Falling for Fall Fashions

October 2010 003

Fur-girls frolicking, fall 2010

Seems to me it’s a little cooler a little sooner than usual.  I’m not complaining.  I’ve written these words countless times, but I love living in Central Virginia where we have four, fairly equal, distinct seasons.  Each one is my favorite when it arrives and just before the current season ends, I’m ready to bid farewell.

It’s been a good summer.  I’ve gotten over myself and have worn sleeveless shirts and dresses again this year for the first time in EONS, and yes, I’ve already purchased one sleeveless dress for the cooler season(s) ahead.  (That’s where cardigans and jackets come in.) 

NorthStyle Sweater Dress

Transitional pieces are a must around here, but I’m looking forward to sweater dresses, tights and boots.  

Anyone know anything about NorthStyle?  They seem to be affiliated with In the Company of Dogs, from the emails they’ve been sending me…

I also need a couple of new jackets and at least one “everyday” winter coat.  Hmmm…  And jeans, cords…

What’s on your fall fashion radar?

Anything exciting for the holiday weekend (in the US)?

13 comments on “Falling for Fall Fashions

  1. gMarie says:

    You know I don’t shop like you do. I look at garments and then figure out how I can recreate that in the studio. I plan to make a few more pencil skirts. I’d like to work on a sheath dress pattern. I do love some of the dresses from earlier this week, not sure I love the one in the blog post.

    I do however admire and want to emulate your style. Now if only I could fine my motiviation…..

    have a fabulous rejuvenating weekend! g

  2. SusanB-knits says:

    I don’t have a fashion radar, lol.
    We don’t have many plans for the weekend, just a fabulous dinner tonight!

  3. AlisonH says:

    (Embiggened…) That’s really pretty. That’s reasonably priced. I really really like that. (Don’t DO that to me!)

  4. Sue says:

    I’ve bought items from Northstyle. The last thing I got was a sherpa lined suede robe. It’s so wonderful right after a shower. I don’t remember all that I’ve gotten from them, a pair of shoes and a sweater that I can think of. I like their stuff.

    We’re being promised a couple of cooler days at the beginning of next week. Let’s hope they don’t change their minds. We’re planning the last trip of the summer to the lake on Tuesday, so that’s probably when the rain will come.

  5. Katherine says:

    Oh I wish I could “get over myself” and wear sleeveless tops! I really need to in the kind of weather we’ve been having. Sometimes I wear a sleeveless tank but I put on a shirt with sleeves before I go out. I must work on that!

    NorthStyle is wonderful! I have ordered from them several times and been completely happy. The sizes are true and the product good quality. I ordered a shirt from them that was being sold by J. Jill for twice the price.

  6. Marjie says:

    I wear cute little bolero jackets (now often called shrugs) with sleeveless dresses and tops. Have to keep the chill off somehow. I like your dress. I’d like another summer dress or 2 before switching to fall clothes, but we’ll see how my mood cooperates. My girls are coming home this weekend, and that will be nice. I just hope it doesn’t rain tomorrow night into Sunday as they’re threatening.

  7. Mary says:

    When it comes to fall fashion I am OFF the radar…e.g. not in the budget. People at work are going to have get use to seeing the same things over and over.

    Weekend plans: Settling DS into our household post-Irene (b*tch). He has already cleaned our carpets :). Which means he just wanted to be helpful or he couldn’t stand them a minute longer (pretty sure it was the latter). Cleaning our house/laundry after almost a week with no power or water and packing for business trip out west.

  8. Amy says:

    I haven’t worn a sweater dress in forever, but now I’m tempted to at least try a couple on. I’m thinking red or cream, with yellow or blue tights and some boots!

  9. No fashion radar here, either, but I did “get over myself” and wear sleeveless this summer. As for the fall…no clue…no clue at all. It’s likely still a long way off.

  10. Darcy says:

    I so need some cute little warm jackets but I do have a stylish black coat that goes with everything so should be good to go but alas it is still in the 100’s here in the mojave desert.(((Hugs))))Darcy

  11. I like this post a lot, I don’t have a clue what is on my fashion radar for the fall, but I appreciate the link to check out a new site 🙂

  12. Barbara says:

    I always loved fall best too, Chan. The leaves, the crisp weather, the football and back to school!
    Hope you have a wonderful Labor Day…with no rain!

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    That reminds me…I need to order the hubs some new fall/winter clothes. /sigh/ I rarely wear anything different during the colder months because I stay so hot. If I get cold, I throw on a jacket. Otherwise, I’m in the same short sleeved shirts I wear during the summer. lol I get some really odd looks about the middle of December.

Leave a Reply

