How did we find a dog with taste buds like my husband!

Leave a Reply

