Moonlight Sonata

Long, long ago, in a galaxy far, far away…

Hem.  Don’t let the fact that it took two years and a few months to finish this project dissuade you.  This is one of my favorite projects EVER.

July 2011 002

Project:  MooSon  I’ve known since before I cast on that this item was destined for a friend.  The yarn was even dyed by a mutual friend, just for this project.

July 2011 003Pattern:  Moonlight Sonata Shawl   It’s certainly not the pattern’s fault that I kept putting this down.  It’s a well-written, easy to read (meaning the lace itself) pattern.   Life just kept getting in the way and I kept shuffling this project aside.

Yarn:  Gypsyknits Merino Superwash in a custom color.   I simply told Kathy what pattern I had selected and she blended the hues with Jessi in mind.  I know Jessi loves it, but I’m thinking I’m going to have to make myself footies or a narrow scarf out of the leftovers.   Unfortunately, Kathy isn’t dyeing yarns right now, but hopefully one of these days, life will cooperate and we’ll all have the pleasure of seeing more of her fabulous colors play out in yarn!

July 2011 001

Needles:  Ravelry says I used a US #5 circular.  That’s all I can tell you.  That’s what happens when you drag a project out forever.

Verdict:  I’d definitely consider this pattern again.  Maybe one day when it’s not 104 with a heat index far above that, Jessi will model it for all of us, but she’s in the deep south, so don’t look for that photo before oh… late November?

Because of the soft green in there, I also considered this a green project spectrum project. 

I’m looking forward to my cloudy with a chance of drizzle weekend.   I plan on doing a lot of knitting, some League work, some shopping because fewer and fewer of my clothes fit, and I still have hopes for a movie with the Knight whether he likes it or not.   What’s on your weekend agenda?

28 comments on “Moonlight Sonata

  1. Nancy says:

    It’s stunning! Nice job.

  2. kathy b says:

    OMG. It is absolutely wonderful. Easy lace? I think not girly. How many repeats or rows int he pattern? I LOVE it,.. 2 years…unheard of for me. Way to impatient…and then you are giving it away…
    You ROCK.

    girls look wonderful and the green shows up well on Basset

  3. Susan says:

    Beautiful shawl, lovely model and sidekick too!!! Shame it isn’t going to live with you!!

  4. Sue hansen says:

    I love the shawl!! I went to lace convention on wensday and fell in love with bobbin lace and met Galena. She is from Russia designs gossamer lace! Omg! I was in heaven!
    Am doing better. Kimberly’s beloved cat THE king Meeko died thus morning from a broken heart. He is with her and that majestic me happy!

  5. Kathy says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! That is one lucky friend you have.

  6. kn1tty cat says:

    Verry pretty! I am hoping for a movie night too!

  7. Jessica says:

    wow, that is lovely!!!!
    best wishes for the movie..i hope you get to go!!!

  8. Bravo! I don’t know that I’ver gone back and finished something started that long ago….Enjoy your weekend.

  9. AlisonHyde says:

    Oh, wow! That lace pattern is a Barbara Walker one I have never yet done but often thought I should try. Beautiful!!!!!

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I’m going to a writing conference and making mac and cheese!

  11. Sue says:

    That shawl is gorgeous. Isn’t it a great feeling to finish an old project that’s been hanging around forever?

    We’ve had thunder storms the last couple days. It only cools the temps for a short while and the humidity shoots up, but I’m really happy for the trees and the wildlife. The grass is gone,no hope for it.

    This weekend will be dedicated to the sewing machine. I’m finally ready to put some pillows together. I’ve done several more since I shared with you.

  12. Mary says:

    Beee-yuuuu-tiiiii-fuuuuuul. And the shawl is pretty, too. Just kidding, but when your models are so extraordinary, what can one say?

    Beast of a week having had to attend two conferences back to back over five days, so i am very burnt out. And sadly, my weekend involves attending the funeral of a long time family friend. Hope your weekend is a good one.

  13. SusanB-knits says:

    Beautiful shawl! (I won’t comment on the time because I have one on the needles since 2007)

  14. Kristyn says:

    The shawl is beautiful. Well worth the time and effort.

  15. Amy says:

    Beautiful! I love it!

  16. even though I have made most of SK’s patterns I have never made this one, and your rendition is lovely. Lucky Lucky Jessie!!! I am sure she appreciates it deeply!! Good work Chan!

  17. Marjie says:

    That shawl is beautiful! I got back at midnight last night, have never been so stinkin’ hot in my life! But I took your shawl with me to wear with the sleeveless dresses in airports, restaurants and doctors offices, and garnered many compliments. You do wonderful work, and I was proud to tell people a very talented friend of mine made my beautiful blue shawl. (And you kept me sane, because as I drew it around me each time, I reminded myself that you’d be just as miserable as I in the same circumstances).

  18. Terrie says:

    Very beautiful shawl!! I love that you had yarn dyed specifically for Jessi and this pattern 🙂

  19. Nichole says:

    Absolutely gorgeous!!!!!!

  20. Kathy says:

    Awwww…such kind words my friend ;). Thank you.
    It is absolutely stunning. The pattern is perfect and lends itself to heirloom quality.
    I’ll get back to dyeing on of these days…when as you said, Life cooperates :).
    Weekend plans? Trying to keep from sweating to death 😦

  21. Bubblesknits says:

    Bowling Kid got a kick out of the first sentence of your post. lol I’ll try to get some good indoor light for a modeled shot of the shawl. : ) It’s draped over my standing mirror so I can see it whenever I’m in the bedroom.

  22. Barbara says:

    Chan, that is GORGEOUS!

  23. Blond Duck says:

    Hope you had a good weekend!

  24. gMarie says:

    Oh dear – that is a lovely, lovely shawl. May Bubbles wear it in health! g

  25. Krystle says:

    What a gorgeous shawl! I love the circular pattern of the lace!

    Two years or not, it turned out beautifully, and Sissy models it so well! Give the girls some loving for me 🙂

  26. Knitting It Out says:

    That truly is gorgeous. I may very well try that pattern on your suggestion. I need one in a grayish color and I’m going to “visit” a couple of yarn shops with my mom this weekend…hmm. Best go look at the pattern to see how much I “need” lol.

  27. Anita says:

    That turned out GORGEOUS Chan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

