When housebound…

… learn a new knitting technique.

October 2010 018My weekend went NOTHING like the plan.  In the last hours of Friday, I came down with a stomach virus, so no retreat for me.  In fact, I didn’t leave the house  – except to walk the dogs, because, well…  Sissy is persuasive – until last night. 

I FROZE on our Saturday morning walk.  I bundled up, complete with a knitted hat, and still, my ears were cold.  So when I got back to the house, a braincell fired, and I remembered I wanted to learn to double knit. 

**Note:  Hat works better when I pull it down over my ears and let the extra “height” collapse against the back of my head.  It’s never going to be my favorite hat though.

I happened to have a double knit headband in my Ravelry queue, so I grabbed two washable wool blends from my stash and cast on.

September 2011 003

Main color side

Project:  Double Knit #1

Pattern:  Simple Double Knit Headband is a great introduction to double knitting.  It’s very straight-forward and yields a truly functional headband.

September 2011 004

Contrast color side

Yarn:  Main color – Lion Brand Wool-Ease in natural heather.  Contrast color – Valley Yarns Sugarloaf in blue-green.  Again, I will be using this regularly on walks to keep my delicate ears warm, so it’s machine washable.  I also wanted two yarns with serious contrast for my first project.

Needles:  Addi Clicks, #6, 24″ cord.  Note to self:  Order the longer and shorter cords already!  I do plan to size down to #5 for the next one.

September 2011 007Verdict:   It’s not perfect, but it’s good enough for who it’s for – me!  I do need to work on even tension, and I’d like to ask those with double knitting experience, do you hold both yarns in the same hand and just pick accordingly or do you run one color through one hand and the other, through the other hand – as with color work?

And no, there is no photo of me wearing it.   The Knight wasn’t home when I was doing photos and I’m not very good at self portraits!

How was your weekend?

15 comments on “When housebound…

  1. i have not tried double knitting yet either, but your head band looks great, I hope you are feeling better!

  2. Mary says:

    Sorry you weren’t feeling so great this weekend. Of course, I imagine you were okay to go to work today. Naturlich…as the German’s would say (but need a umlah over the u).

    Went RVing up to PA. Nice campground, well-organized and lots of security. Of course, the PA Turnpike on one side and a target range on the other didn’t do much for peace and quiet. At ;east the shotgun practice was on Sunday, so we got out of there in good time. Sigh. Still, a decent weekend.

  3. AlisonH says:

    Hope you’re feeling better now!

  4. Marjie says:

    Well, if I could double knit, I’d tell you all the secrets, but you know I’m fiercely incompetent with the knitting needles. Your headband looks fine to me, and if anyone’s looking that closely at your head, just swat ’em. That will take care of stitch tension issues.

    Hope you and your Knight are both feeling better now. Ryan was snuffly all weekend, too, and I just covered him up and stayed clear of the poor little 200 pound germ!

  5. Sue says:

    I hold both yarns in the right hand and do the same with color work. I learned to knit when I was so young that I wasn’t coordinated enough to use both hands and I’ve never changed my methods. I just do whatever is most comfortable.

    Sorry you weren’t feeling well over the weekend. Better now? I had a flu shpt Friday, so I felt stiff and sore over the cold, rainy weekend. The better to lounge and read or knit.

  6. I haven’t double knit yet, so bravo to you! Sorry you had a less than hoped for weekend, though I suspect the fur grrls were thrilled with you being house-bound…

  7. Amy Darsie says:

    Oi! I’m sorry that you had a sick weekend. That’s never any fun, and I think worse, when it is your time off. I hope you are feeling better!

    There is a lot of upper Resp stuff going around work right now, and I’m doing my best to stay away and in the clear.

  8. gMarie says:

    Hmm – the one time I did it by accident I held one color in each hand and knit like I normally do with my right hand and picked the color in my right. and I don’t know how I came up with double knitting instead of fair isle.

    Hope you are feeling better now. My weekend started off slow but ended well. :o) g

  9. Katherine says:

    Sorry to hear you had a sickish weekend and hope you are doing better! I have considered trying double knitting several times and never gave in to the temptation. I think I would try holding both colors of yarn in one hand and picking with the other but that’s just a guess. I might try it with something small like a headband. Yours are beautiful and Gretchen looks lovely wearing it as a collar!

  10. Nancy says:

    Double knitting is not in my skill set. Thanks for the links. I’ll add the project to my list to try later.

    Hope that the “bug” has moved on and that you are ready to face the world again.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I’m so sorry you were sick and missed your retreat!

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    Gretchen just doesn’t look amused in that picture. LOL Poor girl. Hope you’re feeling better!

  13. Nichole says:

    When I took the double knitting class, I was working hard at holding one yarn in each hand… it of course goes faster that way, but it takes awhile to work the tension out.
    Hope you are feeling better!

  14. StarSpry says:

    I hope you’re feeling better now! Your headband looks great and sounds perfect for cold days. I haven’t tried double knitting yet, but this sounds like a good project to try it out!

  15. gypsyknits says:

    Booooo on the flu. Sissy…tsk tsk…she’s just like Mr. B, Life is all about them ;).

    What’s wrong with the hat? It’s cute, you look nice in it and it’s functional. Sounds like a keeper to me ;).

    My weekend was busy. The honeymoon couple arrived Saturday in time for a homecooked meal. Lots of pictures and tales to be told. Enjoyed every moment.

Leave a Reply

