For the Love of Dogs

DSCN2547

Happy girls on their OBX beach, spring 2010

Happy dogs on thursday, little friday, thankful thursday and National Dog Day eve!   Sissy has been on a roll this week, so don’t miss her two recent posts.  Who knows when the DIVA herself will post twice in one week!?  No wonder we’re having all kinds of natural disasters over here.

It does look as though Irene isn’t going to be a huge issue in the Woods, but we’re still worried about the Outer Banks, and we’re still having significant aftershocks.  Thanks too for all the kind words and reassurance; while even Gretchen is getting used to the rumbles, I do hope they’ll stop completely soon.

Anyway, tomorrow is National Dog Day.  The founders seemed to intend that we focus on rescues, but in the Woods, we’re going to celebrate the wonderfulness of dogs in general.  I happen to think we celebrate the fur-girls just about every single day, so I don’t know that we’ll deviate from the routine tomorrow.   There will be liberal treating, a long walk as the weather allows, snuggles and/or playing in the evening as they each desire, and more cuddling as we sleep. 

Will you be doing anything special to celebrate?

Thankful?  I’m very thankful that we had no damage from the earthquake.  I suspect a lot of you are actually seeing the same footage I am of some of the more serious damage here in Central Virginia and beyond.  Compared to the damage – both personal and community-wide – my Kiwi relations had with their quakes, we are sincerely fortunate.   I am also blessed to have very compassionate, supportive friends!

Now, to see what Irene is going to do…

What are you thankful for today?

10 comments on “For the Love of Dogs

  1. Marjie says:

    I’m thankful that Irene is only supposed to drop an inch or 2 of rain on my already soaked area. Love the picture of the girls at the beach!

  2. Mary says:

    Majorly thankful that DD was offered a good job today, 22 months after being laid-off. Hallelujah!

  3. Kathy says:

    We already treat every day as it it’s national dog day! I don’t think tomorrow will be any different.

  4. kathy b says:

    Im thankful for courage to try try again…..and second chances…..

    Im thankful for crisp nights now……and a hummingbird sighting in my yard.

    Im thankful for my new kayak and time on the water today, however murky!

    Happy dog DAY!

  5. Sue says:

    You mean every day isn’t Dog Day? Around here it is. I’m thankful that Samba doesn’t have kidney or bladder stones.

  6. Katherine says:

    Considering the earthquake and Irene, I am thankful for being in Texas and only having to endure 103 degree heat! Heat is easy compared to those really scary things.

    Macy and I were having a talk today about National Dog Day and she said she thinks she would like to nap in my lap while I knit a lot tomorrow. That means no working in the office. We both win!

  7. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m thankful for good friends and close family. I’ve been pretty down this past week and both of those have helped tremendously. : )

  8. Carol says:

    Stay safe! I can’t believe all of the crazy weather we have all been having. I hope you have a great day ♥

  9. Louise says:

    National Dog Day! Oh if I had only remembered. I would have dug out those doggy biscuits the girls made:)

    Don’t have to drive through New York! Yippee! I’m thankful…

  10. Thankful I was enjoying MY coast for the last few days. Dogs are celebrating now and refuse to allow me any “personal space” at all.

Leave a Reply

