Leave It!!

Happy dogs on thursday, little friday and thankful thursday to you.  Sissy is feeling very DIVA-ish these days, so do click right over and bow to the queen, will you?  (Hem.) 

March 2011 032

Both girls chatting away...

Before I get too silly, I want to mention a serious topic.  Ironically, despite her hound-strong ways, Sissy’s best command is “leave it!” – really.  Before we knew about her long list of serious food allergies, she and my sing-songy “leave it” clicked in class, and we practice it routinely.  Okay, so we don’t PRACTICE as much as we use it daily, because she is a hound, and for those of you who haven’t lived with one, they take the world in through their mouths.  The shrink who coined the phrase oral fixation had to know hounds…

I’m digressing again.  While we were at the vet’s on Monday for Sissy’s routine eye pressure check (fine, within normal limits, thanks for asking), I checked out all the little piles of brochures and such in the waiting room.  (Sissy doesn’t wait well either, in case you were wondering.)  I found a list of “top human meds toxic to pets” that I thought I should share:

  1. Pain relievers – Advil, Aleve, Motrin, Tylenol
  2. Antidepressants – Zoloft, Cymbalta, Effexor and more
  3. ADD/ADHA medications – Ritalin, Vyvanse, etc.
  4. Sleep aids – Klonopin, Ambien, Lunesta, etc.
  5. Muscle relaxants – Lioresal, Flexeril, etc.
  6. Heart medications – Cartia, Cardizem

(List courtesy of Pet Poison Helpline – 800-213-6680)

Of course it goes without saying that generics and competitors not listed with similar ingredients should be included too.

Back to “leave it!”…  In our house, it’s considered at least as important as a strong recall command.  “Come” is sometimes optional with our pack – terriers are just as stubborn as hounds, plus they tend to think they’re above the law – but “TO ME!!” is NEVER disobeyed, maybe because even when we practice, I have a bit of panic/real urgency in my voice, and praise and treats are given liberally.  Both of those commands could save your dog’s life, even if he/she isn’t allergic to almost anything that once had flesh on it, corn and more…

Now, for thankful thursday.  I’m very thankful for all of my dogma mentors and friends.   This year has really tested my nerves and personal doggy resources, but thanks to this worldwide web thing and doggy bloggies, I never was without a strong support system who had answers, advice or whatever else I needed in the moment.

What are you thankful for today?

14 comments on “Leave It!!

  1. gMarie says:

    Another birthday::nice weather::a lovely, unexpected bonus::health::loving family::my ability to create::piles of knitting::a new fence being built next week.

    g

    ps – thanks for the list of pet meds.

  2. Nancy says:

    Love the photo — Sissy is quite a ham!

  3. Kathy says:

    LOL….Sissy…that girl cracks me up 😀

    Terriers above the law: You got that right! Little snips 😉

  4. AlisonHyde says:

    Love that picture!

    Grateful for faith, friends, and surprisingly good health. And for the fact that we have never had an earthquake while I’ve had my hair lathered up with shampoo in the shower: no shattering glass door, no cut off of the water, just finish and step out. Simple pleasures.

    Yeah, you think in California you don’t think about it but you do.

  5. Mary says:

    I could think of a lot of commentary coming from those girls in that photo! Good thing their language skills aren’t quite that refined.

    As for the meds issue, I read something just this morning about the increasing danger to children from transdermal medicine patches that are used more frequently these days–which I bet applies to pets, too.

    Thankful it is Thursday and not Monday.

  6. Marjie says:

    Love the pictures of the girls. I’m thankful that it’s sunny and 70, and I’m NOT in Florida this week!

    See? It truly is the little things that are special.

  7. Sue says:

    I have three commands that I consider vital. The biggie is my special recall when it’s urgent that they come. It’s ‘NOW’ and as you stated, tone of voice has a lot to do with it.

    I teach ‘wait’ which is different from ‘stay’ in that with stay it demands a release, either OK or come, but wait is short term and they can just pause, then start moving again. It’s good for getting out a door without them or if I’m carrying something hot to the table, etc.

    Another important command is ‘get back’. When I say that one, they take a couple steps backwards. It’s used when I drop a pill on the floor and don’t want them racing to grab it or if I break a glass and there are sharp pieces of glass on the floor. I consider it a life saving command.

  8. Kathy says:

    Today we are going to the vet. I guess I’m thankful that I can pay for it because it sure gets expensive. All the livestock (OK, that’s one cat and one dog) will be going so it’s sure to be an adventure.

  9. I am thankful for a wonderful doctor that I can really talk too, and great friends that support me when my own family doesn’t!

  10. kathy b says:

    I love the TO ME command…never heard it before!! you are so darn dog smart!

    Im thankful for a huge afternoon nap today. Glorious summer weather outside, and Fireman wanting to order out for dinner tonight!

  11. Not knowing what would be a big problem to thr dogs re meds, I work overtime to keep ALL from their little mouths…Thankful for..a little clarity and mercy.

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    So basically, everything except my birth control is toxic to Micro. : / Ah well…I’ll just have to be extra diligent.

    I need to start working on some commands with Micro. He does pretty will with “Give it”, but “To Me” would be *very* useful.

  13. Nichole says:

    I’m thankful for healthy, happy dogs………. and to TRY to stop worrying about their ages. 🙂

  14. Walden121 says:

    I agree, we are learning “leave it” in training class right now and I have to say Wookie is learning it much quicker than I thought. He’s not doing so well at the “drop it” command though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

