Sleeves?

Ah, transition.  I’m not a big fan of change, so in a fit of frugal rebellion, I stocked up on short-sleeved tees (on serious markdown) over the weekend.  I see a lot of cardigans and jackets in my future. 

I’m not a fan of long sleeves.  See, there are a few problems. 

    1. I’m short, but not necessarily petite.  I’m 5’3″, and while most clothing lines say petite is 5’4″ and under, that doesn’t mean the lines really fit. 
    2. I like my wrists.  Seriously.  I have a larger frame, but my wrists and hands are TINY. 
    3. See above.  I wear bracelets, almost all the time.  So when winter comes and the rest of you switch to long sleeves, I miss my pretty jinglies.  This year, I don’t believe I’m going to tuck them away for the season.
    4. Layers are my friends.  Some of you can relate.  I’m hot.  Then I’m freezing.
    5. We’re still having daytime highs in the 80s, at least for the next two days.  Check back with me this weekend, when I’m likely to have purchased turtlenecks, cords and have pulled out the wool socks.
    6. I’ve decided that for my age, heck for any age, I still have some shapely guns  upper arms.  (Sorry.  That’s what happens when I hang out with the guys I used to work with for a few hours…  actually, it’s pretty darned good for my self-esteem.  My favorite comment from yesterday, from a former co-worker I don’t think I ‘ve seen in almost 11 years is “You haven’t changed one bit.”)

      I know at least one of my friends also sticks with tees year ’round, but she lives in the deep south, so …  I’m curious.  Yeah, I am pretty sure that eventually I’ll be freezing and want a turtleneck and long, warm sleeves, but today, it seems so logical to just love my tees all year long.

    How do you transition from summer to fall?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

16 comments on “Sleeves?

  1. gMarie says:

    I don’t! I wear pretty skirts, tees, today I have 3/4 sleeve cardi on, but will still look put together when I take the cardi off and throw it over my chair. I rarely wear jingles, because they annoy me when I type. 🙂 g

  2. Nancy says:

    I have long arms, so it is difficult to find sleeves that are long enough. Three-quarter length sleeves feel awkward to me. I try to find a few long-sleeved tees and layer them under vests and sweaters for the winter – short sleeves aren’t an option here from November thru May.

  3. AlisonH says:

    Every day! Given the cold ocean fog that burns off here by mid-day. Layers. The breathability/warmth/cool (coolth ought to be a word too) of silk–I totally lucked out via an Orvis outlet several years ago, silk blouses for $10 each, and have been really really glad I bought a bunch. You have to wash them on the handwashables cycle and iron them, but hey. They line dry in a couple of hours. Three years old and they’ve held up beautifully.

  4. Mary says:

    I am old enough to not have pretty arms…more like batwings. Therefore, it will be a cold day you-know-where before I go sleeveless or even wear short sleeves. I prefer 3/4 length sleeves in tops. Since I am short-armed, that length is pretty darn close to long sleeved on me. Even petite long sleeved items are too long for me. No bangles for me either…don’t even wear a watch anymore.

  5. Sue says:

    Having grown up in the frigid north and now living in the dust bowl, there have been years that I never don a coat all winter. In fall I love to wear shorts and a sweatshirt and as winter comes on I’ll switch to jeans. I prefer cool to hot so the clothes don’t have to be heavy, I can just add a layer if necessary.

  6. Louise says:

    Just as I imagined, Chan. Layers, short sleeves and bangles are just what I figured you for.

    Me? My “costume” is always the same. Jeans, tee shirt, earrings, and sneakers. When it gets really chilly a sweatshirt; pull or zip. I know, I’m so boring. You, on the other hand sound like you’re going to be fashionable comfortable.

    Thanks for sharing…

    P.S. I’ve been working on my arms with great success!!!

  7. Marjie says:

    I have some dresses which are short sleeved or sleeveless with matching jackets. I have some cami/bolero sets. I also have plenty of long sleeved tees where the sleeves are pretty tight. That way, you can wear bracelets right over the sleeves, or push them up a few inches to display the wrists (and keep the sleeves dry when cooking or cleaning – a big bonus). I call the boleros “removable sleeves”. There’s nothing wrong with a good layering program.

  8. Blond Duck says:

    It’s still swimming weather here!

  9. Amy Darsie says:

    I hate my upper arms as well, so I can’t wait to start wearing cardis again! As a matter of fact, the one sweater that I really want to knit right now is a cardigan. Maybe I should get on that?

  10. Carol says:

    I don’t change from winter to summer. I pretty much wear the same types of things.

  11. kathy b says:

    I end up changing 3 times a day around here. Cold in the morning. hot by lunch, Cooler by evening. Jackets, shawls, cold toes from refusing to give up sandals.

  12. Fall here looks so much like either summer or winter that I suspect the only thing I do differently is wear a sweater if the morning or evening is cool. The later in fall it gets, the more I put away my summer dresses and skirts and sandals…and wear denim and cord and…shoes!

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I’ve got a book you might really like….Called Fit and Female by Geralyn Cooper Smith–it’s absolutely brilliant. I had a free session with the trainer at the new gym and everything my old trainer had me doing was why I was injured–she had me doing things inappropriate for my body type! The author breaks it down into echo/meso/endo morphs and combines it with apple and pear…brilliant.

  14. Kathy says:

    Transition? Up here? LOL…it’s either short sleeves or long sleeves with sweater/sweatshirt/coat ;).

  15. Nichole says:

    I love layers… esp in New England, but I am also a fan of long sleeves, just not the super clingy long sleeves. Being only 5’2″, I often do have to roll them up however.

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    Weather report from the Deep South: It was soooo nice and cool today. What did I have on? Office t-shirt and scrub pants. When I was inside working, I actually got chilly and put on my Ravelry zip up sweatshirt. /happy dance/

Leave a Reply

