Gentle-dog

Reba McIntire’s “The Greatest Man I Never Knew” has been running through my head since I got the news yesterday afternoon.   Our hearts broke when we learned that the biggest, gentleman-dog of our doggy bloggy world crossed the bridge. 

Photo borrowed from Thor's mom's blog

We never got to meet Thor, but we met some of his people last year, and we loved him as though he really was the dog next door.  Please pop over and wish his grieving family well.   

We’ll miss you, Thor, so much so that we’re going to call Thursdays Thorsday indefinitely. 

And yes, we did still have cupcakes for Gretchen’s birthday, and there were presents, but everything was rather subdued and there were no pictures.

DSC01972In happier news, there’s a still a spot in OBX waiting for us.  My relations confirmed yesterday that the damage is minimal, so much so they’re staying there and regret leaving their own dogs at home.  Our hearts go out to those not so fortunate, up and down the east coast. 

At home, Gretchen was NOT amused that Dadaw bought a new back door on her birthday, but that too is a story for another day…

12 comments on “Gentle-dog

  1. gMarie says:

    a new back door? I bet that’s a good story.

    I’m so sad for Thor and his family. I’m glad you still had a party. g

  2. so sorry about Thor, I loved checking out the blog for pictures of him, off to offer my condolences.

  3. Katherine says:

    We are so sad to hear that dear Thor has left us! It is so sweet that we come to love our blogging buddies fur-friends and miss them when they pass!

    Gretchen, I trust that the cupcakes and gifts made up for the low key atmosphere on your big day. Really though, a new back door. What was Dadaw thinking?

  4. So glad your special place at OBX is there waiting for you. Sorry Gg’s day was clouded a bit, but am very interested to hear the story behind the door….

  5. bubblesknits says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about Thor. it’s so hard to lose our furry children. Off to give micro some cuddles.

  6. Marjie says:

    Thank you ever so much for your kind words. I can’t quite get my head around the fact that he’s not coming into the room for a hug or just a snooze…

  7. Sue says:

    Our pack says they hope at least the new door has a window for you to see out. We’re glad you had your party despite the bad news.

    We’re all so sad about Thor. He was such a sweet fellow. Mom loves the pictures of him with his little piggy.
    Morgan, Tsar and the Porties

  8. Kathy says:

    aaawwww…*sniff sniff* So sad to hear about Thor. (kinda made me ‘appreciate’ Mr. Bettis going in and out ALL DAY LONG).

    Such a sweet picture for good memories.

  9. AlisonH says:

    Sorry to hear about Thor, very glad to hear about the house.

  10. Terrie says:

    I’m very sorry to hear about Thor. It’s nice that you were still able to celebrate Gretchen’s birthday and I’m glad things are alright in OBX.

  11. Louise says:

    Thor gone? This can’t be! I must go “see” Marjie and her family.

    So glad Gretchen still had her cupcakes. I’ll be back to see, must run over to Thor’s house…

  12. Nichole says:

    I’m catching up in blogland thru the tears tonight…. sigh.

Leave a Reply

