The Staplest

If there’s a staple in my wardrobe, it’s a denim jacket.  I still have EVERY.SINGLE.ONE.EVER.OWNED.

I have the now quite vintage Levi’s faded nearly white, big boxy number from the Knight’s high school days.  I have my own, still fairly blue Calvin Klein also from high school or college.  I have several more, from the ages, but absolutely none of them fit the way I want right now.

Lucky me!  Guess what is almost as trendy as the black leather jacket this season?!  (Never have had one of those and don’t see this as the year either, but feel free to quote me on that later.)

Option 1:

There’s the blazer, a style that’s almost timeless and I know will flatter my shape.   If you click over and look at the alternate view, it even has a cute little notch, rear, bottom hem, center.   Problem is, I’m pretty sure I won’t wear a denim blazer more than one season, but it’s cropped, and…

 

Option 2:

The purest.  Well, with lycra, which makes me happy.   It won’t ever go out of style, but I am quite grumpy that Talbots offers it only as an online exclusive, so I’ll likely buy another brand, one that I can try on first.  Has anyone else notice that Talbot’s petites aren’t really cut for petites anymore?  They’re running VERY long in the arms…

 

Option 3:

I like to actually touch Old Navy stuff before I buy it, but this is a serious contender.   Cropped length, 3/4 sleeves and a simple, round neckline…  I think it was made for me.  Hmmm…  Might have to take my lunch break and go see if the local ON has my size on hand. 

How many denim jackets can one girl justify?  I mean, surely I don’t have to count the ones that don’t fit, right?

Do you have a favorite – specifically one I can actually find now?

 

 

This entry was posted in Fashion.

12 comments on “The Staplest

  1. Amy Darsie says:

    Wow, this post takes me back. I had a jean jacket in high school – classic style. I wrote ‘Andy Lives’ on the back and only my Sociology teacher knew what I was talking about.

    But my favorite jacket of all times was the Postman jacket I found at Goodwill for $10. LOVED that thing!

  2. True confessions? I’ve never had a denim jacket. This year doesn’t look good for one either. Have fun adding to your collection.

  3. Katherine says:

    Love denim jackets! I have four (one is brown but it counts) and my favorite looks like an ordinary jean jacket from the front but the back is covered in crystals and sequins in a flower pattern. It makes me feel girly.

  4. gMarie says:

    Those are great jackets. I’m not sure I love the Old Navy one – looks like a cardi to me from the photo. I have two in process, both floral twills that I really should work on finishing some day. 🙂 g

  5. Marjie says:

    I would always go for the classic blazer look, but that’s just me.

    I’ve noticed that many things are running long in the arms. I wonder if that means we’re reverting to our “ape” heritage?

  6. AlisonH says:

    Never owned one, can’t help you on this one!

  7. Nancy says:

    I once owned a denim duster/coat that I practically wore out. I loved it. Actually, I love denim because it can be dressy or casual, depending on the accessories.

  8. Sue says:

    Don’t ask me to count. I have a real thing for jackets and have way more than any one person needs. I have a blue denim barn jacket that I love for fall. Also don’t count out a black leather jacket. Rob bought one for me from Coldwater Creek and I could live in it. It’s good for any occasion and it’s so comfy. I told you to not get me started on jackets…..

  9. Kathy says:

    Love me some jean jackets :D. I have 2 and I found them at Goodwill with tags still intact. Can’t get any better than that 😉

  10. Nichole says:

    I’m loving your options #1 and #2… but really wish I could try on the Talbots one too.

  11. Knitting It Out says:

    I like 1 and 3. I have no justification whatsoever though. I haven’t had a jean jacket since high school…hmm. Maybe want to look into changing that. I wonder if I still have one around here someplace…will investigate.

Leave a Reply

