Thorsday 1.3

Happy Thorsday!  It’s been one of those weeks…  I can’t even fuss about Gretchen fussing in her post, because both of their humans have been gone too much this week.  

July 2011 005What do you do to make it up to your pets when you’re gone more than usual?  The last two pairs of dogs we’ve had have been rather punitive; we spoil them, and then we all suffer when their needs aren’t met.

This blooper photo basically says it all…  If I want cooperative, good models/dogs, then they need us to stick to their schedule.   That includes walkies, kibbles on time, lots of cuddling, playing or whatever THEY want while we’re all hanging out…

Little do they know that the world really does revolve around them.  They’ve been invited to League meetings (and I’m grateful I’ve been able to avoid taking them thus far), but now we can add arranging for my nephew to cover for the Knight while I’m out of town so that the pampered princesses don’t have to sleep alone. 

Why yes, I do realize some people get pet sitters.  We’ve done that before too, but this time, it was easier to just arrange for the Knight to head home to sleep in his own bed, with his spoiled rotten brats.  Hem.

Thankful Thursday?  Well, I’m grateful that my nephew didn’t think that was a silly/crazy request at all.   I’m happy that I’m finally healthy and fit enough that I could let Sissy set the RAPID pace for our short walk yesterday afternoon, so the girls did get to cover a lot of ground, even though we didn’t have much time to walk.

What are you thankful for today?

12 comments on “Thorsday 1.3

  1. Mary says:

    Thankful that: 1) I am off tomorrow; 2) DH is back from SD this morning (a 5 day trip to revisit the place where he was born–he loved every minute of it–esp the Badlands) so he can walk the dogs; and 3) DS’s clothes have been returned by the cleaners (post-storm damage).

    And yes, the dogs greeted DH ecstatically…I forgot to give them their daily bones and nightly treats.

  2. Katherine says:

    I’m thankful that a tense week of client audits is almost over and I have no appointments tomorrow; thankful that we are all getting over our cold/allergy/congestion mess. We can finally look at each other and say, “I feel better.”; and so thankful for precious pups to greet us when we have been gone for a few hours. BTW–don’t feel bad about catering to the spoiled babies! Our family and friendes know we can only stay at gatherings for three hours, then we have to go take care of the fur babies.

  3. Sue says:

    Sue used to petsit for us and we did the same for her pets. Recently when Rob was in the hospital, our vet techs came by to let the dogs out and feed them. Dr B has also said that in an emergency they’ll take all the dogs and find kennel space for them. It’s not ideal, but in an emergency what is?

    The weather is great, cool with showers. The dogs are running and having a great time outside. That makes me very happy.

  4. gMarie says:

    As you know we have a fabulous pet sitter who we love. gratefuls: boss who is growing up; competent staff who pumps me up; great girl friends – especially the velveteen variety; husband who loves me; and the goober dogs (I almost typed goober gods!).

    And yes, my dogs pout too. They also get really mad when Jay decides he isn’t having ice cream every.single.evening.

    g

  5. Amy says:

    Whenever John and I are away, my parents come and check on the cats. Cooley would be fine for a couple days, but Mavey …. she’s a mess. She’ll pee on the floor, tear things apart. And that is just after one day with no humans! She’s mellowed out so much since we got Cooley three years ago, but she’s still a bucket of nerves.

  6. I try to give my kitty lots of cuddles when I’ve been away or really busy. She gets testy. Ha!

  7. kathy b says:

    Happy Little Friday Friend

    Great knit!
    Im thankful for ear mite protection for Beatles. Revolution.

  8. scrabblequeenRuth says:

    You know we have great pet/house sitters, so we see nothing at all wrong with you way of handling things! Why the heck not do it, if it works? Thankful for…the fact that altho MY computer died, I can, in fact, afford to replace it. Just waiting for the call to say it came in…..

  9. Marjie says:

    Thor always pouted for a pet sitter anyway. Better the girls have one of their own people around. Happy Thorsday!

  10. Kathy says:

    Pet sitter?? LOL oh my gosh…we have a list who actually want to sit Mr. Bettis. Can you imagine? The big oaf has a list longer than most parents who want a sitter for their kids ;).
    Thankful? I’m thankful my daughter had a beautiful wedding and will be traveling home on Saturday :). Of course she stated she’ll be stopping in your neck of the woods to change from beach attire to winter clothing before she arrives home…LOL

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m thankful for the super cool weather we’re having today. It feels awesome outside. Came home from work and took Micro for a nice long walk. 🙂

  12. Louise says:

    I’m thankful the heat didn’t go on this morning but that’s only because I turned it off last night!

Leave a Reply

