Cool Breeze

One cool breeze and I’m thinking fall fashion already.  Yeah, it’s back into the high 80s today – but with lower humidity so it’s not miserable – but I sit in the AC most of the day, so…

I’m already mourning the loss of my sweater dress from last winter.  (Too big, and as of yet Land’s End hasn’t released anything too similar.)  So it’s no surprise that the first thing I’ve seen I feel as though I have to have is a Ralph Lauren Rugby sweater dress.   I love the short sleeves, the belt, and the full skirt, but I might want the camel color instead.  Dunno.   Need to find it in a store to try it on for sure, because Ralph tends to run slim – in my opinion. 

Hrmph.  A quick looksie says the nearest RL Rugby store is in my old college shopping haunt, Georgetown.   Ain’t happenin’.  More hrmph.  Dear world…  women in podunk like fashion too and don’t always want to resort to mail-order.

I think I have one pair of jeans that fit and maybe ONE not-summer dress MIGHT fit.  I guess I need to confirm that and then begin thinking more cool weather wardrobe thoughts, although as we assured a gal new to podunk earlier this week when it was still 100 degrees at 6pm (or at least felt like it), she’ll still be wearing summer clothes on into October. 

Why yes it is blue...

What’s on your cool weather must-have list?  I truly haven’t seen anything else that even remotely tempts me, unless you count almost the whole Lilly P fall catalog… and I don’t, because Lilly’s tropical roots show through in her designs, and come chilly, grey December, I won’t want to sport cheery prints that make me cranky because I’m not at the beach.

Have I mentioned lately that I don’t actually LIKE to shop?  That being said, pondering my transitional and cool weather wardrobes is a lot more exciting than working through the League bylaws, policies and procedures proposed changes which is what I’ll actually be doing this weekend.  

How do you stay on task when you have something large and tedious looming?

And please tell me all about your very exciting weekend plans…

 

 

This entry was posted in Fashion.

15 comments on “Cool Breeze

  1. Amy says:

    Those red tights! I MUST have a pair!!!

    I want to start shopping for autumn, but I joined Weight Watchers today and I want to wait to see if I lose a little bit first. Wish me luck!

  2. AlisonHyde says:

    I’m wearing short sleeves with a vest thrown over and am telling myself give up, go put on an actual sweater. Brrr.

    Good luck finding the right dress, and having one be too big is the right kind of problem to have.

  3. Mary says:

    I am with you on the shopping. I will probably need a pair of shoes/lightweight boots for my trip. And I wouldn’t mind a black cashmere sweater…

    Ugh, I once had to redo all the bylaws, policies and procedures for a cooperative pre-school…talk about a pain. Sorry for yours.

    And my weekend plans are so boring it won’t provide you with any entertainment.

  4. Marjie says:

    A sweater dress can be taken in by a competent tailor or dressmaker. Really, it can! Look around for one in your area; there must be one. I’d volunteer, but you’re not right here for me to fit it on you. Still, there’s absolutely no need for you to give up on a dress you love.

    I saw a Lily P. shop in one of the airports I travelled through last week. It was all bright colors and tropical prints, which don’t work all that well in most of the country for much of the year….

    Weekend plans: finish a gift blanket (quilt, really), maybe a gift apron, maybe a dress to reward myself for recovering from last week’s misery!

  5. Sue says:

    I’m ready for fall, I don’t care what I wear as long as the weather is cooler.

    Were at the lake today with the girls. It looks like Samba may be starting a flare up of the MMM. That poor girl has been thru the wringer this year. I called Dr B from the boat and he gave me instructions. He’ll see her first thing Monday morning, so I’ll spend the weekend worrying.

  6. I’ll weigh in in agreement with Marjie, get yourself a good seamstress who can do alterations! Don’t give away all the clothes you love, some are fix-able. Weekend plans include; trip up to Folsom to party with my bro and SIL who are in from Hawaii, lunch out with visiting missionaries, and time with hubs and Dani, who will both be, shockingly, at home!

  7. gMarie says:

    Yes, have your favorite sweater dress taken in, unless you are sending it to VeeDogKnitter or me! Don’t forget Boden, they have some adorable dressed. And invest in several great pencil skirts that you can top with sweater, twinset, tee & cardi etc. It’s just the longer, winter version of your skort for summer.

    To keep myself motivated through a boring task, I set a timer. Seriously and every 30-45 minutes I take a break and reward myself for staying on task – read for a minute, check up with my email etc, it’s the only way I get the house really clean. Just don’t forget to get back to it.

    Weekend plans – making a lorraine style risotto for dinner tonight, tomorrow ASG and possibly a farmers market, Sunday a BBQ, and then I’m off Monday too – and will be meeting with the contractor and getting the stuff together for licensing my dogs so I don’t get a huge fine. Of course the downside is I’m working T-F next week, so …..

    g

  8. Barbara S. says:

    Outreach meeting Saturday morning, went really well. Cleaning house in prep for Hubband and DTY getting home this afternoon from their epic road trip. Excited to fix dinner for someone besides myself, hanging out with them.

  9. Nichole says:

    I think I might have to learn to wear skirts again… esp with my new work dress code……. That’s a cute dress!

  10. Knitting It Out says:

    That dress is really really cute. I have a busy weekend! But being a bag of dog food lighter, I have so much more energy. I have quite a few things that fit me at this size, I’m on the small end of the clothes I have though…for the first time in eight years.

    Yes, I thought I’d re-use my dog food line…I’m a sucker for a good laugh.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I need fall dresses and boots!

  12. kathy b says:

    Cool weather must haves: a new pair of clogs……
    a great acrylic (no itch) sweater to wear over everything casual
    (bought one on clearance from the Sundance catalog……you have gone to Sundance right?)

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m so with you on not liking to shop. I hate having to buy new clothes. I don’t mind it when I don’t *have* to do it, though. lol

  14. Krystle says:

    I can’t do sweater dresses… they do not flatter me at all… but that Shirt Dress is adorable! I found a similar dress with short sleeves in khaki at H&M, that I keep thinking about, I may have to go back and see if they still have it in my size.

    When I have a looming tedious task, I get it out, and then do it for an hour, and then reward myself with some knitting, or reading time, and then work on the task again, and I will do it for an hour at a time, until it is done. Good Luck!

  15. Kathy says:

    Shopping? I depise shopping unless it’s for yarn :D. The stuff just looks so much better on the hanger than a 6 side mirror dressing room :(. That being said, I MUST find a pair of wide leg brown pants for the wedding *sigh*. So far….I ‘got’ nothing.

    Looming task? depends on the day. Sometimes I jump right on it and other times…well…knitting calls 😉 I’ve also done what Krystle says works for her: work, knit, work,knit…

Leave a Reply

