Cord Rules?

Why yes, I *DO* worry far too much about what is proper and rules and such.  It’s highly entertaining when I think about it…  I was a trail blazer in equality as far back as my ‘tweens, when I was one of two girls to break up an all-boys school’s summer camp, and soon the whole school was co-ed.  I was one of the first female firefighters, and now I work in the water well industry, which is also predominantly male…

… and yet, I worry so very much about etiquette.  Go figure. 

So.  While I was trying not to buy six different (really!  they were all different!) denim jackets yesterday, I realized that I actually already have plenty of jackets and cardigans, dresses and short sleeved tees, but I lack pants.  I have ONE, lone pair of jeans that kinda’ fit.  They’re a little big and way too long…

Here’s the thing.  I have NEVER had a pair of “dress pants” that fits well.  Not chinos, not wool… nothing.  But corduroy pants often appear to be styled similarly to jeans, right? 

Orvis's Summer weight cords... hmmm...

So.  No, I don’t really care about cord rules.  But I am curious about what pants you’ve found that fit.  I’m really quite confused about all this nonsense with modern fit, traditional fit, and all the other options out there.  I don’t really want to order seventeen pairs of pants from five different companies and try and try until something almost fits, so PLEASE don’t tell me I just have to go try things on.

THAT is why I wear jeans or skirts/dresses.  With jeans, if I can pull them up and breathe, they fit.  With skirts, if they don’t spin around my waist like a merry go round, they fit.  See, I like to look “put together” but I don’t love to shop, and I sure as shootin’ don’t like to try clothes on. 

Tell me… honestly.  Do some of you REALLY enjoy just trying stuff on?  

And another question.  Am I *REALLY* supposed to chat with fit experts on these websites?  Seriously?!

 

PS – I bought the Old Navy jacket last night.  Size up, at least one full size.  If you’re between sizes with them normally, consider going up two sizes.  If your arms aren’t just skin and bones, good luck… but gosh it’s cute.  Maybe it’ll be cool enough soon and I can get you a photo.

This entry was posted in Fashion.

12 comments on “Cord Rules?

  1. Mary says:

    I bought some Dockers Metro pants (come in “dress” colors or denim). I bought them in black (shock, I know). Z*ppos has them and ships free. They have a little bit of stretch in them and they also come in petite which helps with not cutting off six inches of fabric). Got them for around $36.

  2. Nichole says:

    Let’s see a modeling shot of you in the Old Navy jacket please! And I HATE trying stuff on…….

  3. Sue says:

    I love to shop. I HATE trying things on. I stick to mostly jeans and leggings now, but when I was working I wore dress pants or trousers. I love the look but I usually made them myself so I can’t explain the fitting terms.

    I do know I don’t like the fit where the waist falls two inches below the natural waist. I keep feeling like I need to pull them up.

    I often see things on the Old Navy TV ads that look cute, but I’ve never found anything I like in the stores. Hmm..

  4. Katherine says:

    I like Lands End Natural Fit Jeans a lot but NO I will not “chat” with those fit reps. I kill those pop ups right away. I do most of my clothes shopping online because I hate to shop, and have narrowed it down to J.Jill, Coldwater Creek and Lands End for close to fit perfection. Good luck with your pants shopping!

  5. gMarie says:

    I hate shopping and really only buy tops and the occasional dress. My hips are two sizes bigger than my waist – yes, seriously. And so pants don’t fit – I get a gap you could put the visiting lola in at my back.

    And why not talk to the fit experts? If they are real people and can save the headache of buying and then having to ship something back within their time frame, if nothing else it should save you some money. Can’t wait to see pics of the ON jean jacket. Is it as cardi like at is looks? g

  6. Blond Duck says:

    I’ve always loved those cord skirts! I must get one–they’d look so cute with the Spenco shoes I got.

    I need to e-mail you…

  7. Marjie says:

    Well, you know I don’t wear pants, at least not since 1983, so I’m of no use. I’m always happy to see you railing against shopping, and glad I’m not the only one who has better things to do.

  8. scrabblequeenRuth says:

    Ditto, ditto Gmarie. Seriously…two sizes difference from waist to hips, so pants and I….well, let’s just say it isn’t pretty. Also, those words describe specific things about how the pants fir…as in, where do you want the waist to fall? True waist? On hips? Etc. Yes…I’d talk to a fit expert for the same reason g would. Oh, and I HATE to shop for clothes.

  9. Mr. Puffy says:

    It took me ages to get used to pants being sized in inches versus traditional sizing. But now that I know I’m a pretty solid 26 then it’s just a question of skinny leg, flare, or boot cut – but since there’s no real uniformity in that I will will try on the pant for fit – so I’m not going to buy on-line even though I pretty much know what I want 🙂

  10. Barbara says:

    I HATE trying things on! ( Is anything worse than bathing suit shopping?)
    But I can’t buy online…nothing ever fits right.
    No jeans for me, not for years.

  11. Kathy says:

    I despise trying things on. I agree with Barbara on the bathing suit shopping 😦 boooooo…..
    I live in jeans. Do they fit properly? Probably not. I’m at the age where stretch is important. Someone told me (a few years ago) that when I reached a certain age (and I’ll refrain from stating the age 😉 I would reject anything with a firm waistband. I poshed it off. Well, here I am…at ‘that’ age and I want nothing but a nice stretch waistband. Not necessarily an elastic one but something that mimics elastice but without the gathering. *sigh* harder to find than I thought. Where ya going?

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    The only time I truly enjoy shopping and trying things on is when I’ve found an awesome sale. Then I feel like it’s worth my while. Now, when I’m forced to go shopping and try things on…you best stop by the bar first, for both our sakes. lol

Leave a Reply

