Spectrum, Spinning and Solidarity

photoWhy yes, I AM ignoring Project Spectrum here on the blog.  See…  I really, REALLY like my blue project, but it got relegated to travel knitting status, and I’m slogging along in the “knit 17 inches” part. 

And this month is pink, which I find entertaining, since October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and that’s when I think pink… then and in May, when Pampered Chef does its Help Whip Cancer campaign.

Thanks to solidarity, I already have a pink project nearing completion.  I’m using Knitpicks Gloss in Guava.   When Kathy decided to knit Ubiquitous Kate for her daughter’s bridal shower gift, she spawned a mini-KAL.  I agreed to knit along in support, and gMarie had been looking at those “Kate Knockoff” patterns too, so she and the basically blogless Susan joined in.   Of course, I’m bringing up the rear, but I should finish this month, with ease.

October 2010 005Which means I’m pondering pink projects.  You might recall I got as far as starting the sleeves for the Tea Party Cardi.  Unfortunately, it can’t even be casual, sloppy big on me at this point, and I know that I won’t wear it even if I frog it and start over.  So.  Those of you who love to search patterns on Ravelry…  What does 1120 yards of worsted Spud & Chloe Sweater want to be?  I’m thinking Lilas, a la gMarie’s green version, but mine wants short sleeves.

But then, I also want to do the Dog House Yarn’s KAL, for the Miami Beach Shawl.   However, I’ll have to see what Ultra Pima hues are in stock…

Speaking of Dog House Yarns…  The information on their first spinning retreat is up!    Even if you’re just curious about spinning, come join us.  The program is fabulous, and I have an inkling that there will be much laughter amid the learning and sharing.  There will definitely be an abundance of good food too.

14 comments on “Spectrum, Spinning and Solidarity

  1. Bubblesknits says:

    Can’t wait to see the shawl when it’s finished! It’s such a simple, but pretty pattern. 🙂

  2. km says:

    So…It’s been too long since I’ve left a comment. My computer didn’t even have my info remembered and I had to re-enter it. Ack.

    I did a quick rav search. I’ll send you an email with a few links. It’s fun to see you knitting again. It seemed for a bit that knitting blogs might have died out.

  3. Nancy says:

    The blue yarn is gorgeous. I get distracted on projects that require straight knitting for ______ inches, and the projects stall until I need the needles for something else. Keep at it you will get there. ;oD

  4. AlisonHyde says:

    Oooh, pretty…! (Sweater patterns? I don’t know. I did some major stash reorganization Monday, and came away with a yarn combo that is crying out to be a cardigan with my Rabbit Tracks lace going up the front. We shall see.)

  5. Sue says:

    I, too, can’t face projects in stockinette for large areas. I need variety to keep my interest. I’m starting a pink elephant for a friend.

  6. gMarie says:

    Hmmm – love the yarn and patterning for the Tea Party Cardi – but it needs shaping to show of your shape. The blue is lovely and honestly I can’t wait to see your shawl. Mine is thrown on the kitchen table, discarded.

    And a spinning retreat? Sounds like big fun! Wonder what airfare would be ……

    g

  7. Love the Miami Beach Shawl….except for the Garter stitch part…I think you could make a lovely Zora with your yarn from the Tea Party Cardi
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/zora It could have sleeves of whatever length you like. Amy is knitting one, and while the photos didn’t exactly grab me, her actual knitting has!

  8. I have to stop clicking on new shawl links because I always want to knit the one I see, but I did save a copy of the pattern. I won’t use cotton though I am just not a big cotton fan, unless I find a nice cotton blend that I can live with, I also have to be uber careful because these shawls that are knit lengthwise, my knitting is loose and I wind up with shawls that will fit my sofa twice, let alone me!!!

  9. Kathy says:

    Whatever that blue thing is, it’s quite pretty. Such a nice color and even stitches. As for your too-big cardigan, can’t you just redo in a smaller size? I still think it’s a nice sweater.

  10. SusanB-knits says:

    I remember having to knit forever on a scarf that had a plain garter stitch middle. It was easy to get distracted by all the neat sock patterns I have and want to make. 🙂

  11. Amy says:

    That retreat sounds like fun, but I’m already committed to spinning at Hooked On Fiber that day, for WWSIPD. I hope that you get to go and have some fun spinning!

    I know how you feel about long sections of knitting. I just finished a French Market Bag, and it was round and round and round in stockinette. I managed to work an inch a day, and it help to finish it quickly by setting that goal. I’m doing the same with Tory’s Wedding Stole. It is lace, a 16 row repeat, but very easy. If I can do two repeats every day I am off, I’ll finish it in no time. I know it isn’t ‘due’ until June, but I wanted to get a head start. That, and I’ve been craving lace.

  12. Barbara says:

    Gosh, I do love those colors. Do you call that pink? Maybe a soft coral? I’m not a pink person, but that really appeals to me.

  13. Blond Duck says:

    A spinning retreat? How fun!

  14. Nichole says:

    Your post really reminds me that I MUST find some time with my needles soon……… after a very stressful week last week, it will be necessary.

Leave a Reply

