Crossing Paws and Fingers

DSC01456

Looking out at OBX

I apologize for being rather self-absorbed this week.  Irene has now shifted a bit and basically the eye will cross over our part of OBX now.  Gulp.  Nothing we can do about it but wait and see.

Here, we’re currently not expecting anything worth really mentioning.  I’ll still buy another bag of dog food tonight and fill up our water jugs tomorrow morning. 

I’m also a little heartsick about the potential for derailing the plans to have 1000 feet of One World Trade Center in place by 9-11-11.   In the grand scheme of things, that isn’t as important as the health and safety of everyone else in the northeast in Irene’s path, but still…  The Knight made me watch all of The Rising to date last night, and it ended with the exceptionally emotional setting of Ladder 3’s remains in the museum. 

Oh well.  Lots of knitting time ahead.  What’s on your agenda for the weekend?

11 comments on “Crossing Paws and Fingers

  1. gMarie says:

    my weekend plans are busy and boring at the same time. They should also have lots of romance and sweetness. there will be ::knitting::lots of meals not cooked by me::a new B&B experience::friends::party dresses::a little pampering::a little knitting::a little sewing::sunshine::

    g

  2. Mary says:

    Since we live on the western shores of the Chesapeake Bay, we are battening down the hatches. Expecting 6-8″ rain; up to 60 mph winds. At least DH recaulked the chimney flashing and resecured gutters (damaged by earthquake Tuesday). Guess Discovery Chan. was right…it is Armagedon Week, at least in our neck of the woods. Fingers/paws crossed for all the east coast.

  3. AlisonH says:

    I’ll be watching the news and praying for you guys.

  4. Katherine says:

    My prayers are with all of you on the east coast! I think we all become a little introspective and maybe even depressed when earthquakes and hurricanes strike. Those of us who are watching it feel grateful and fearful all at once. Also, I think everyone in the U.S. feels sad and depressed every 9-11. I know I do!

  5. Sue says:

    We watched that, too and felt so saddened.

    I’ll be talking Sue thru her first hurricane as long as the cell service holds out. Last night I gave her a list of things to get together. I’m nervous about this storm even though we won’t experience any of the winds. I have so many friends and family along the coast and so many areas that I love.

  6. Marjie says:

    We’ll just be riding it out. It’s not supposed to hit us until Sunday, but this far inland hurricane prep is sort of like a buffet/party. Usually we don’t lose power, and I’m at the top of a hill, so no flooding. We’re just doing normal things, along with that little bit of extra – thus the buffet/party feel! I’m sorry it will ride right along the coast and disrupt so many lives, but weather does happen.

  7. Louise says:

    Thinking about you and yours Channon. Be safe…

  8. Amy says:

    This weekend I’m working, and that includes my regular two, 12 hour shifts, plus the extra 8 hour shift I worked last night.

  9. kathy b says:

    I need to watch the Rising.

    off to work now. Hurricane updates will keep the night interesting I suppose if we have time to check the news…

    We just ordered our ALL gave Some, some gave ALL t shirts for 9/11 ceremony here in town..

  10. Kristin says:

    I hope you and your loved ones are safe!!

  11. Mr. Puffy says:

    That photo cracks me up! They are both on the lookout – have no worries – LOL Glad to hear it’s unlikely to impact your area. I can see why you and the Knight feel particularly strongly about 9-11. No one who lived through it will ever forget the selfless heroics of the firemen.

Leave a Reply

