Let’s Hear it for Bassets!

Happy Dogs on Thursday, little friday and Thankful Thursday.  This week feels as though it has lasted forever.  I can’t wait for the weekend, and to my knowledge, we have no plans at all.  Whew!

January 2011 016

Do I look timid to you?!

Firstly, I’d like to direct you to the girls’ blog.  Gretchen has a post today that has been a long time coming.   Several of you probably realized early on that she’s a timid little thing, but the time has come to address it.  She is our pampered little princess, and Sissy still will go to Gretchen if I ask, “Where’s the baby?” but her nervousness and fears are holding her back from fully LIVING.  Ironically, things came to a head about 10 days ago for me, and this week, one of the doggy emails that arrives daily in my inbox is focusing on books to help fearful dog owners.   Since I don’t believe in coincidences, it’s time to quit talking about how to help Gretchen and get on with it.

There’s also a post from earlier in the week that has very few replies, and that surprises me.   I’m curious about what dog publications you read…

Oh — but the title implies this post is about the bassets.  Hem.  Yeah.  Anyone seen The Smurfs yet?  I’m wondering if I can drag the Knight to see it this weekend.  I mean, it has a basset in it… 

July 2011 007And for Thankful Thursday, I have to give a shout-out to my girl Amy.  She saw this magnet and knew I needed it.  Only the actual DOG is the magnet in question… the other is just a freebie from ASPCA that helped the mostly white hound show up on my white refrigerator.    Love me a pudgy, senior basset with those monster paws and no real legs to be seen…

Don’t we all appreciate those thoughtful little cards and parcels that show up out of the blue?  I aspire to be better about that, but Amy and her heart of a giver actually DOES it.   She’s just one example of my BIG thankfulness this week (well, always, but this week, it’s getting some press).  I’m so very blessed to have incredible, compassionate friends who REALLY understand me and really care about my dogs too.  

A few of you have already heard me groan about my life as a “pageant mom” with Sissy.  It’s true;  our local vet’s office has dubbed her The Queen and/or Queenie, and they actually make the world stop to fawn over her when we walk in.  I don’t know that I’ll ever get used to it, but I accepted a while ago that there’s just something SPECIAL about our silly, drama-seeking hound. 

photo

Penn, looking forward to the future

Last but not least – okay, so this post isn’t much about bassets after all – I’m delighted to report that Penn has found his forever home with a flyball Jack Russell pack north of here.   I can’t imagine anything that could make him happier!   I’m sure he’ll be a big success and a great advocate for deaf doggy athletes everywhere.

9 comments on “Let’s Hear it for Bassets!

  1. Sue says:

    Hmmm… interesting post, covers a lot of subjects.

    I missed the earlier post about reading matter, but will go back and address it.

    My dogs are pretty popular at the vet’s office too, possibly because they went thru the pregnancy suspense with us and met the pups when they were only hours or minutes old. They watched them grow up and develop personalities.

    I think you’re wise to address Gretchen’s fears. Alas, they only get stronger with age. There’s still time to change the pattern.

  2. Glad to hear Penn is settled in a good place. I know that makes you feel better about things. 🙂 Super glad you have a weekend which can be dovoted to your pack! And honestly? Not even a Basset could get me to pay money to see the Smurfs!

  3. Jessica says:

    I am so thrilled to hear about Penn’s forever home!!

    Gg is a sweet pea…love that Sissy still finds the baby for you! :o)
    I still refer to 8 year old Fred as “baby brother”. he will always be the baby in my eyes!

    Henry has always been celebrated at all his vets offices. We move so often, and he really does need to visit all the ladies behind the counter at whichever vet clinic we are at. They always fawn over him, too. I call him the True Vizsla Ambassador…his “official title” :o)

    I missed the post about doggy lit!

  4. AlisonHyde says:

    Good to hear about Penn’s state. Thanks!

  5. Amy says:

    I’m happy that Penn has a good home to go to. I know that you’ll rest a little easier as well.

    I’m glad you like the magnet. I saw it and said, oh, I have to send her that. And thank you for the shout out and kind words on your blog post. I even got a little misty eyed sitting here, reading that. I’m thankful for your friendship, too!

  6. Carol says:

    Sissy is such a good little girl and so smart! Thank you for visiting us. We have missed you. Charli is sending woof, woofs your way ♥

  7. kathy b says:

    Penn is so lucky you intercepted him !!! Hooray for his forever home and for you.

    Comments are down down down on my blog too…..another blogger suggested it is due to Facebook ? I just cannot bring myself to facebook for some reason…..

    Woof to the girls, and my gosh, I dont want it to be the workend already! Im still tired from last workend …hmmm

  8. Nichole says:

    YAY for Penn finding his forever home… and with a flyball pack? Oh what fun!!! Do you think he’ll do well with a pack as opposed to being an only pooch? So glad it didn’t take long either…

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    I saw those emails and forwarded them on to my Mom. They’re having a lot of fear/agression issues with Marley. Meeting with a behaviorist on Saturday, so we’ll see what she has to say.

Leave a Reply

